CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,229 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2018 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #81

Jul 062020

CR-V

  • 27,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The infotainment center goes blank or starts to change screens on its own. Also, it starts to beep as it is doing this and won't stop. In addition, the system has made phone calls on its own. Honda said they know about the problem but as of July 6, 2020, they do not have a fix. I have to stop the car and then restart the car to "fix" the problem. As of this writing, the problem is getting worse. This problem happens when I am driving and will not stop even when the car is not in motion. I have reported this problem in 2019 and 2020 to the dealership but there is nothing they can do.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #80

Jun 232020

CR-V

  • 16,000 miles
Multiple times while the key fob was nowhere near the vehicle, the windows and sunroof would roll down by themselves. One time I had to crawl out the back of the car with Honda service on the phone as proof because every time I opened the driver door the windows and sunroof would go down. The problem repeated itself at the dealership but the witness denied it. Eventually the BCM was replaced. Everything was fine for a few weeks. Today when I turned the car on, it appeared that the software reset itself. The odometer screen said it was 1 am when it was 8:52 am. It took several restarts for that screen to reset. However, the infotainment screen would not reset. It states "anti-theft system - this system has lost power. Push and hold the power button for more than two seconds to enable to system." Then it kept going dark. I tried with the car power button and the radio power button. Neither resolved the issue. I restarted the car several times. The same thing happened. I finally got it to restart hours later by holding down the radio power button. I am limited to a specific date on this form, but the windows/sunroof problems began around April/May 2020 and the infotainment screen issue in June 2020. I bought this car new in may/June of 2019.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #79

Jun 102020

CR-V

  • 10,830 miles
While driving on a city boulevard at about 35 mph, the navigation screen went blank. Seconds later, the following message was displayed: "anti theft system. This system has lost power. Push and hold the power button for more than two seconds to enable the system." I assumed that the vehicle was directing me to hold the radio power button, so I did and held it for two seconds, but it made no difference. I then pulled over when safe, turned the vehicle off, waited for 1 minute and then turned the vehicle back on. The navigation screen was back on to normal. The incident occurred on June 10, 2020 and this is a 2018 model. The battery that initially came with the vehicle died on February, 2020 after requiring a jump start.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #78

Nov 052019

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving North on route 43 approaching route 60 in lake forrest, Illinois on November 5, 2019 my Honda CR-V suddenly stopped. And, I mean completely stopped.for no apparent reason. Fortunately there were no vehicles behind me. I was only traveling at 35 mph. I believe this occurrence would be classified as a false positive error. It was raining lightly at the time. My only witness is my wife. I bought this car primarily to drive my grandchildren to school and now have lost confidence in it's ability for safety. This problem hasn't occurred again since November 2019 but I don't know if I can trust our lives to a computer in charge of this car. This is a computer programming error that will ultimately be responsible for the loss of life. Other computer assisted driving vehicles don't have this problem and they must have tested and overcome this specific performance issue. Does Tesla or mobileye have this issue" is it only Honda"

- Highland Park, IL, USA

problem #77

Mar 142020

CR-V

  • 28,500 miles
This is the third time in past three weeks. Car starts and and all lights come on blinking on dashboard including brake, brake system, and continue blinking. Blinking lights continue when car is stationary or moving and on gravel road and paved roads. The first trip to local Honda and report was bad battery. Second trip and I was told connector box. This is third time and its weekend and local Honda closed. This is a huge safety concern. The date below is third time date.

- Lavalette, WV, USA

problem #76

Aug 012018

CR-V

  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving at speeds above 45 mph the forward collision avoidance system braking feature activated causing the vehicle to abruptly stop. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The cause of the failure was not yet determined. The vehicle was not repaired. Planet Honda located at (2285 us highway 22, union NJ) was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 4,500.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #75

Mar 012020

CR-V

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was away for 17 days and my battery died. Went to dealer and he said this is normal. How is this normal? it's dangerous and should not happen! car is 18 months old! this is dangerous too. Last year we were gone 2 months and wife's car started right up. Neighbors winter in Florida - come home and cars start up. My last car sat 3 months and started right up. This needs to be fixed! we travel and car sits at the airport / train. What happens when we come back and it's dead and it's late / snow / ice / bad area. Worse - I could not get into the rear hatch (dealer said nope - can't - no bypass) to get my jumper cables! and car was in a garage (50+ degrees). Garage also made it hard to jump as was pulled in forward! this is all scary and must be fixed but dealer says normal. He said some die in a couple / few days and it's normal. This is normal? after jumping it I had to reset so much / dash was lit up - radio didn't work. 17 days is nothing for a car to sit and dealer said it may have died the first week. Then what - no alarm - nothing. I looked online and many have this issue. For all I know my Honda battery died day 2 or 3 as many online say theirs dies after sitting just a few days.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #74

Feb 292020

CR-V

  • 19 miles
On Saturday 2/29/2020 I was traveling southbound on highway 183 here in austin Texas at 68 mph when my driver door opened. It didn't fly all the way open but it was ajar about 4 to 5 inches. I held the door as close to closed as I could while driving with the other hand to reach a save stop in order to close my door. I've had the vehicle for a year and 8 months and this is the first time this has happened but it is scary nonetheless. I was about 19 miles into my trip to work that day. There were no lights on the dash and that was no alert that my door was opened prior to it opening. There wasn't even a alert once it became open and I noticed because I could hear the air and the door was moving. The door lock mechanism still showed the door locked before I unlocked it and closed the door. While it hasn't happened again. I would still appreciate this to be looked into.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #73

Feb 112020

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles
The ignition is keyless. I pressed to turn off the engine and it shut off. But I forgot to shift into park. I exited the car. The car started rolling backward. I ran back to it, jumped in and shifted to park, stopping the car. If I hadnT noticed and stopped the car, someone might have been hurt. When you stop the engine, there should be an automatic shift to park or an automatic activation of the emergency brake.

- Cranford, NJ, USA

problem #72

Jul 012018

CR-V

  • miles
Issues with charger under radio. I've brought it in. The fuze blew. Issues with pandora not syncing and brought it in more than once. Major issues with my screen bugging out with levels of the screen brightens but it makes a noise like the screen is being tapped and it's not. Only way to stop it is turn car on and off. Had to stop on parkway yo fix, not safe. Brought it in for that more than once too and still not fixed. Issues with pic uploads too

- Dunellen, NJ, USA

problem #71

Jan 132020

CR-V

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had numerous problems with my CRV, most recently a complete malfunction where car did not go over 10 mph and dashboard lights all flashing on alert. Honda mechanics told me this was my fault for overfilling my oil tank. Wanted to charge me $2500 for a new catalyt converter. After much negotiating they lowered cost. However I have since seen this is a common problem with this model and should have been recognized as such.

- Pelham, NY, USA

problem #70

Jan 192020

CR-V

  • 9,500 miles
From 3,500 to now 9,500mi 5 seperate occasions sensor suite has quit functioning for from 10mi to a 100mi till come back on. In all but 1 time (which recurred going to dealer) by coming to stop or restarting engine has returned to normal. Still have throttle, brake, gas guage, lights etc but no functions that require pushbutton or sensing functions. All happened while at hyw speeds. 1 time car totally quit (like shut off with switch) for a sec free rolling at 65mph then came on where left off.

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #69

Dec 232019

CR-V

  • 10,180 miles
Honda 2018 cr V touring AWD has steering issues on 3 separate occasion. Sept 2019, Oct 2019, Dec 2019 when making a right turn the power steering pulled to the left into the wrong lane & the 3rd time almost into a ditch it took two or us to over ride that. During that 3rd time we also had 4 warnings: Acc, lkas, cmbs and rdm. I had amber and red warning lights showing the brake system, lane departure, acc & forward collision warning illuminated on the dash. I pulled over and shut the engine off for 30 mins. Each problem taken into the dealer we could not duplicate, and your VIN # is not on the recall list. I also notified Honda still no answer.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #68

Jun 272018

CR-V

  • 10 miles
The turn signals are defective. The turn signals flashing lights work, but there is no clicking sound. This causes a safety problem when changing lanes on a highway. I am often unaware that the turn signals are still engaged.

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #67

Dec 092019

CR-V

  • 23,000 miles
My windows and doors are open and unlocked, including hatchback. Has happened at least 4X's in last two weeks in Chicago during holiday season!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #66

Nov 262019

CR-V

  • 15,000 miles
Lights, windows and sunroof all opened spontaneously overnight while parked in the downstairs garage of my home. Remote not touched. Read online of many cases not so lucky that opened during rain storm resulting in a soaking wet car. Apparently there is no option to turn off control that might trigger this. Will take photo for documentation if it happens again

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #65

Nov 022019

CR-V

  • 4,300 miles
Problems first presented: Auto door lock malfunction, auto- rain sensing wiper malfunction would come on when dry, not come on when wet; navigation system went crazy on the highway flashing on and off when using it; twice the auto breaking system came on when on the highway with nothing in front of me....going 50 mph! I very well could have been rear ended. I saw no obstruction on the road. I have had the vehicle in twice to the dealer only to be told it does not happen and they have no bulletins regarding these issues.

- Oakmont, PA, USA

problem #64

May 192019

CR-V

  • 14,941 miles
3 time while driving on the fwy 65 mph with the cruise control activated, lane control activated, and the distance set to minimum, with no one in front of me, the car detected the car to the right of me and slammed on the brakes, and causing the person behind me to slam on their brake almost causing an accident. This happened between April of 2019 and Oct of 2019. When I brought it into the dealership they said that there was dirt on the milliwave radar, found code P2583-97, I found this to be highly unlikely because the car was spotless. The second time I took the car to the dealership, they said the could not duplicate the problem. When asked how they diagnosed the car they said they drove it 10 miles down a bolsa chica rd. I told the sevice person that that was not the same conditions as I was driving and that they could not have gotten the car up to 65 mph when the speed limit was 45 mph and it wasn't a fwy. Her response was we are not allowed to drive cars on the fwy. I said then how are you do duplicate the condition of the problem. This car has been into the dealership for multable electronic issue, none of which have been solved yet. All I get is the same answer, cant duplicate the problem. I believe this car has had these problems since it was sold new and the person before me turned this car in with only 8000 miles on it for a new car that they could trust. This is a safety issue ad could cause me to get into an accident thats not my fault.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #63

Dec 232017

CR-V

  • miles
Had issues with electrical such as warning lights in the past, 38,000 miles had fuel injectors replaced. Mention when I got the car that it did not heat properly, they said it was normal. Does not heat when idling. So I started checking it out and everybody else is having the same issue. Idling.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #62

Oct 292019

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
While driving on slick roads I was using blueooth to have a telephone conversation. A car swerved in front of me causing me to swerve to avoid an accident. The bluetooth disengaged and I heard the doors automatically click to lock (they were already locked). I assume these are built in safety features. When I came to a stop, the electronic door lock overrode the manual lock for the driver side door and would not unlock; I could not exit through the driver side door. I tried many times to use the fob or to manually unlock the driver side door to no avail.I had to exit using the passenger door. The driver side door lock refused to work until I used the physical key to open the door from the outside. Using the physical key appeared to re-set the electronic door lock system and it then worked normally.

- Loveland, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?