2018 Honda CR-V fuel system NHTSA complaints: Fuel/Propulsion System

NHTSA — Fuel/Propulsion System Problems

2018 Honda CR-V (Page 1 of 9)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends. Judging from the identical 2017 model year, the 2018 Honda CR-V is likely to have at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2018 Honda CR-V fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2018 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #164

Aug 042019

CR-V

  • 9,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Afraid this car will catch on fire! engine oil is getting diluted with fuel due to the turbo engines on the 2017 -2018 Honda crvs. I notified stevenson hendrick Honda in December 2018 of a fuel smell in cabin of car while driving and an mil (malfunction error came up & all safety features were disabled until I cut car off at next stop and restarted. Dealership checked the car on 12/24/18 and said nothing was wrong. Contacted dealership again due to fuel smell in cabin & we had checked oil & the dipstick reaked of fuel & was way over the high mark. Took car on 8/10/19 and I made service manager tony check oil in front of me to verify fuel was in it. They said they changed computer module and did some updates to fix & told me to bring it back on 8/1/717 at 8;00 for install of spark plugs they ordered. Drove 40 miles back home and fuel was already in the oil again! called dealership back to let them know I want the oil/oil filter changed again on 8/17/19 when they do spark plugs and that we will continue to check oil in car. I contacted Honda as well & spoke to "cat". she wasn't helpful at all and refused to tell me why the software update notice they sent didn't say anything about fuel dilution in the oil. It only referred to error codes & whirling noise in engine. The dealership said this problem has only been happening in "cold weather regions" and that I am the first they have heard of. I told them that if people don't check their oil or if the dealership doesn't tell the consumer when they change their oil that they wouldn't know they had a problem since it has not been disclosed to the consumers.this car scares me me & I'm afraid my engine will catch on fire from this issue!

- Supply, NC, USA

problem #163

Aug 102019

CR-V

  • miles
Car purchased new from West hills Honda, bremerton wa, in December 2017. Equipped with 1.5 liter engine. Gasoline is getting into the engine oil; high oil levels in crankcase. Gasoline fumes. Stationary and in motion; car is driven daily.

- Gig Harbor, WA, USA

problem #162

Jan 032019

CR-V

  • 10,864 miles
TL the contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact suspected that fuel and oil were in the oil tank, leaking past the cylinders and entering the oil tank. The vehicle was taken to lithia Honda (4095 crater lake hwy, medford, or 97504, (541) 930-3021) where an oil dilution for the fuel odor was performed, but no failure was found. The contact stated that the dipstick showed that the oil was above the full mark. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact to call the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 10,864.

- Ashland, OR, USA

problem #161

Jan 152018

CR-V

  • 455 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

According to blackstone labs.oil analysis using oil from the first oil change at 5K miles on 1/2019 oil contaminated with gas from direct fuel injection system problem. Driveability problem due to sticking acceleration pedal. This hesitation has almost caused accidents. My wife is reluctant to drive this vehicle. This fuel contamination of crankcase oil can cause serious damage to internal engine parts.this is a major problem regarding city & highway driving that acceleration is needed to maintain traffic flow. I have to be careful to avoid having to need to accelerate causing major hesitation (flat) & accelerator pedal stuck in down ( to floorboard) position.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #160

Jul 062019

CR-V

  • 14,412 miles
This is about my 2018 Honda CR-V ex with around 14,700 miles at present.my whole family and a friend went to yakima, wa for cherry picking.on our way there from seattle, wa while driving using adaptive cruise control (acc) and lane keeping assist system (lakas) suddenly a warning from the screen appeared that says..."power reduced - power grille problem" and then we can not accelerate the speed. Luckily we made it to the shoulder of the highway for emergency park and wait for 5 to 10 minutes until the warning goes out from the screen. When it goes out we start the engine and start driving again and after 7 to 10 minutes the warning goes on again, stop and goes again for the third time and we decided to turn off the acc and lkas and drive in a lower speed 60 to 65 mph in a 70 mph speed limit zone.the next morning I checked the engine oil fill compartment and the engine oil dipstick and found out they have a strong gasoline smell.gasoline leaks to the engine oil compartment.when I checked the dipstick, the oil is dripping like water with blackish color because of the gasoline mixed to the oil. I reported it to the dealership for service and told me not to drive the car going to them instead the towing company (aaa) do the job to take it to the dealership.and the day when I picked up the car they told me that the gasoline I smell from the compartment is normal due to combustion. I asked them to check the engine oil dipstick to prove to them that it smells gasoline and dripping like water with blackish color (this is a newly changed pure synthetic engine oil /90% remaining).they did not check the dipstick and told me they can do nothing about it and told me to it's normal.they said it's safe to drive my car. I'm just hoping this problem be resolved very soon.

- Tukwila, WA, USA

problem #159

Jul 052019

CR-V

  • 4,500 miles
This vehicle after having 4500 miles, began to smell terribly of gasoline inside and outside of the vehicle. The vehicle sputtered, did not want to run, and stalled a few times before I wound up at the dealership. I also noticed that when the little wrench came on, for a notification of the first oil change, that the vehicle made a loud growling noise. The vehicle is sitting in the dealership right now waiting a hopeful repair. Here I am with no vehicle, and a $400 per month payment. This is absolutely unacceptable in today's world. This problem should have been fixed, before the vehicle was allowed to be put up for sale. A vehicle is deemed not safe, when it's stalls on you in the middle of traffic.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #158

Jul 032019

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Warning lights flashing then had software update ac control all that was on the bulletin, lights flashing again warning lights so at 38,000 had to have fuel injectors, one warning light came on since then after cutting car off hasnT come back on yet both stationary, and in motion.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #157

Jun 262019

CR-V

  • miles
Raw fuel smell inside cabin and outside of vehicle. Engine oil diluted and oil level increased. Fuel mixed in with oil.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #156

Jun 252019

CR-V

  • miles
In the winter, I noticed a reduction in power from the vehicle. The engine began to run rough and stalled a few times in parking lots. There was the smell of gas and sulfates coming through the vents. The oil level was very high. I took the car to the dealer and they changed the oil. Four months later with normal use of the vehicle, the smell of gas is again coming through the vents, the engine seems to be running rough again, and the oil level is high. I fear the vehicle will stall in a dangerous situation, and the fumes in the cabin make me feel sick.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #155

May 262019

CR-V

  • 4,000 miles
Fuel mixing in oil system, loosing power that can cause an acident.

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #154

May 052019

CR-V

  • 20,496 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While changing the oil and filter at 20, 496 miles, I noticed the following: 1) oil level had risen on the dipstick significantly higher than when originally filled 2) oil appeared highly diluted and watery 3) there was a strong gasoline smell coming from the used oil this situation has been widely documented. Https://www.consumerreports.org/car-repair-maintenance/Honda-delays-CR-V-turbo-engine-fix-details-rollout-plans/

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #153

Sep 012018

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. while the vehicle was in operation, fuel mixed with the engine oil. The contact stated that the same failure occurred with his previous CR-V, which ruined the engine. Krenzen Honda Nissan Lincoln (2500 mall dr, duluth, mn 55811, (218) 727-2905) changed the oil, but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the failure occurred mostly in cold weather. The contact stated that he filed a complaint for the lemon law with his state's attorney general's office, but had not heard back. The manufacturer was comprehending oil changes. The dealer stated that the manufacturer would not want to talk to the contact once he filed a complaint with the attorney general's office. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Iron, MN, USA

problem #152

Jan 292019

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that fuel entered the crank case and mixed with the oil. The oil indicator illuminated as the intermittent failure progressed. In addition, the vent controls were slow to function when the heat and air conditioner were activated. The vehicle was taken to automaster Honda (3328 shelburne rd, shelburne, vt 05482, (802) 985-8411) more than three times, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- South Burlington, VT, USA

problem #151

Mar 202019

CR-V

  • 9,473 miles
The oil level remains elevated even after the repair/recall to address earth dream engine problems

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #150

Mar 282019

CR-V

  • 2,339 miles
On 3 different occasions, while driving the car on the interstate highway, it started vibrating, and would not accelerate, burning smell occurred, several warning lights came up on the dashboard. We had to navigate the car from the middle of highway to the shoulder of the highway very abruptly. It was a near death experience as several trucks and cars were traveling on the highway at very fast speeds. Reported the first occurrence to the mcgrath city Honda, Chicago, il in January 2019 along with the dashboard warning light pictures and they replaced some fuel sensors and informed me that this was a manufacturing issue (defective part). Second incident occurred in February 2019, could not take photos as the problems went away after restarting the engine. Reported the third incident in March 2019 along with the dashboard warning light pictures to the same dealership and I was informed that there is a problem with fuel injector and they placed the order for the part. We are really, really scared of driving this defective, malfunctioning and hazardous vehicle. I searched the internet last night and it seems several other Honda CRV owners are having these issues. Please investigate this serious issue and save the people.

- Peachtree Corners, GA, USA

problem #149

Feb 062019

CR-V

  • miles
Gasoline odor in cabin, raw fuel going through catalytic converter, gasoline in oil pan

- Bridgewater, VA, USA

problem #148

Mar 262019

CR-V

  • 25,000 miles
Oil diluted by gas. Gas smell in oil. Also causes overfill of crankcase. Gas in oil dilutes oil causing excessive and unnecessary wear and tear.

- South Range, WI, USA

problem #147

Mar 192019

CR-V

  • 1,018 miles
Fuel in oil

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #146

Dec 012018

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Honda CR-V. while driving various speeds, the contact smelled fuel fumes. There were no warning indicators illuminated. Krenzen Honda (4160 haines rd, duluth, mn 55811, (218) 724-6632) diagnosed that fuel was leaking into the oil compartment. The dealer reprogrammed the software, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was repaired a second time. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,000.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #145

Mar 132019

CR-V

  • 1,200 miles
Recently bought a 2018 Honda CR-V 2018, with each fill up of gas, the car has started spitting, sputtering, worsening with each fill up. Now the car is stalling, this happened twice on a major highway, now every warning light is flashing, roadside service came to pick up my car, took back to dealership who tells us, per Honda, the car is safe to drive, you still have the issues, warnings are still flashing, but it's safe to drive until we can get your parts, how am I suppose to know if there is truly an issue with my car if all the warnings are flashing up. How is this safe!!

- Snow Hill, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?