2018 Honda CR-V electrical NHTSA complaints: Electrical System

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2018 Honda CR-V (Page 1 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,002 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2018 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Aug 242019

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All electronics started to fail, steering jammed, lost control of vehicle. Service center diagnosed problem to broken power steering motor. Vehicle was in motion entering a highway. Aug 24th 2019. Electronic brake failure and car wouldn't start - Sep 11, 2019.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #54

Sep 052019

CR-V

  • 27,538 miles
My recent encounter was on a two lane road traveling at 40 mph. No cars were in front of me and a car was about 2 car lengths behind me. A MINIschool bus was heading in the other direction about 2 car lengths on the other side of the road. I had my two grandchildren in the car with me, when all of a sudden the car breaked hard sending all my things on the floor and scarring my granddaughters. I was shaken myself being nearly rear ended by the car behind me. I took it in to atlantic Honda, and was told no problems were found on the computer and could not duplicate the issue. never had anyone complain of this. I also advised them, the break light flashes out of the blue while driving on the highway with no other cars around. I was told to bring it in if it happens again. I feel on edge driving the car not knowing if it will break unexpectedly!

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #53

Aug 142019

CR-V

  • 41,846 miles
I continue to get random "lane departure" when driving down a normal road. Have taken to the dealer twice and they can not repeat the problem. Today I was driving on a one way street in city traffic with nobody in front of me and several behind me, as I was going through a signal light intersection the CRV went into collision alert with a warning on the dash and beeping, it slammed on the brakes and I was almost rear ended. There was nobody in front of me or coming from either side of the cross street. This has happen one time before when I was passing through a construction zone and one lane had cones cutting a two lane down to one lane. It again slammed an the brakes as if I was leaving the road. I also have problems with the auto dimming headlights that dim when they should not and go to bright sometimes when meeting traffic and should be dim. I have taken to the dealer for this also more than one time and they could not repeat the problem. I also get random messages that power has been lost to my information center (pictures included). I do not feel safe in this Honda CRV and the dealer seems they are just wanting me to be out of warranty or don't care.

- Du Bois, IL, USA

problem #52

Jul 272019

CR-V

  • 6,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving Saturday 27, 2019 about 9:00 am in the pulaski skyway in New Jersey then all of the sudden all the display warning lights went on and off until the car stall and the engine just stop working but the warning lights( every single one) just kept going on and off. I couldn't do anything as you may know the pulaski skyway has not place to pull over, you can imagine the traffic jam that my broke down car cause. The weekend of the 07/21/2019 I had a strong smell of gasoline in the cabin and when I check the oil dipstick it was overfill and had the strong smell of gasoline I called the dealer planet Honda and they told me to bring my car to check on 07/25/2019, the same day the dealer called me and said that is nothing wrong with the car and the smell of gasoline and the overfill engine oil was normal. I have no confidence on driving my Honda CRV anymore. I bought the car on 06/15/2019 with 5,300 miles on it.

- Roselle, NJ, USA

problem #51

Sep 232018

CR-V

  • 6,000 miles
The audio control panel (radio, heat, light brightness, etc) has a mind of it's own and at times will get into a mode where it cycles all the controls on-off-changing volume-brightness-switching radio stations and other things. It had been reported several times to the dealership with no faults found. I finall managed to capture this on my camera and sent it to the dealer. They then replaced the panel. No issues for a couple months and then it started again. I returned to the dealer who told me Honda would not try to do anything to fix the issue. The subcontractor who made these panels was aware it had problems and "were working on a fix". in the mean time I have to try to drive with it making all these changes while it blinks, changes intensity and volume. This is a very substandard situation.I have movies of the panel doing this but no pictures.

- Huntsville, AR, USA

problem #50

Jul 182019

CR-V

  • 22,000 miles
Driving down the hwy with cruise control on suddenly get errors listed below, has happened twice. Errors automatically clear after car is turned off and back on. Cruise control and other sensing features unavailable while errors show on dashboard. Errors: Brake system, adaptive cruise control problem, road departure mitigation system problem, collision mitigation system problem. Car has approximately 22K miles.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #49

Jul 032019

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Warning lights flashing then had software update ac control all that was on the bulletin, lights flashing again warning lights so at 38,000 had to have fuel injectors, one warning light came on since then after cutting car off hasnT come back on yet both stationary, and in motion.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #48

Mar 012019

CR-V

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. while driving various speeds, an abnormal beeping noise was heard and the radio lighting and instrument panel indicators flashed on and off. The vehicle was taken to jenkins Honda of leesburg (8865 us-441, leesburg, fl 34788, (352) 815-2482) to be diagnosed, but the cause of the failure was undetermined. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted four more times. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- The Village, FL, USA

problem #47

Jun 252019

CR-V

  • miles
The navigation/infotainment display works intermittently while driving the vehicle, it becomes unusable and also just blacks out so if you are using the navigation while driving it becomes inoperable and the only way to correct it is to pull over turn the car off and restart it which is dangerous. Honda has stated that they are aware of the problem but have no solution yet.

- Mendon, NY, USA

problem #46

May 222019

CR-V

  • miles
There are recurring problems with the infotainment system display: 1. numerous times the display has gone full freak-out while the car was in motion. The display turns itself on and off, attempts to adjust its own brightness and repeatedly beeps. The only way to stop the madness is to pull over and shut the car off. This is a totally uncool thing to happen when one is trying to pay attention to the traffic around them. Please also reference NHTSA complaint #11132814 for this same vehicle. 2. even though the touch screen sensitivity is set the highest level, sometimes you must press the cyber buttons repeatedly before the unit registers that you have pressed a button. While I am motoring down the road pressing faux buttons 10-15 times to try to get the unit to do something guess where my eyes are notyeah, on the road in front of me where my eyes should be paying attention. The manufacturer states that my infotainment system display/control unit is working per spec.

- Rohnert Park, CA, USA

problem #45

May 242019

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At random times while driving the infotainment screen randomly starts flashing and beeping. With the brightness control bar popping up at the bottom of the screen. This is very distracting to the driver while operating the vehicle. This has happened three time while the vehicle was in motion on at highway speeds and while driving in traffic. The only way to stop this is to turn the car off. This is a big saftey issue for safe operation of the vehicle and it will cause an accident for someone. It seems to happen randomly I belive it may happen when the navigation system is activated and the car has an android phone attached however I am unable to replicate it. It has happened 4 times. My vehicle has 8000 miles on it. Additionally there are report on the internet that this has happend to other drivers as well. I reported this by telephone to customer service at Honda as well 0N 05/30/2019. I also had an issue that onetime this winter I started the car and the sunroof automatically opened and could not be closed for about 1 hour. Luckily it was not raining or snowing that day. There seems to be a number of issues with the electronic control system on this vehicle.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #44

Apr 232019

CR-V

  • 11,000 miles
Radio screen randomly starts adjusting its brightness. The first time this happened was 4/32/19, but it has happened to me multiple times since then all while driving and there is nothing I could do to make it stop other then restarting the car. It is very distracting because it is constantly beeping while it is trying to make this adjustment. I tried turning the radio off, this did not help. I was told by the Honda dealership to hit the dim button on the screen, but this did not work either. The only way that I have been able to resolve this is to pull off the highway/road turn the car off and back on.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #43

May 222019

CR-V

  • 12,000 miles
While driving my 2018 CRV-ex the dashboard info display will randomly adjust brightness and turn it on/off. The only way to stop it it is to pull over and restart the car. Very dangerous. Will do it twice in one day and then not happen for several days.

- Waretown, NJ, USA

problem #42

Mar 152019

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. after parking and locking the vehicle, an audible was heard. The contact stated that the alarm sounded even though the vehicle was locked. Additionally, when the vehicle was parked and the door lock button was depressed, the audible sound for the door lock would sound; however, the vehicle was still unlocked. The contact also stated that the display would occasionally flash on and off and then go blank. Also, on several occasions in inclement weather, the vehicle was stopped at a traffic light, the windshield wipers ceased to work. Community Honda lafayette (located at 1407 la 728-8, lafayette, la 70501, (337) 235-9086) stated that the windshield wiper was programmed to slow down when the vehicle was not moving, which was a feature of the vehicle. An appointment was scheduled with the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Cade, LA, USA

problem #41

Feb 242019

CR-V

  • 16,000 miles
On multiple occasions, all warning lights and dash warnings come on, all driver assist functions stop working. This has happened both while stationary and while driving at a high rate of speed. I've taken it to the dealer, and they say no errors come up. Additionally, yesterday, my wipers started up on their own after opening the tailgate (the car was off at the time) and I couldn't get it to stop. I tried starting and shutting down the car multiple times, as well as disconnecting the battery. (the wipers stopped when the battery was disconnected, but started back as soon as I reconnected it.) after multiple attempts, with the wipers still on, the problem stopped on its own.

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #40

Apr 132019

CR-V

  • 7,800 miles
While driving our 2018 Honda CR-V touring car, the instrument-navigation panel randomly started flashing, blinking, and beeping on and off continuously. Reported the problem to Honda dealership, who commented that this was a known problem. Honda is awaiting a solution. (but reading comments on line - apparently the problem has been known for a couple of years!). stopped and turned off car, then restarted. So far problem has not reoccurred, but there are concerns if this is known 2-3 year old problem that hasn't yet been solved.

- Dundee, FL, USA

problem #39

Apr 142019

CR-V

  • 1,500 miles
Windows and sunroof open on own a number of times on new 2018 Honda CRV. I see this is an issue that many people are complaining about.

- Melville, NY, USA

problem #38

Apr 022019

CR-V

  • 3,900 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. while driving, the steering wheel started vibrating and pulled to the right as if the lane assist feature were engaged. The contact stated that the option to use the feature was off at the time of the failure. The dealer (D'ella Honda of glens falls, 313 quaker rd, queensbury, NY 12804, (518) 793-3811) stated that they would attempt to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer stated that there were no recalls on the vehicle. Also, the contact stated that the front console malfunctioned and the back-up camera would appear when the vehicle was not in reverse. The manufacturer stated that there was a software malfunction and they were working on a repair solution. The contact was provided a loaner vehicle. The failure mileage was 3,900.

- Moreau, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 292019

CR-V

  • 24 miles
When driving down the hwy, multiple times now, all of the dash warning lights come on concerning the sensing systems and brake system. I have taken to the dealership 4 times now with no real answers. It's your toll tag placement - nope. It's an old code that we reset - nope. It isn't happening now - then I leave and it happens the next day. Where do I report a 35K lemon"?"

- Red Oak, TX, USA

problem #36

Apr 022019

CR-V

  • 16,000 miles
We were driving from bridgeport, wv to New Jersey on 2/9/19. Four hours into the trip carall the lights on dash board came on and car slowed down and accelerator did not work at that point. Car stopped on the high way. We pulled over called aaa service and Toyota. We took the car in to Honda of turnersville, NJ they fix multiple dtc updated PO302 related recall, updated PCM/tcu no more misfire. Car now we are having the same problem again. This week its twice.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?