10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,562 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2019 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2019 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2019 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Apr 302020

CR-V

  • 9,462 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gasoline is getting into the oil. Just as it has been reported in the 2017 and 18 models, 1.5 liter turbo charged engine. I have heard that the 2020 model has the gasoline oil dilution problem also. This issue was identified on the first oil change. We were asking by the dealer to get the oil level checked every 1000 miles, we just had that happen and the oil level was recorded as slightly high. It smells of gasoline. The dealer told us Honda is working on a solution. In the meantime our engine is making metal and it's life is getting shorter and shorter. Lack of lubrication. Purchased CR-V new 9/4/19, last oil level check was 4/30/20.

- Galesville, WI, USA

problem #33

Apr 272020

CR-V

  • 12,100 miles
There is a strong gasoline smell in the cabin immediately after starting the vehicle. The smell is strongest when the engine has already been warmed up. I have taken the CR-V in to the dealer twice and they have not been able to resolve the issue.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #32

Apr 112020

CR-V

  • 2,235 miles
Developed oil dilution problem, to the point where it damaged my spark plugs and the engine had trouble running, had to be towed to dealership. Cause smoking under the hood and shakiness in the middle of driving, wheel locked up and I couldn┐T steer, all warning lights came on the dash together, not safe at all.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #31

Apr 172020

CR-V

  • 976 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2019 Honda CR-V. the contact stated while driving 25 mph, the vehicle hesitated with multiple unknown warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to exceed 12 mph with the accelerator pedal depressed. The vehicle was towed to ryan Honda (1212 2nd St w, williston, nd 58801), where the contact was informed of gasoline and oil mixture in the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 976.

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #30

Feb 212020

CR-V

  • 2,407 miles
Problem: Fuel getting into oil transfer case and contaminating/diluting the oil. We purchased a 2019 Honda CR-V ex-L on 10/31/19. I had done some research on this problem since it had been reported with the 2017-2018 models with the same 1.5 turbo engine. I brought it to the dealer's attention before we bought the car and we were told that Honda had "fixed the problem and that our vehicle had the fix". we were planning a trip to dallas, tx on 02/22/20 and planed to drive there from our home in duluth, mn. In preparing for the trip, I checked the engine oil and found that the oil level was 1/2" above the full mark on the dipstick, and the oil was dark and smelled strongly of gasoline. The car had 2407 miles on it at this time and obviously Honda had not fixed the problem. I took the car to the dealer on 02/21/20 where I purchased the car and had them check the oil. They observed the same issues that I am reporting. They stated that Honda knows about this problem but has not yet issued a recall. But they also stated that Honda was not providing any explanation or remedy other than to change the oil at the owner's expense. My dealership, to their credit, agreed to change the oil and filter at no charge to me. The service manager also explained why the issue is occurring and acknowledged that Honda may yet be forced to issue a recall. Honda has already offered an extended warranty for the 2017-18 models as the result of a class action suit, but nothing is being done for the 2019 or 2020 models that have the same engine and same problem. I am concerned about premature engine wear, damage, or potential of fire or explosion. Dealer repair #122992, krenzen Honda duluth, mn.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #29

Feb 072020

CR-V

  • 11,000 miles
On 2/7/2020 I was operating my CRV, made a left turn into driveway of tavern/restaurant, 1080 E. philadelphia ave., gilbertsville, pa. 19525 and pulled into the first parking space about 10 feet from street. I slowed down to almost a stop approx. 2 feet from concrete parking block, my foot was on the brake and engine accelerated very high causing the vehicle to jump the parking block and striking the restaurant wall. Approx. 8 feet from parking block. My wife asked me what I was doing and I pointed to my right foot on the brake. No one was hurt and very minimal damage to wall. There was a police report to douglas twp. Pd. I spoke to piazza Honda dealership where vehicle was towed to and manager said that I most likely had my foot half on brake and half on gas pedal. I also gave same story to allstate insurance. I requested that hey check the black box in vehicle and both said they could not. My vehicle was repaired after $90.00 estimate was written. I was so afraid to drive the vehicle again and I traded it in to piazza Honda without leaving their business after it was repaired. I have been driving for 60 years and never had my foot half on brake a nd half on gas pedal. The brake and gas pedal are separated by at least 3 inches. If it was on both pedals, I am sure the brakes would have screeched. The vehicle was in the shop at piazza Honda 4 days prior to the accident for pa. Vehicle inspection and during the exam they told me that the left front strut was leaking and they installed a new one. The vehicle was only 8 months old with 11,000 miles on it..

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 182020

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Strong gasoline fumes were noted in the vehicle interior at about 2,000 miles. The issue seemed to present itself when restarting after relatively short trips. Issue was reported to a local dealership at approximately 3,000 miles. I was told that this had been an issue with 2017/2018 models, that the issue had been resolved and did not apply to 2019 models. This was contrary to what I was experiencing, so I researched and determined that this does in fact appear to be an issue with the 2019 model. When pulling the dipstick to check the oil, it smelled as if I had dipped the stick in a can of gasoline, not oil. I reported the issue to a second dealership, the dealership from which the vehicle was purchased. The individual checking the car in, agreed that upon starting the car for the test drive, the cabin smelled strongly of gasoline and that they would check it out. After the vehicle was checked-out by a mechanic, they said that it was ready to pick up and that nothing was found. I inquired as to gasoline smell noted upon check-in. They indicated that the comment made could not be considered as the person checking the vehicle in and going for a test drive was not a licensed mechanic. I was told that I needed to take the matter up with Honda America as there was nothing they could do. It was suggested that if the issue is associated with engine design, there was nothing they could do, that I would need to appeal to Honda America to have an engineer check my car out, that if they were to call, Honda would not send an engineer. In the meantime, I have a $30,000, purchased vehicle that I am not able to give back to Honda at the end of a short lease. I am also being exposed to gasoline fumes on a regular basis. I was knowingly sold a defective vehicle with an engine that will not last for the 10+ years that I planned to drive it in retirement.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 112020

CR-V

  • 13,500 miles
The engine is getting gas in the oil. I have taken oil samples that show greater than 5% gas in the engine with lower than minimum oil viscosity. I have taken it to the dealer who changed the oil. Less than 1000 miles later, the problem is back. The engine hesitates randomly especially when slowing down. I've taken the vehicle to two different dealers with the same "there's nothing we can do". I asked them if they could pull the injectors and check to see if one is faulty and was told "it's direct injection, the injectors cannot be pulled", which of course is false. The last mechanic told me that unless the oil level is more than 1.5 inches above the add mark, there was no chance of damage to the engine. I estimate that at that level, there would be 30% gas in oil. The company stated that the problem for the 1.5 turbo engine in the 2019 CR-V was solved. I don't believe it has been solved based on my and others experience.

- Rapids City, IL, USA

problem #26

Feb 122020

CR-V

  • 15,000 miles
Oil level is high, strong smell of gas in the oil. Took it to dealer, who changed the oil, said there was nothing wrong. A few miles later I have the same issue. The oil is being diluted with gas. Currently the car runs. Honda is not addressing this isue.

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 312020

CR-V

  • 10,129 miles
Oil dilution. Dip-stick was reading high after recent oil change at dealership. Dip-stick had strong odor of gasoline. Honda remedy was another oil change. Filed complaint with Honda, case #10193498 and with dealership I purchased from. I may need to hire a lawyer

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #24

Jan 302020

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has a demonstrable problem with the engine oil being diluted with fuel that causes the oil to be thinned out to a point where it is no longer in spec for the viscosity. The oil level in the crankcase rises and causes a check engine light to be illuminated and also causes a strong fuel smell to be present in the cabin. This is an ongoing problem that has been reported to both Honda dealers as well as Honda usa and they have chosen to take no action.

- Milliken, CO, USA

problem #23

Jan 242020

CR-V

  • 3,196 miles
2019 Honda CRV-oil dilution causing oil level to rise-caused car to go into "limp mode". invoice attached. I have a 2019 Honda CRV with only 3196 miles on it. On 1/24/20, I was in the passing lane of a busy highway when the car suddenly lost acceleration! I put the gas pedal to the floor and nothing! there were cars all around me and it was absolutely terrifying. I and everyone driving around me were lucky, as it could easily have been a large pile up on the highway with catastrophic repercussions. The car was towed to the dealer where it was determined that the issue was caused by "oil dilution causing elevated oil level"..."fouled plugs and misfire codes"..."oil very thin very dark and smelled". this is the same issue that occurred in prior years crvs! the Honda tech line didn┐T have a fix for 2019S yet so advised the dealer to change my oil and replace the spark plugs. I am terrified to drive this car and am stuck in a lease for 2 1/2 more years. I called Honda corporation and they wouldn┐T give me any information on what they were doing for this, except to tell me that no notice is ever sent to owners of a car until a fix is found. That is frightening. I can't believe they can continue to sell them while this dangerous situation exists.

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #22

Jan 202020

CR-V

  • 8,900 miles
The issue was discovered when doing an oil level check. After seeing a problem I changed the oil and filter. The dealer had put 3.8 qts. In, but 5.0 qts. Came out. The old oil was very dirty and very thin. The issue = fuel leaking into the engine oil of Honda's 1.5 turbo engine, installed into the 2019 Honda CR-V. this appears to be the same problem as with the 2017 & 2018 models. Honda reported that their fix (apparently a software change) would be applied to the 2019 model. The fix does not seem to have worked. I do have a case number from american Honda motor co.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #21

Jan 172020

CR-V

  • 8,250 miles
2019 Honda CR-V on my 2nd. Oil change there was gas in the oil at 8250 miles.I will and was told from dealer to drive it 500 miles and bring it in as I just had oil change done. I will also keep checking the oil level and bring it in to dealer for next oil change or if I see oil level rising.

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #20

Dec 282019

CR-V

  • 8,100 miles
When starting the vehicle, a strong gasoline smell is present in the cabin. After checking online, checked the engine oil and there was a gasoline smell on the dipstick. The engine oil was above the full line due to the gasoline leaking into the oil compartment.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 182019

CR-V

  • 5,850 miles
Intermittent raw gas fumes inside cabin of 2019 Honda CR-V. raw gas smell present while vehicle is parked, moving on city streets and on the highway. Dealer was unable to replicate the problem. Dealer conducted an evap function test. The vehicle passed.

- Bexley, OH, USA

problem #18

Nov 062019

CR-V

  • 1,300,000 miles
I just had a high car accident and my airbag did not deploy but the other car did. My car is a total.

- Pompamo, FL, USA

problem #17

Sep 292019

CR-V

  • 1,600 miles
Gasoline leaking into the engine lubricating oil. When I bought the car the dealer assured me that Honda had taken care of the problem. I feel that a recall is justified since this will certainly lead to shorter engine life and could possibly lead to an engine fire. I noticed the problem after checking the oil after a trip of 500 miles.

- Orange, CT, USA

problem #16

Aug 012019

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 4,800 miles
Honda oil dilution - driving the car on the interstate and the engine light came on and the engine shut off. Pulled over and restarted the car. Drove 2 miles and engine shut off again. Pulled over started car drove 100 ft and engine shut off and everything including wheels locked up. Car taken to Honda dealer and they state that the engine running on 3 cylinders because spark plug fowled up. Replaced spark plug. Picked up the car drove it 300 miles and engine stuttered, did not shut off and blue smoke plumes came out of exhaust. Shut the car off and blue smoke went away, did not drive the car for one week. Drove car 100 miles on interstate, engine light comes on and engine shuts off. Pull over. Restart the engine and was able to drive 50 miles to the same Honda delear for the first time repair. Mechanic tells me that the oil case was 1/2 quart too much. Sound like oil dilution issue.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #15

May 012019

CR-V

  • 700 miles
Engine oil dilution

- Franklin Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?