CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,961 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2018 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Mar 232019

CR-V

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Second time this car's warning system has activated since having the recalled A/C part replaced. While driving (hwy speeds 65+ mph)the car is losing acceleration ability in traffic and the dash is reading: Power steering system problem road departure mitigation system problem electric parking brake problem tire pressure monitor problem emission system problem all wheel drive system problem brake system problem brake hold system problem. The first time the vehicle was brought to the dealer they could not tell what the problem was, but now this is the second occurrence since Feb 2019.

- Maiden Rock, WI, USA

problem #34

Mar 132019

CR-V

  • 1,200 miles
Recently bought a 2018 Honda CR-V 2018, with each fill up of gas, the car has started spitting, sputtering, worsening with each fill up. Now the car is stalling, this happened twice on a major highway, now every warning light is flashing, roadside service came to pick up my car, took back to dealership who tells us, per Honda, the car is safe to drive, you still have the issues, warnings are still flashing, but it's safe to drive until we can get your parts, how am I suppose to know if there is truly an issue with my car if all the warnings are flashing up. How is this safe!!

- Snow Hill, NC, USA

problem #33

Jan 202019

CR-V

  • 4,000 miles
While driving on the highway at night the entire display (head unit) with the map went off, came back on and then started to behave erratically. I heard beeping sounds as if someone were actually touching the screen, the brightness turned up and down by itself as well. I took it to the dealer and they tested it and said they could not reproduce the problem. I told them that I had videos from when it happened to clearly illustrate the problem but they were not even interested in seeing the videos. They asked me to return if it should happen again. However nonsensical this response, I will take them up on this offer. I wonder what guarantee they have that they will be able to reproduce the problem in the future. If they can't, whatever they are proposing to do then I believe they should have been able to do when I took it in.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #32

Feb 282019

CR-V

  • 757 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the CR-V down the country roads in my area the vehicle started to shake and loose power. The check engine light came on and while trying to find a safe place to pull off the vehicle began loosing power. With the gas pressed to the floor the vehicle would not go above five miles an hour. Finding a location to pull over. The vehicle was shut off and the engine was crackling and smelled like it was burning. Getting out of vehicle for safety reasons allowed showed that the smell was worse on the outside. The vehicle was towed to the dealership where it was deemed in operable. They provided me with a loaner; however, I am paying for a vehicle that cannot be driven. This vehicle was only off the lot for three months with less than 800 miles.

- Conneaut Lake, PA, USA

problem #31

Mar 062019

CR-V

  • 5,325 miles
I was driving to Honda dealer on March 6, 2019 for my second oil change as a result of me calling the dealership and telling them my oil smelled like it had gas in it again. This is with less than 700 miles since the first oil change that I had done on February 13, 2019. My first oil change was with 4525 miles, this was done as part of a recall on my vehicle. On this March 6th trip I was about 40 miles away from the dealership and my acc (adaptive cruise control) shut down, the collision mitigation system problem and road departure mitigation system problem lights all came up on dash of car and kept scrolling on dash. When my car did this I was unsure, felt unsafe and was frustrated as not knowing what was going on and how many more problems I am going to have with this vehicle. I found a safe place to pull over and called the dealer and told him what was going on, he said the car was safe to drive but those systems that were scrolling on dash werenT operating. It was 6 F outside a clear road and a sunny day in North Dakota. After the oil change, I was told the oil was high and that there was again gas in my oil again. At this point I am beyond frustrated and wondering how many more problems I will be having with this new vehicle and the nearest dealership to me is 100 miles away, which causes me time and expense to get to dealership. This also causes me to wonder how reliable this new vehicle can be in North Dakota in the winter time as also not getting much heat out of the heating system either, so between the heat, the gas in the oil and electrical problems I am not feeling that this is a safe dependable vehicle to drive, as a person could freeze to death if ended up stranded when the car shuts down and no heat, like it did when I had my appointment for the recall on 2-12-19 and it had to be put on flat bed truck to get recall done.

- Maddock, ND, USA

problem #30

Feb 282019

CR-V

  • 35 miles
2018 Honda CR-V touring infotainment system flickers, screen turns on and off by it self as well as the brightness of the screen changes by it self and the screen stops responding, weather you are listening to the radio, god, etc all just gets interrupted by the issue. Honda wonT fix the problem because they claim there is no solution to the problem. A temporary solution is to pull over and turn off car and back on. Very distracting while driving and frustrating specially since this happens while you are driving L, this has happen about 5 times in the past 2 months and the car was purchased brand new 5 months ago

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #29

Nov 302018

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine fails to reach full operating temperature. Gas is finding its way into the oil pan and producing an overfill condition. The cabin smells of gasoline. The electronics are unreilable and are often of line

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #28

Feb 092019

CR-V

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. while driving approximately 20 mph and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to ken vance Honda (located at 2802 lorch ave, eau claire, wi 54701, (715) 318-1641) for a software update, abut the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The contact attempted to notify the manufacturer, but was unsuccessful. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Maiden Rock, WI, USA

problem #27

Jan 142019

CR-V

  • 2,400 miles
The active safety and driver assist systems randomly switch themselves on and off while in motion and are unreliable. This has happened at both high and low speeds. It has happen in normal driving weather conditions and cold with snow flurries. This vehicle fails to warm to to "normal" operating tempers especial on mn cold days. It may not warm up period on days where the temperature fall to 15 degrees or lower. On days of 50 degrees or less it warms up when driving highway speeds but in low speed situations it may not warm up at all. There is the distinct smell of gasoline in the car at times. Additionally this vehicle appears to have an oil dilution problem as the oil level registers above the max oil level line on a regular basis. In my mind these are all safety issues. I wonder if the safety systems will actually work if and when I need them. I wonder if this car is going to burst into flames as I can small gasoline in the cabin. If I smelled gas in me house they recommend I leave the premises. I can't really do with I am driving down the road. I do have a few pictures of some of the electronic warning and temp gauge but cannot download from this location. I am listing here the first incidence but know there are a few incidences.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #26

Jan 142019

CR-V

  • 4,300 miles
We have a 2018 Honda CR-V touring and have recently had a critical problem with its collision mitigation braking system. On two occasions, the car has braked when nothing was in front of it. Both instances happened at dusk/evening; however, the most recent experience was the most severe. I was accelerating on a road and going about 45 mph when I passed under an overpass/bridge. Suddenly, as I was accelerating, the car braked and slowed from 45-50 mph down to 15-20 mph in about five seconds. The severe braking caused everything to fly off my seats, my seatbelt to lock, and gave me whiplash. Luckily, there were no other cars around me; otherwise, I am sure I would have been rear-ended. I brought the car to my Honda dealer and they said that the sensor may have detected the shadow from the bridge or perhaps rain drops on the road. I asked if this was a known issue and they said other dealers have reported similar cases. The only solution is to disengage the system every time we start the car. Currently, Honda does not offer another solution.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #25

Oct 012018

CR-V

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The information screen for audio and climate controls go completely out and or function erratically. The function on the driving safety systems for anti brake and anti collision also function erratically. Losing critical functions of the car while the car is still operating. I have video and more photos

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #24

Jan 132019

CR-V

  • 475 miles
2018 Honda CR-V bought new, only has 475 miles and getting collision mitigation system, adaptive cruise control, and lane keeping assist problem warning lights are on and we cannot set the adaptive cruise control or use any of these safety features. I've found a blog that has many instances of the same problems and worse to include brake failure. We are taking it to the dealer, brandon Honda, brandon fl tomorrow. This should not happen on a brand new car.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 052019

CR-V

  • 1,700 miles
I bought a 2018 Honda CR-V (1.5L turbo engine) in August. It only has 1700 miles, but so far it has stalled on me 3 times (while driving). The first 2 times, I was under 25 mph and it started stalling. Several lights were flashing on the dashboard cautioning engine failure, brake failure, tire pressure failure, etc. The car was making pinging noises while these lights were flashing and it wouldn't drive any longer. I had no choice but to pull over to the side of the road and wait for a tow truck to take me to the dealership. The 3rd time this happened, I was going almost 40mph and it stalled again (same as before). The car was also shaking and stuttering while simply sitting idle. Honda said that the crank shaft sensor (cpk) was defective and replaced it...however, that did not fix the problem. When I asked Honda if this stalling issue was related to articles describing the ongoing problems with this make/model (in recent years), they refused to acknowledge it and said they couldn't comment because it wasn't a "Honda article". I'm sure I'm not the only customer that has come to the dealership with this problem...yet, they refuse to address that it's a serious problem. They also have not declared a recall. This is a serious life-threatening safety hazard. When the car stalled, I wasn't on the expressway, but on local roads; however, I don't feel safe driving this car anymore. I have no idea when it's going to stall again. Honda has given no assurances that they know what the problem is or can even fix it.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #22

Dec 212018

CR-V

  • 8,322 miles
On 12/21/18, I went to start the vehicle and it started flashing all kinds of alerts on the dashboard. The car would not start. Door locks, tailgate would not close via remote or or by pressing the buttons for these functions. No indication that the lights were left on. 2 hours prior the car started without issue. Tow was requested. Tow truck driver gave the battery a jumpstart and told me to leave the car running for 30 minutes while the system reset. The system did not reset. Dashboard alerts for TPMS problem, brake system problem, brake hold problem and vehicle stability assistance problem continued to flash. The vehicle was parked at home in driveway from the previous evening. We moved it forward two hours prior to allow space to roll out or trash cans for garbage collection. The vehicle was purchase on July 30th 2018 and has 8322 miles on it. Never expected to have an issue of this sort with a brand new vehicle. Grateful that it shutdown at home rather than on the highway.

- Brambleton, VA, USA

problem #21

Nov 262018

CR-V

  • 15,000 miles
While driving the audio system starts beeping, the screen flashes and it makes random phone calls. I took it to the dealer and was told that they did not have a fix for this problem. I am afraid that this distraction could cause an accident. I looked online to find other owners had the same problem. This happens on city streets on the highway and while stationary. I believe this is a major safety hazard. This has happened several times.

- Hartford, AR, USA

problem #20

Nov 192018

CR-V

  • miles
Bought new on January 24, 2018. Driving car on freeway and at 312 miles all warning light came on, cruise and all other electronic system were down. When we stopped the car and restarted it the computer came back up and work. On the way back at 572 miles on CRV the system shut down again, requiring shutting down and starting car up to reset computer. Contacted local dealer and they said dust and weather will cause it to fail but there was no dust and clear day. After the dealer work on it said there was nothing wrong, had oil changed at dealer on Oct 18th 2018, Oct 30 2018 on I 90 East bound the radio locked up and would not work had to restart car to reboot the computer, on Nov 5th 2018 at 605pm all warning light came on again had to stop car and restart to get thing running, check oil on Nov 19th found that I have a lot of gas in oil, way over dip stick full line

- Warden, WA, USA

problem #19

Nov 062018

CR-V

  • 7,000 miles
I have been having issues with infotainment screen/system. The system freezes and sometimes goes black and won't respond to touches and or instructions. The car has been to the dealer several times with no permanent fix. Also, vehicle temperature remains cold. The car runs and drives for several hours and the temp stays cold with no heat in the cabin. Experiencing fuel mixing with oil and sometimes smell of fuel in the cabin is noticeable.high oil level is also present. Dealership and Honda na both informed me that I will need frequent oil changes until they find a permanent fix.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #18

Oct 142018

CR-V

  • 1,650 miles
The car has several electrical problems with the new safety features. On 3 occasions, the car has "hard braked" by itself for no apparent reason (no cars nearby). Also, the car "beeps" intermittently when it shouldn't. this indicates a problem also with safety features. The auto walk-away lock feature does not always work. The settings are for car to auto lock & it does sometimes & sometimes it does not! the mirrors light up warning that there is a car in the lane next to me & not to enter lane, it does this when I'm not changing lanes-defective also.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #17

Oct 132018

CR-V

  • 11,200 miles
Purchased this car from keating Honda in conroe, tx. Since day 1 I have had issues with my lcd screen that controls the audio and climate. About mid September I started having issues with it shutting off along with the lcd screen behind the steering wheel that shows how fast I'm going. Dealership aware but had issues with getting loaner so unable to drop off for repair. The screen would flicker and shut off while driving or "audio isn't responding" error shows up and both lcd screens go out while driving. I would start the car and would receive an error message like "anti theft system: This system has lost power. Press the power key for more than two seconds to enable the system"... please fix your sh*t! I was given a warning in conroe because I was speeding and unaware of my speed due to this issue and it seems to be a daily problem for me.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 012018

CR-V

  • 350 miles
On 3 separate occasions, the Honda hard braked by itself, almost causing an accident. If I didn't have my seat belt on, I would have been thrown through the windshield. There were no other cars around, or I could have been easily rear-ended by another vehicle. The car was moving, when it suddenly stopped by itself very abruptly and very hard. This happened on a small street with no other cars present.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?