Print this page
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 transmission problems: surges and jerks

Surges And Jerks

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2017 Chevy Silverado 1500 has an early trend of the transmission shifting hard, surging & jerking.

At the moment these trucks are still under warranty. However this transmission problem shows up right away with the average reported mileage only around 3,000 miles, so for now the 2017 Silverado earns our "Beware of the Clunker" badge.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
4,550 miles
Total Complaints:
30 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (30 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Oct 212018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 6.2L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Service Request Number: 8-3968027860 / GM Program# 2044120 / Document ID 4567465 Cracked clutch piston that causes a 1-2 upshift / downshift slipping and or flaring/ hunting issue that feels like you are bumped by another car from behind.

I have reached out to GM Customer Satisfaction and AutoNation Dealership West Austin multiple times to only get negative feedback if any. "Tony advised that he himself was able to duplicate the 1-2 shifting issue at low speeds. Solution: The transmission has been reprogrammed and or reset to factory specification in an effort to relearn my driving habits.I advised Tony yesterday that I hope that this resolved the issue but I am not confident that is will. Today my concern(s), is what caused the transmission not to learn my driving habit for stop and go traffic as explained below within 1100 miles? I don’t believe that stop and go traffic as explained below is considered as a “driving habit”. I am now at 21,000 miles and the issue is present with the low-speed-2 hunting issue. I finally got the service Manager Steve to acknowledge the SRN# above but was told that it was a recall on Silverado's before 2017 and manufactured in Mexico. I have been told by the AutoNation Service department that I must duplicate the issue in their presence before they are going to acknowledge there is an issue.

Research shows that my truck was manufactured in Mexico as well as the Fact sheet that was taped to the window when I purchased the truck, but I still cannot get them to fix the transmission issue. I am in the process of trying to purchase a gopro camera just to be able to video this issue. I joined this website because I saw there was an active lawsuit

Update from Jan 22, 2019: This issue happens every day when I leave work in stop and go traffic. I have noticed that it will happen on a decline more often than level ground between 8mph and 18mph upshift and downshifting with foot slightly on the gas or slight on the brake. It has also happened when I have slowly come to a stop from higher speeds. Despite this happening every day leaving work, I still cannot seem to duplicate it on demand.

Update from Jan 22, 2019: Not sure if the transmission temperature has anything to do with it considering that the issue is similar to older non-fuel injected cars when the transmission fluid is low and or hot / burned and thinned out causing the transmission to slip.

Update from Jan 28, 2019: Issue still with 1-2 upshift/ downshift

- jstyl101, Austin, US

problem #29

Nov 102017

Silverado 1500 High Country 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Took a lot of time but dealership in Madison Sd stuck with it and fixed it.

Update from Jan 25, 2019: New tranny put in at 25,500 miles by Chevy, worked fine until 27,500 miles, now jerk back at 2nd to 3rd up shift, and when coming down from 5th to 4th.

- Steve S., Chester, SD, US

problem #28

Aug 092017

Silverado 1500 Z71 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

This is same complaint that everybody has. Very irritating that a new truck has these issues and GM will not fix the concerns. Almost 50k for junk. They all say "could not duplicate concern. working as designed". REALLY! or "we can feel something and GM is working on an update of some kind, but don't know when it will be released". 2018 are out and have same issues so doubt they will ever fix. They should buy them all back!!!

- sbartman, Weirton, wv, US

problem #27

Jun 012018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2017 Silverado LT 5.3 V8 4X4 last Octber. The truck was very bouncy and jerky. I was able to notice the jerks and surges at low speeds. I took it to dealer beginning of June 2018. The first thing they have done is reprogram the transmission but that did not fix the problem. Took back again and after a week and half, they have changes tran oil and changes the torque converter. Unfortunately the problem did not go away so I took it back to dealer.

After another week and a half and after driving other like vehicles and not finding the same issue they decided this is coming from engine and tran. They dealer worked with GM tech support and decided to change to fuel injectors. Got the truck back and after driving couple of day I noticed the problem still existed. So I took the truck back to dealer and this time they kept it for a month. They had a GM engineer come out and drive the truck couple of times and take some readings.

After a month the dealer called me and told me that GM engineer said that this is normal driving and truck drives according to specs. I was not surprised to hear that and I think there something wrong in the design which GM does not want to admit. Got the truck and after a week I decided I want to own this truck anymore as the drive is really horrible. I went ahead and traded the truck in and got a new 2019 RAM 1500.

- Haitham S., Oak Forest, IL, US

problem #26

Nov 282017

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,686 miles

Purchased a new 2017 Silverado June 2017. The truck ran great. I did call the dealership because the transmission temperature was running 197 to 199 degrees. Was told that was normal. Did the first service in November 201. Was informed that there is a recall of chuggle drive quality.

After the recall was done my truck didn't run the same when the transmission upshifted it would hesitate and jerk between gears. When the transmission would downshift it would slam the gears especially in the lower gears to where my back wheels sometimes would lock up. Sometimes the going from a start the transmission would lunge forward. My RPMs are way lower now then when I purchased the truck. Was at least 750 rpms after engine warms up. Would drop to at least 650 when put in gear. Now after the engine warms it is 500 rpms when put in gear it drops below 500 rpms.

The way I am understanding and this is my opinion only that the torque converter was running hot causing the transmission to run hot. That is why the recall of the chuggle drive quality. The engine is turned down to the lowest rpms to bring the transmission temperature down causing the transmission to work improperly. I did research to come up with my opinion. Look up torque the converter problems and you will get your answer.

Update from Sep 15, 2018: I need to add that when going down a steep grade the grade brake will downshift and slam in gear very hard. If anyone else is experiencing back wheel lock up when the transmission is downshifting. Contact Chris Lash at NHTSA. Chris.Lash@dot.gov Chris said he was concerned about the back wheels locking up when I was in contacted with him.

Update from Feb 5, 2019: I just wanted to add that I drove my truck for five months after buying it with no problems. In November of 2017, General Motors said I had a recall. It was a general service bulletin, recalibration of the TCM. General Motors recalibration of the TCM is a problem that they created with my truck. I am fighting the problem that General Motors created with my truck through my States Attorney Generals Office. I encourage anyone fighting General Motors to contact their States Attorney General Office and file a complaint against General Motors. Don't let General Motors get by with not fixing the problems with your vehicle.

- Roger D., Rocky Gap, US

problem #25

Apr 072018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 6.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

The problem is with truck vibrating and feels as if it's in a bind and coming apart. It's very scary to drive it thinking something is coming apart. Disappointing to spend as much money to purchase a vehicle as I have and this is second time they have had the truck to fix the problem and they say they can't find anything wrong with it.

- Autry B., Wrightsville, US

problem #24

Mar 272018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same as others, new 2017 1500 Silverado, jerks, surges, during acceleration. Now and then I get a loud thud in the rear like I got rear-ended. Dealer first acted like they never heard of this issue but I confronted them with TSB bulletins and multiple complaints online. Then they took the approach of “we are aware but there is no fix” they say they are waiting on a GM tune to fix the issue but have no idea when. RIDICULOUS.

- Marc B., Downingtown, US

problem #23

Aug 152017

Silverado 1500 LT All Star 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55 miles

I have the 6 speed transmission in this Silverado. From day one it has never shifted smoothly. It seems to get confused when slowing down to make a turn. It hunts for the right gear to slam into. I have read just about every post about this and it seems I am not alone. I'm at the point where I want to flash this POS transmission with a Diablo Tuner and take a chance with the warranty.

I watched a video from a guy with the same truck. He commented that his new truck is absolutely miserable to drive and wanted to know what GM was thinking when they designed this transmission tune. He then flashed his transmission with a Diablo Tuner. He couldn't believe the improvement with the new tune. Shift points were higher at around 2000 RPM. No more lugging the engine as well as smoother shifts.

- Fred S., East Northport, NY, US

problem #22

Jan 032018

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 535 miles

Purchased 2017 Silverado 5.3 w/8 speed auto on Dec 20 2017. At approx 535 miles, transmission began shifting hard at speed under 15 miles per hour, included a "clunk" similar to a universal joint going bad. Problem exists with both up shift and down shift. At 2066 miles truck started to surge as I slowed to stop. A heavy clunk and surge gave me the impression I was hit from behind. I stopped at selling dealer and service advisor assured me that this transmission had a "learning" curve that adjusted to my driving habits and i should drive for 10,000 miles to allow the system to "learn" my habits. Deciding that sounded like a great story I Googled for Silverado's with 8 speed transmission issues and found more than I cared to.

I have seen all the complaints and concerns but no solution from GM. I fear I have invested a bunch of money into a disaster. Having owned over 7 GM products over 57 years I am disappointed with this one.That said I'm heading back to dealer today.

Any GM service people monitoring this or anyone that has a definitive solution I'd appreciate a reply.

- Gary L., Cumming, US

problem #21

Feb 042018

Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71 6.2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,637 miles

$62,000.00 truck including the new CORSA 3.5" exhaust and COLD AIR INDUCTIONS sealed cold air intake box. This truck shifts horribly throughout the 1-2 shift and especially the 2-3 shift. How can these 8 speed transmissions function this poorly. I had a 2012 AUDI Q7 S-LINE with over 110K miles on it. The 8 speed transmission worked flawlessly the entire time I owned it. Every single shift whether flooring it or accelerating as slowly as humanly possible, were seamless and exuded quality engineering and workmanship. How can this transmission shift as poorly as it does with only 4637 miles on my truck. GM big wigs need to start taking some pride and responsibility in their most profitable and best selling vehicle that they sell.

- 98supra6spd, YPSILANTI, Michigan, United States

problem #20

Oct 012016

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had my truck into the dealer, Len Lyall Chevrolet, twice and they tell me that they can't find anything wrong. The transmission hesitates that could cause an accident when pulling out into traffic. It also slips when cold and pulling into my driveway causing the truck to lunge forward. This happens daily since I purchased the truck.

- stevil, Aurora, US

problem #19

Jan 102018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,873 miles

Took back to dealer on 1-19-18, reprogrammed tcm again, did not fix.

- stuntman350454, Wagener, US

problem #18

Jan 192018

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,948 miles

Picked truck up from dealer, drove it one mile, still doing the same thing. They did not fix problem, still have my truck. Gave me an 18 Silverado to drive while repairs are being made to mine, it does the the same thing as my truck and only has 2200 miles! Very aggravated!

- stuntman350454, Wagener, US

problem #17

Aug 022017

Silverado 1500 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

Transmission surges when I first start car in morning and back up. Then problem stops with a occasional surge.

Dealer has truck trying to duplicate problem. Problem is erratic.,

Dealer seems to be aware there is a problem with Chevrolet transmissions and is trying to duplicate problem.

Stated that GM states if there is a 3 second delay on surge they recognize it as a issue.

dealer stated they replaced one transmission with similar issues. Stated they knew there was a problem shifting but when they tore down old transmission they could not find issue.

Hope this is not like the Chevrolet A/C condenser issue with no parts and no factory recall where they re engineered condenser. Traded my 2014 Chev in because I had no air in the summer. Tried to buy a new Ford but it broke down on last test drive so I went back to Chevrolet

- John L., Akron, OH, US

problem #16

Oct 012017

Silverado 1500 Z71 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

Brand new Z71 1500 6 speed auto gas v-8. Transmission surges when cold and very hard downshift 2 to 1. Took back to Chevy Dealer who told me I had 'air in the trans' with a straight face. Told me to always shift to reverse before shifting to drive. Ridiculous answer. Still shifting hard & surging, dealer refuses to acknowledge after telling me they could replicate they now backtracked and printed me out a statement that they were unable to replicate. Straight up lied. Next truck will be an F250.

- 327vette, Sykesville, US

problem #15

Jul 172017

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

Bought a new Chevy 1500 LTZ Z71 (5.3L) with the 8 speed transmission in July. Within the first 1,000 miles notice that it shifts really hard from 1st to 2nd gear. Almost seems like it shifts way to early, especially at low speeds, particularly at parking lot speeds or in stop and go traffic. At low speeds it shifts so hard that the truck jerks and surges, and sometime it feels and sounds like the rear drive shaft is going to snap. Also almost every time when exiting a stop sign and turning into an intersection the transmission shifts so fast with a short hesitation giving the sensation of loosing power in the middle of the intersections, very unsettling. I have brought the truck back to the dealer twice to look at it and had a service tech ride with me to feel the problem. He stated that this was normal and needed to give the adaptive learning (if that's even a thing) time. Well I can tell you I have over 8,000 miles on this truck and the problem still exist. Hoping that GM will address this issue before the transmission goes. I have owned a Chevy truck all my life, I would expect a truck that cost $57,000 dollars to shift much smoother than this.

- nra1, Suamico, US

problem #14

Dec 062017

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,051 miles

I purchased a new 2017 Silverado 1500 LT. I was hesitant about purchasing a Chevy as my last 4 trucks have been Toyota's but I took a shot at a GM product and it's been both a mistake and a major red ass.

Like all the other complaints I'm having the issue when I'm coming to a stop or slowing down from 2nd-1st or 3rd-2nd. The truck is jumping or jerking and I'm hearing a loud clunking sound, metal to metal contact of some sort. feels like the transmission is grabbing gears improperly.

I called Nimnicht Chevrolet, my local dealer and asked the women who picked up the phone if she's been getting complaints about transmission issues. She said that they gets these complaints daily and that when they owners bring in their vehicles they leave being told that there's nothing wrong with their vehicles.

I'm going to schedule a service appointment and get them to take a look at it. I have a guy who works for me that just took his identical truck in and they told him that they are aware of the issue and that a nation wide study is being conducted on the issue but they aren't able to fix the problem because GM hasn't made a determination on how they want to handle the issue.

I's encourage anyone who is having this problem to keep taking their vehicles in and getting these complaints documented, squeaky wheel gets the grease. Let's hope that GM does right by their customers and takes care of this.

- Jon W., Orange Park, US

problem #13

Sep 122017

Silverado 1500 LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

the transmission jerk all the time between 45 and 50. been back to the dearler 5 times had the area rep take it for drive he scott said that it was ok, well its not. I want a smooth ride for 47000 the truck should ride smooth. it took me 4 hrs to buy this but 90 days later its still not fixed . so general motors is that how you are going to treat people that buy you cars and trucks ? so all you Silverado owner let get together and file all your problems with your 2017 Silverado. make general motors fix or replace our trucks

- Gary S., Windsor, US

problem #12

Oct 122017

Silverado 1500 LTZ, Z71 6.2L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

Truck hesitates when lightly accelerating from a rolling position, low mph, it will hesitate then jerk and slam into gear. The truck chokes and it feels like it is going to die while making turns in front of traffic or accelerating from a stop sign. Feels very unsafe.

I took it in to a dealership, they could not replicate the issue. I called to make another an appointment to have a service tech drive with me, he felt the issues and told me that Chevy hasn't released a bulletin to repair it, hooked it up and it showed no trouble codes. I plan on taking my truck to other dealerships in the area to see what they say. In the mean time what am I supposed to do?

- godfather, Chicago Heights, IL, USA

problem #11

Oct 022017

Silverado 1500 LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,100 miles

Bought it new from a dealer. I noticed it shortly after driving it for awhile when it shifts from 1st to 2nd or down shifting from 2nd to 1st, it would jerk really hard sometimes, but it doesn't do it all the time. It feels like got rear-ended. Concern what it will do to the transmission in a long term. Will bring that up when I take it in to the dealer for the first service.

After reading other posts, sounded like a similar issue/symptom with the transmission. Would like to know why it's doing it and get it fix before it breaks!

- clifft99, Eagan, US

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?