CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends, & the 2017 Honda CR-V has at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

7.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$150
Average Mileage:
18,950 miles
Total Complaints:
40 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (22 reports)
  2. replace battery (8 reports)
  3. fixed for now - technician could not find the issue (3 reports)
  4. replace bcm (2 reports)
  5. tsb 17-032 software update (2 reports)
  6. brand new battery (prior fix was software update) (1 reports)
2017 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Jan 022022

CR-V EXL 1.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1/2/22 - The car would not start. Tried to jump, but it would not take. I bought a new battery from Honda dealership and was able to start car and drive home. The next morning, the car would not start again. I had the car jumped 3 or 4 different times, then brought it to dealership in March and they kept it a few days. They did testing and replaced the main fuse.

It ran okay for about a week, then had the same issue again. Jumped car each time it would not start for a few weeks. I brought car back to dealership. They had to order another module that was currently out of stock. I left the car and after 4 1/2 months, the part finally came in. Part was installed. Also needed brake work done since car had sat idle for so long.

I picked car up on 8/1. Everything was covered under my extended warranty (Thank God). Invoice was almost $1500. Car seemed to be fine, but on 8/15, once again car would not start. Battery was dead again. I had car jumped and brought it back to dealership on 8/16. Waiting to har back from them now. This is my 2nd CRV and I love my car, but I can't deal with this issue anymore. I am DEFINITELY going to trade it in and will not be buying another Honda.

- Janice O., Braintree, MA, US

problem #39

May 062022

CR-V EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

I went to leave work in early May and key fob wouldn't work, so I thought the battery was low. I opened door with key and it started with a strange noise. A couple hours after arriving home, the alarm went off and I couldn't figure out why. We decided to take the car in the next day and battery was dead. AAA came and got us going and we drove to the dealership just fine. After they checked it out, they told us it was the body control module and the part was 700.00 and wouldn't be here until June 6. They offered to rent us a car for the low price of only 1000.00 for the month I would be without mine. We declined, and come June 6, we were informed that it would be July 6 before the part was available. Husband is stuck trying to drive this vehicle to work but he has to go through the following procedure just to get it running. Open door with key, pop hood, connect battery - then you can start car and drive. When you get where you're going, you pop hood, lock doors with fob then disconnect battery to keep it from draining. It gets you where you are going but a lot of the safety features are not enabled when driving this way.

I took the car to try and trade on a newer CRV today and was offered the lowest insulting price for my car because they didn't want to mess with getting this part and told me I probably was looking at 6 months before I got the part if at all. Yes, I was told this information. If there is a class action law suit against Honda for this, please add my name. Honda knew this was a problem long ago and decided not to address it. How many others are stuck with a car (I'm still making payments on) and can't get it fixed?

I've had nothing but Honda for the past 30 years, and let me tell you - after being treated this way at dealership, it will be my last.

- Shirley J., Charlotte, NC, US

problem #38

Apr 012019

CR-V EX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

Date problem started is an estimate, but I'm on my third go-round with battery issues with this vehicle. There was a persistent battery drain identified as relating to the vehicle stability system (intermittently stayed powered on when the vehicle was shut off). If I ran the vehicle, generally, car would start again. Current problem is no juice at all, and have had to jump the car numerous times and am bringing to the dealership (again) today. Last visit, August 13, a software update was the reported fix for the drain issue, and it worked, until 9/9. Vehicle won't turn over at all now (current issue it would try, control panel lights would go on, etc, but now, nothing). Vehicle is still under warranty, a little over 2 years old. Love the car. the problems? Not so much. I was a Toyota person but liked the CRV so much I didn't buy a 3rd RAV4, and am having some regrets. There is an obvious problem with this vehicle, and Honda is aware, so I am going to see what happens today.

Update from Sep 11, 2019: Took vehicle to dealership today - where I'd gone before with battery drain problem and from where I'd purchased the vehicle. They replaced the battery with one better than the factory installed but 'explained' that the prior drain issue could have left the battery depleted w/out registering a battery problem when it was checked. Sounded plausible but I was told I should not have this problem again. Of course, I was told that on August 13 when the software update was done (which told the car, essentially, don't run these systems checks when the vehicle has been turned OFF). We'll see!!

- Patricia J., Burlington, VT, US

problem #37

May 082022

CR-V Touring 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 82,994 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has had complete loss of power, no start. Replaced battery 1st time it happened. I thought this cured the problem, then no power, no start happened again, 26 days later. Started with jumper cables, and it has been starting since, almost a week. Maybe I didn't need a new battery 3 weeks ago?????? However, the #1 reason I purchased Honda's was the dependability. I will not spend $1000s of dollars chasing an intermittent electrical problem. I will trade the car, and look at other brands , being the issues I have recently had with this Honda CR-V. Sorry to see Honda having these type of issues, but they are just not dependable.

- Jon P., Vandalia, OH, US

problem #36

Apr 202022

CR-V EX-L 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 64,000 miles

I get home from 3 week Vacation, and on Monday get in car to go to work... it is dead... I use battery charger to get started and I'm late for work. All is good for a couple of weeks. Monday April 18, 22 leave work, fob doesn't unlock doors, get in manually, get message keyfob battery low, replace keyfob battery. Tuesday getting ready for work, alarm starts going off randomly, keyfob doesn't turn off and I have to manually put key in to stop it. I get in and it starts, husband pulls up and I roll down window, tell husband story. I turn it off, and go to restart to say see... it is fine now...but it is dead...lol.

He takes me to work, and he gets back and jump to get started. He drives it around. Thursday starts fine, but I had made appointment at the Honda dealer in the town I work for Friday afternoon. Friday excited about having 1/2 day off for holiday, get in to go to work... CRV is dead. I will get power from hubby's Tundra, but engine will not turn over, put battery chargers on it for a couple of hours and it still will not turn over. I call Honda to tell them he says it sounds like ANOTHER BCM he has 2 in the lot now waiting for this part and has been given an August date of delivery. Finally got it started and drove it to Honda World (much larger dealership) they couldn't find anything wrong with it.

After I had driven back to work/home (having gotten a ride) at 19:30 in the evening the alarm goes off. I turn it off, drive it around for a few, goes off again at 23:30... woke up at 3:30 dead... they have put me on the expedited part list which turns my part delivery to weeks instead of months! Of course they cannot give me a delivery date...

- Janie B., Shelbyville, KY, US

problem #35

Sep 222021

CR-V Touring 1.2L 4cyclinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles

Problem with the battery from the start. Honda dealership replaced the battery. Another Honda dealership replaced one in Dec 2019, which was a dead cell. This is my 4th battery. Can not relay on this vehicle. Is has been jump started at least 4 times, by Honda RoadSide Assistance. Taking the vehicle to the dealership where it was purchased on 9-28-2021.

- Freddy M., Triangle, US

problem #34

Dec 152020

CR-V EXL 1.5L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Disappointed with Honda. It’s definitely hard to believe that there isn’t a resolution to this parasite battery draw. This vehicle is almost 5 years old. Honda, I’m giving you a few more months for a resolution, but I need to trade for a more reliable SUV (hopefully). I really like the CR-V otherwise.

- ., Fort Wayne, IN, US

problem #33

May 032021

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

The battery keeps draining and needs jumping when running accessory/radio on. This is about the 3rd time. Also, we replaced the battery on 4-15-19 because it died after 2 years. Dealership replaced battery at no charge. Battery should not be draining after 30 minutes of use.

- Darla J., Lodi, US

problem #32

Mar 242020

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,840 miles

This is the third battery we have had in a four-year-old car. We left the car in an airport carpark over a long weekend and returned to a completely dead battery, forcing us to wait for an hour for someone to jump the car enough for us to drive home another hour after midnight following a long flight. I would file a complaint for the first time this happened, but I can't find the paperwork from the dealer. I have always loved CRVs, but I am beginning to hate this one.

- Eric M., Bethesda, MD, US

problem #31

Jul 122021

CR-V Touring 1.5L Turbo

  • CVT transmission
  • 38,000 miles

In May we parked our car at BWI airport and when we returned, we could not start the car. It was late and it was a big problem to get home. Most recently we left our CRV in our garage for eight days and when we returned on July 12th the battery was dead. I called Honda of America and asked about our problem, and they promptly disavowed any knowledge of such an issue. There are three other CRV owners in our neighborhood who have experienced this problem.

If my car had still been under warranty, they might have replaced the battery, but all I got was the old Sergeant Schultz routine--I hear nothing--I see nothing-I know nothing! I need to be part of a class action suit since Honda won't correct anything until pressure is brought to bear.

- portsider, Cover, US

problem #30

Jan 032020

CR-V EX-L 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 13,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had to have car towed by Honda. Battery replaced for free. No meaningful explanation - the internet has many similar cases.

- David W., Brookhaven, NY, US

problem #29

Apr 032021

CR-V EX-L 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 15,000 miles

Second time in less than 4 years. I previously replaced under warranty 2 January 2020. So this battery lasted only 15 months.

- David W., Brookhaven, NY, US

problem #28

Jun 102021

CR-V EX-L 1.5L Lt 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

2nd time this has happened. Dealer inspected battery and it was ok. Dealer unable to find what the problem is and suggested to run the car more often. Absurd.

- Harry L., Washingtonville, NY, US

problem #27

Sep 082021

CR-V EXL-AWD 1.5t

  • CVT transmission
  • 27,300 miles

Own a 2017 Honda CRV EXL-AWD, and during my four years ownership period, battery has died numerous times for no reason. Very unreliable. Honda never address the parasitic battery drain issues on top of their oil dilution problem and Honda sensing blinding issues. Thumb down for Honda engineering and their quality.

- Daniel W., Reading, MA, US

problem #26

Sep 282020

CR-V Excl 1.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

The car is just about 3 years and this problem happens. It doesn’t start.

- Olga S., Rockville, US

problem #25

Oct 132020

CR-V Touring 1.5L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

Looking to find fellow Honda CRV users with battery drain problems.

Update from Aug 31, 2021: Honda replaced the battery as it was still in warranty (2 weeks before it expired)

- rachel.rambo, Issaquah, US

problem #24

Nov 072020

CR-V EX-L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

Battery dead in December 2019, so I called AAA and they replaced. In September 2020, dead again. AAA replaced again. A few weeks later (November 2020) battery dead again. Again AAA replaced.

I called dealership and they said they had had other issues like this and we could just bring it in without an appointment. I took it to dealership today and they ran diagnostic tests and said there was nothing wrong. They just told me I need to drive it every couple of days. This is ridiculous. I am retired and with the pandemic going on I only need to drive it every 3 days or so. My wife has a 2005 Accord and it starts fine every day regardless of how many days she hasn't driven it.

When I researched online there was a post about a possible software fix. I see online that many other people have this issue with the CRV's, particularly the 2017 version. If Honda is aware of this, why aren't they doing a recall of it, and if there is a fix, why doesn't the dealership know about it?

Seriously thinking about trading in this car for something else.

- Stan W., Carmel, US

problem #23

Feb 112021

CR-V LX 1.5L 4

  • CVT transmission
  • 39,146 miles

We purchased a new 2017 CRV in Sept 2017. It barely has 63 000 km and the battery went dead and needed to be boosted 3 times in the past 3 weeks. I took it to the local garage for a load test and was told the battery was toast. The battery on the previous 2007 CRV that we owned lasted close to six years so it's a bit ridiculous that this one died after barely 3 1/2 years. Anyway, we can't get by with an unreliable battery so we went out and bought a new one from the dealer today.

Also worth noting that the factory original battery was rated for 550CCA and the new Honda replacement is 650CCA so it seems that they realized something wasn't right with the original battery size/charge capacity.

- Debi B., Bracebridge, ON, Canada

problem #22

Jan 212021

CR-V EX-L 1.5L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

Battery gone dead just after 3 years. Called road assistance - they recommend to change the battery - but don't do it at Honda.

- Ajit S., Devon, PA, US

problem #21

Dec 262020

CR-V LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,100 miles

Purchased our 2017 CRV on 5/12/17, everything was great until 3/11/20, dead battery. Battery was replaced then on 12/11/20, dead battery again after getting a jump and driving to Honda dealer who checked out battery stated battery was good and sent me on my way. Low and behold on 12/26/20, dead battery again.

This time I had vehicle towed to Honda dealer who charged the battery and today 12/28/20, received a call stating they can't find anything that is draining the battery. I told them to keep the vehicle there is a problem and they need to find the issue and suggested they check the VSA. I can NOT have a vehicle that I can not rely on. I have been a Honda owner since 1986 and I am thinking it might be time to make a switch.

- Carolyn B., Rio Linda, CA, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?