10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,622 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2019 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2019 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2019 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Feb 132021

CR-V

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a reproducible software glitch that can be consistently triggered by bringing the car to a stop on a slippery surface, and then flooring the gas pedal to spin the wheels with the transmission in ┐D┐. after the wheels have spun, the transmission shifts erratically while driving until the car is restarted

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #42

Oct 042019

CR-V

  • 4,669 miles
I have purchased Honda CRV 2019 0N 02/18/2019. Initially the car performance was awesome. My first visit at first Texas Honda on 10/04/2019, to fix tyre puncher. When primary technician reminded me about security recalls then I asked to fix all the 3 recalls (1. 2019 CR-V fi-ECU self shutdown software product update, 2.2019 CR-V steering wheel controls & SRS sub-wire satefy recall, 3. 2019 CR-V incorrect owner's guide non-compliance recall) second visit at the same dealer on 10/17/2019 to explain all the issues I was facing after security recalls. The reported issues are high engine noise, sluggish acceleration, steering wheel tight and brake pedal feels very low while applying brake. Honda dealers did not accept the main issue while is high engine noise and sluggish acceleration. They simply deny saying no alerts showing on the dashboard. Raised support cases (given below) with american Honda and I feel I did not get right support because american Honda says we value our customers but they say our authorized dealer should check and confirm on the car issue. But dealers not agree to the issues, simply denying the issues. American Honda support case numbers: 1) 09952327 during Oct 2019. 2) 10214175 during Feb 2020. 3) 202888213 during December 2020 but the issues were not resolved. As a third party review, I approached Firestone, austin for inspection they did a test ride and confirmed with a report on the issues sluggish acceleration and steering hardness. But american Honda denied Firestone inspection report as they believe only authorized dealer, who are not acknowledging the issues. If any person who drive new Honda CR-V and try my car they agree in first attempt that engine noise is high and the car speed pick-up is very poor. I need help from NHTSA asap bcoz my new CR-V which is still in warranty but no-body accepts the car engine issue to fix it.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #41

Jul 202020

CR-V

  • 18,500 miles
The first this happen was when I park and I turn off the car but the dashboard was still on and then appears most of the signals on and some weird code on the dashboard and is been for months like that and also like 2 months ago start as I was driving all of a sudden seems the car reduce the speed and I press the gas and doesn't do anything

- Endwell, NY, USA

problem #40

May 012020

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle keeps gaining oil level from burned fuel even though the dealer installed the software update. I live in the South so the cold weather is not the issue. I am an industrial mechanic for 47 years and do my own maintenance so I know what the correct level is. The dealer says there is no fix but diluted fuel leads to damage and if severe, can cause engine failure and accident. The image posted is about 7K miles on oil change and the level is above the level marker pad. The second issue is the electronic display fails to function which allows access to vehicle information and control access. The dealer replaced the unit but this issue goes back to 2016 and so far, do not know if the replacement will solve the issue since it was replaced with a remanufactured part, not new. The dealer replaced the unit really not telling Honda the truth about the failure type, they said it was sound system issue when they knew for a fact there was none as I gave them a video and a letter describing the issue. One part is 1000 dollars and the other 1800 dollars, a stiff cost when warranty runs out. Their fix is an extended warranty at a couple of hundred a month. A win win for them and a loss to the consumer. The failure was sporatic and happened driving or parked. The failure date is just for the electronic part but oil issue has been from the beginning.

- Abbeville, LA, USA

problem #39

Jun 242020

CR-V

  • 12,500 miles
We were driving on a straight section of road at 80mph on I-24 E when the engine light came on and we lost power to the wheels but the engine was still running. There was no jerking motion or any sign of trouble when this happened. We had to coast in heavy traffic with semi-trucks all around us to get to the the right hand shoulder for a safe place. Honda's reply to the dealer was to change the oil out if there was gas in the oil. There was gas in the oil when the dealer checked so they replaced the oil. No other fix was suggested by Honda to the dealer even though this problem was supposed to be fixed for the 2019 models as it had initiated field repairs for the 2017 & 2018 models. The fix was supposed to be implemented at the assembly plants before the 2019 models were sold.

- Adams, Tn 37010, TN, USA

problem #38

Jun 092020

CR-V

  • 13,800 miles
I hit a large deer on the interstate highway at a speed of 60 to 65 mph. There was considerable damage to the front of the car. I have pictures. The airbags did not deploy. There were 2 people in the car, no one was hurt.

- Excelsior, MN, USA

problem #37

May 302020

CR-V

  • 3,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gasoline in oil (oil dilution)

- Lincoln, IL, USA

problem #36

Feb 012020

CR-V

  • 4,600 miles
2019 Honda CRV ex. Engine oil getting into the oil.oil dipstick way above the allowed maximum mark. Just bought it in September 2019 and has only 4,600 miles. Oil gauge shows 40% left before next change. Dealer told me not to bring it until it gets to 15% and that there is no danger driving it.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #35

Aug 272019

CR-V

  • 4,637 miles
Fuel is diluting engine oil. You smell gas in garage and hear the vacuum pump running that is in the pollution control system. Highest oil level has been 6.5 quarts drained out of engine. Right now it took 200 miles to increase oil level a half inch on drip stick. CR-V purchased 4-9-19. Took in first in 8-27-19 for vacuum pump running on and off while vehicle was parked in garage. Dealer had no idea where the sound was coming from and sent us home. Continues today.

- Solon, IA, USA

problem #34

Apr 302020

CR-V

  • 9,462 miles
Gasoline is getting into the oil. Just as it has been reported in the 2017 and 18 models, 1.5 liter turbo charged engine. I have heard that the 2020 model has the gasoline oil dilution problem also. This issue was identified on the first oil change. We were asking by the dealer to get the oil level checked every 1000 miles, we just had that happen and the oil level was recorded as slightly high. It smells of gasoline. The dealer told us Honda is working on a solution. In the meantime our engine is making metal and it's life is getting shorter and shorter. Lack of lubrication. Purchased CR-V new 9/4/19, last oil level check was 4/30/20.

- Galesville, WI, USA

problem #33

Apr 272020

CR-V

  • 12,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a strong gasoline smell in the cabin immediately after starting the vehicle. The smell is strongest when the engine has already been warmed up. I have taken the CR-V in to the dealer twice and they have not been able to resolve the issue.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #32

Apr 112020

CR-V

  • 2,235 miles
Developed oil dilution problem, to the point where it damaged my spark plugs and the engine had trouble running, had to be towed to dealership. Cause smoking under the hood and shakiness in the middle of driving, wheel locked up and I couldn┐T steer, all warning lights came on the dash together, not safe at all.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #31

Apr 172020

CR-V

  • 976 miles
The contact owns a 2019 Honda CR-V. the contact stated while driving 25 mph, the vehicle hesitated with multiple unknown warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to exceed 12 mph with the accelerator pedal depressed. The vehicle was towed to ryan Honda (1212 2nd St w, williston, nd 58801), where the contact was informed of gasoline and oil mixture in the engine. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 976.

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #30

Feb 212020

CR-V

  • 2,407 miles
Problem: Fuel getting into oil transfer case and contaminating/diluting the oil. We purchased a 2019 Honda CR-V ex-L on 10/31/19. I had done some research on this problem since it had been reported with the 2017-2018 models with the same 1.5 turbo engine. I brought it to the dealer's attention before we bought the car and we were told that Honda had "fixed the problem and that our vehicle had the fix". we were planning a trip to dallas, tx on 02/22/20 and planed to drive there from our home in duluth, mn. In preparing for the trip, I checked the engine oil and found that the oil level was 1/2" above the full mark on the dipstick, and the oil was dark and smelled strongly of gasoline. The car had 2407 miles on it at this time and obviously Honda had not fixed the problem. I took the car to the dealer on 02/21/20 where I purchased the car and had them check the oil. They observed the same issues that I am reporting. They stated that Honda knows about this problem but has not yet issued a recall. But they also stated that Honda was not providing any explanation or remedy other than to change the oil at the owner's expense. My dealership, to their credit, agreed to change the oil and filter at no charge to me. The service manager also explained why the issue is occurring and acknowledged that Honda may yet be forced to issue a recall. Honda has already offered an extended warranty for the 2017-18 models as the result of a class action suit, but nothing is being done for the 2019 or 2020 models that have the same engine and same problem. I am concerned about premature engine wear, damage, or potential of fire or explosion. Dealer repair #122992, krenzen Honda duluth, mn.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #29

Feb 072020

CR-V

  • 11,000 miles
On 2/7/2020 I was operating my CRV, made a left turn into driveway of tavern/restaurant, 1080 E. philadelphia ave., gilbertsville, pa. 19525 and pulled into the first parking space about 10 feet from street. I slowed down to almost a stop approx. 2 feet from concrete parking block, my foot was on the brake and engine accelerated very high causing the vehicle to jump the parking block and striking the restaurant wall. Approx. 8 feet from parking block. My wife asked me what I was doing and I pointed to my right foot on the brake. No one was hurt and very minimal damage to wall. There was a police report to douglas twp. Pd. I spoke to piazza Honda dealership where vehicle was towed to and manager said that I most likely had my foot half on brake and half on gas pedal. I also gave same story to allstate insurance. I requested that hey check the black box in vehicle and both said they could not. My vehicle was repaired after $90.00 estimate was written. I was so afraid to drive the vehicle again and I traded it in to piazza Honda without leaving their business after it was repaired. I have been driving for 60 years and never had my foot half on brake a nd half on gas pedal. The brake and gas pedal are separated by at least 3 inches. If it was on both pedals, I am sure the brakes would have screeched. The vehicle was in the shop at piazza Honda 4 days prior to the accident for pa. Vehicle inspection and during the exam they told me that the left front strut was leaking and they installed a new one. The vehicle was only 8 months old with 11,000 miles on it..

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 182020

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles
Strong gasoline fumes were noted in the vehicle interior at about 2,000 miles. The issue seemed to present itself when restarting after relatively short trips. Issue was reported to a local dealership at approximately 3,000 miles. I was told that this had been an issue with 2017/2018 models, that the issue had been resolved and did not apply to 2019 models. This was contrary to what I was experiencing, so I researched and determined that this does in fact appear to be an issue with the 2019 model. When pulling the dipstick to check the oil, it smelled as if I had dipped the stick in a can of gasoline, not oil. I reported the issue to a second dealership, the dealership from which the vehicle was purchased. The individual checking the car in, agreed that upon starting the car for the test drive, the cabin smelled strongly of gasoline and that they would check it out. After the vehicle was checked-out by a mechanic, they said that it was ready to pick up and that nothing was found. I inquired as to gasoline smell noted upon check-in. They indicated that the comment made could not be considered as the person checking the vehicle in and going for a test drive was not a licensed mechanic. I was told that I needed to take the matter up with Honda America as there was nothing they could do. It was suggested that if the issue is associated with engine design, there was nothing they could do, that I would need to appeal to Honda America to have an engineer check my car out, that if they were to call, Honda would not send an engineer. In the meantime, I have a $30,000, purchased vehicle that I am not able to give back to Honda at the end of a short lease. I am also being exposed to gasoline fumes on a regular basis. I was knowingly sold a defective vehicle with an engine that will not last for the 10+ years that I planned to drive it in retirement.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #27

Feb 112020

CR-V

  • 13,500 miles
The engine is getting gas in the oil. I have taken oil samples that show greater than 5% gas in the engine with lower than minimum oil viscosity. I have taken it to the dealer who changed the oil. Less than 1000 miles later, the problem is back. The engine hesitates randomly especially when slowing down. I've taken the vehicle to two different dealers with the same "there's nothing we can do". I asked them if they could pull the injectors and check to see if one is faulty and was told "it's direct injection, the injectors cannot be pulled", which of course is false. The last mechanic told me that unless the oil level is more than 1.5 inches above the add mark, there was no chance of damage to the engine. I estimate that at that level, there would be 30% gas in oil. The company stated that the problem for the 1.5 turbo engine in the 2019 CR-V was solved. I don't believe it has been solved based on my and others experience.

- Rapids City, IL, USA

problem #26

Feb 122020

CR-V

  • 15,000 miles
Oil level is high, strong smell of gas in the oil. Took it to dealer, who changed the oil, said there was nothing wrong. A few miles later I have the same issue. The oil is being diluted with gas. Currently the car runs. Honda is not addressing this isue.

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 312020

CR-V

  • 10,129 miles
Oil dilution. Dip-stick was reading high after recent oil change at dealership. Dip-stick had strong odor of gasoline. Honda remedy was another oil change. Filed complaint with Honda, case #10193498 and with dealership I purchased from. I may need to hire a lawyer

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #24

Jan 302020

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
Vehicle has a demonstrable problem with the engine oil being diluted with fuel that causes the oil to be thinned out to a point where it is no longer in spec for the viscosity. The oil level in the crankcase rises and causes a check engine light to be illuminated and also causes a strong fuel smell to be present in the cabin. This is an ongoing problem that has been reported to both Honda dealers as well as Honda usa and they have chosen to take no action.

- Milliken, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?