2009 Honda Odyssey engine problems: excessive oil consumption

Excessive Oil Consumption

2009 Honda Odyssey

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$250
Average Mileage:
89,450 miles
Total Complaints:
20 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (16 reports)
  2. replace engine (3 reports)
  3. replace piston rings (1 reports)
2009 Honda Odyssey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments

problem #20

Dec 302017

Odyssey EX 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive oil consumption caused check engine light and oil light to come on. Not sure of the fix at this time.

- Keith H., Crestview, FL, US

problem #19

Aug 012016

Odyssey EXL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

Losing a quart of oil every 3-4 weeks or so. It's a royal pain, and Honda should fix it!

- George M., Round Rock, TX, US

problem #18

Jun 252017

Odyssey EX-L 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

BOUGHT THE CAR IN JAN 17 WITH 82,000 MILES, AFTER 3000 MILES, ON THE FREEWAY LOST POWER, PARTIAL, CHECK ENGINE LITE BLINKING, GOT HOME, FOUND OUT THE #3 CYL NOT FUNCTIONING, CHANGED THE OILY SPARK PLUG AND COIL. HOPED FOR THE BEST, ON OUR WAY NORTH ONLY 15 MILES FROM HOME SAME OCCURRENCE. IN ADDITION, THOUGHT HONDA, SANTA MARIA , CA HONDA, CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL, NO, AFTER MAYBE 500 MILES CHECKED MY OIL, TOOK TWO QUARTS TO REFILL TO LINE. THIS WAS LOOKING LIKE A NIGHTMARE AT THIS POINT, MY 3000 MILE GUARANTEE WAS UP AND ACCORDING TO THE LAWSUIT COVERING THIS PROBLEM WAS UP IN EARLY 2016. CANNOT FIND ONLINE THE CAUSE OF THIS, ONE SITE SAID TO DISABLE THE VCM? ANY THOUGHTS ON THIS.? EVERYTHING ELSE ON THE CAR IS VERY WELL MADE. HONDA HAS CERTAINLY KEPT THIS PROBLEM UNDER WRAPS IT SEEMS. ALSO, WHY ARE THE SPARK PLUGS SO EXPENSIVE? I PUT IN $9 CHAMPIONS. RUNS FINE, BETWEEN FAILURES.

- Roy T., Arroyo Grande, CA, US

problem #17

Nov 182016

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to have the Spark plugs replaced #1-4 because the car was miss-firing. I took it to our local mechanic that we use. The spark plugs were bad, I had to replace them or I couldn't drive the car. It cost me $326 to replace 4 of them in November 2016. Then the mechanic told me to check with Honda about similar problems other people had with the same vehicle. We took it to the local Honda dealer and they told us, Oh yeah Honda is aware of the problem and will replace it for free since it was a bad part. My van was burning oil and causing the spark plugs to go bad. So they told me to see if it keeps doing it. It did, so I took my van in on January 25 2017 and Honda had to replace the same Spark Plugs 1-4 and the pistons rings 1-3. Because of Honda's faulty part and not sending me a recall notice I'm out $326 for spark plugs that originally I shouldn't have had to pay, as well as the new plugs went bad again. Then Honda refused to cover the spark plugs 5&6 and I had to pay another $83 for them. I want Honda to reimburse me for the $409 that I'm out because of a faulty engine part.

Thanks

Kellie

- Kellie K., Bellevue, NE, US

problem #16

Sep 152016

Odyssey 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I bought this van in early June of 2016 and my wife was in love with it. We do not drive it all the time and the first oil change the mechanic didn't tell us about any issues. The next oil change the mechanic told her that it was 2 quarts low in oil. So I really started watching the oil level between changes. It doesn't smoke or leak any oil but I knew it was going somewhere. We were having to add at least 2 quarts of oil between changes. I have read on forums that this is a major issue with these engines. We didn't I know its was a used vehicle but I didn't pay $16,000 for a vehicle that that burns oil, oh wait I guess I did. This van had 83,000 miles on it when we got it. I have owned Hondas before in the past and they were really good vehicles and long lasting. If this is such an issue then why has a recall not been issued. I have made an appointment with a dealership to look at this problem but they told me that I bought it as is. This is a New Honda Dealership that I got this at. I will be damned if I'm going to pay for this major problem knowing that this is an ongoing issue. Something needs to be done.

- William T., Belton, SC, US

problem #15

Nov 052016

Odyssey EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,950 miles

I've been having an engine misfire with spark plug fouling causing problems resulting in a catalytic converter and O2 sensor replacement. After it cutting out on me, I took it to my local shop. They replaced the Catalytic Converter and both O2 sensors, but the problem with the spark plug fouling is still happening. My van is still in the shop and has to be towed to a Dealer 46 miles away to see if they can get it to stop spewing oil into the combustion chamber.

- Christy L., Farmville, VA, US

problem #14

Feb 012016

Odyssey EXL 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I was first told by my mechanic of the excessive oil consumption, he wasn't aware of the recall. I called Honda and they want me to bring my van in regularly for them to measure the loss ??? Nearest dearer is like 30-40 mins away from where I live.. like I have time for that... I was told I have a problem.. it's a recall and I'm notifying a dealer.. why can't they just fix it??

- Tanya M., Orange Park, FL, US

problem #13

May 262016

Odyssey EXL 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

On two occasions the Odyssey would lose power and sputter and when I checked the oil it was very low (on the first occasion there was no oil on the dipstick). When I took it to Honda they told me either the car had to use more then 1 quart of oil per 1,000 miles or there had to be an error code for miss-fire on the inside bank of cylinders (mine was P0303). Apparently this repair is covered under terms of a class action lawsuit settlement. Glad it is because they told me it's a 3 - 4 day repair. I was told Honda determined the rings on the inside bank of cylinders was allowing oil into the combustion chamber (hence the oil consumption) and fouling the spark plugs (hence the miss-fire).

- dpucek, Morristown, NJ, US

problem #12

Jul 282016

Odyssey EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

I just bought this vehicle April 19th, 2016. I had the oil changed mid June. My wife had a trip to Florida near the end of June so I checked the oil before she left and it was fine. As of today I heard a knocking noise and checked the oil and it was two quarts low. The knocking didn't go away after I filled up the oil. Not sure how bad the problem is as I only just found it.

- Jeremy S., Hamilton, OH, US

problem #11

Jan 012016

Odyssey EX-L 3.5L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 58,000 miles

The Last two oil changes I've been told that their was no oil on the dip stick. After the first time I wrote it off that it was a mistake then two months after the first oil change I had a check engine light come on for a misfire on one of the cylinders. I did some research and found that their is a know problem with this engine code due to oil blowing by the rings and fouling out the plugs. I was disappointed to find out through my own research that Honda extended the warranty for this know issue. My wife brought her vehicle in and they replaced spark plugs 1-4 and updated the onboard computer. Initially, they tried to charge her $100.00 for diagnostic testing but it was waived after her complaining. I have lost faith in the reliability of this vehicle.

- Jeff J., Mechanicville, NY, US

problem #10

May 212016

Odyssey LX 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought this vehicle used and had no idea that there was a class action law suit against Honda for the issue. We had to have the spark plugs replaced and the oil has been down to practically nothing twice now in the last three months. I plan on checking into whether the dealer we bought the car from has a legal responsibility to have notified us of the issue before the purchase.

- sjump, Falcon, CO, US

problem #9

May 262016

Odyssey EXL 3.2L V5

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,193 miles

Checked oil useage every 1000 miles. Down 1 quart. This is the third time I had Honda document the excessive oil useage. Dealership replied that using one quart of oil every thousand miles is acceptable and just bring it back to the dealership for refill.

- John L., Forest Grove, OR, US

problem #8

Sep 232015

Odyssey ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

Well I bought this 2009 Odyssey in 2012. I had the spark plugs replaced in May 2015 and had to have two coils replaced at that time also. I just had to take it in today also as the car sounding and drove like it was going to die. Well we drove 5000 miles since may and had two oil changes since then also. Well I had zero oil left in my engine today and had one spark plug filed and had to change another coil pack. This is all due because there was no oil left because this year make and model burns oil excessively. Honda needs to fix this issue. I have been told it happens more in the I-v tech then just the v-tech. Just beware as this issue is going strong and has ruined a bunch of engines.

- Steve B., Hilliard, OH, US

problem #7

Nov 152013

Odyssey EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

Just retired a month ago from Honda with over 25 years. Had van in our service center at least 7 times with low oil. They admit its a problem but refuse to fix it. We live in Ohio and plan a cross country trip soon and mentioned the fact we could could have a problem with no oil in the middle of some vast wasteland but they said write the mileage down and call a Honda dealer. Thanks for the memories.

- franklinn, Sidney, OH, US

problem #6

Jul 032013

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A few weeks ago, my engine light came on. Within minutes, my oil light went on reminding me that I had 15% life left on oil. Due to engine light warning, I took my car in to get inspected. I had to pay for the inspection. I was told at end of day that I should be checking my oil more as it was low, thus starting the engine light warning. So I asked if it made sense that the dealer sets the oil light to come on at 15% life but I need to check it weekly or monthly to make sure it has enough oil? Paid for service and oil change. Today, while on a 3 hour drive home, the check engine light starts blinking again and my car starts to slow down; I lost ability to accelerate in heavy traffic. I had to pull over and wait for tow. Dropped it back at same dealership but now need to wait to get serviced due to holiday. After reading a number of reviews, I think could be either the unreasonable oil consumption or transmission. Either way, not happy with this problem and loss of my time. If I discover they knew about these problems from years past, I will also express my concern that they are purposely ignoring the problem to save their cost.

- Patrick H., West Hills, CA, US

problem #5

Jan 312013

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,126 miles

January 31, 2013...

Driving at approximately 65-70 mph...check engine light comes on again with no warning (last happened in June 2012). Car begins to sputter. Pull over to safety area on road and call for roadside assistance. After approximately 45 mins the tow truck arrives and tows car to nearest Honda dealership. Service inspects car and finds the spark plugs fouled again (first occurance in June 2012). Also finds that the car is two quarts low on oil (eventhough oil changed on 1/7/2013 at same dealership). Spark plugs are replaced again. Oil issue is confusing because no oil is visibly leaking from car (i.e. no oil spots on driveway, etc...). Dealership recommends PCM upgrade to fix oil issue. Did all recommended and drove home.

- lktowens, Rome, GA, US

problem #4

Jun 012012

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

On approximately June 1, 2012 my check engine light came on while driving on an interstate at approximately 65-70mph. Car began sputtering, and I drove to safe location. Had car towed to nearest dealership. Service at dealership inspected car and reported fouled spark plugs. Replaced all fouled spark plugs (cost about $300). Car was at approximately 65,000 miles.

- lktowens, Rome, GA, US

problem #3

Jun 172013

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,202 miles

Took car to dealership again to document excessive oil consumption. Oil was found to be 1.3 qts low (1 qt of oil added at 83,223). Waiting for spark plugs to be fouled again. This car needs a new engine, but Honda continues to stick to the "within normal parameters" line.

- lktowens, Rome, GA, US

problem #2

May 022013

Odyssey EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,320 miles

Car broke down AGAIN (at 81,320 miles)...this time 110 miles from home. AGAIN with no warning...the check engine light comes on while driving. Car begins to sputter. Pull to safey and wait on tow truck AGAIN (first time 6/2012, second time 1/2013, third time 4/2013). Car towed to nearest dealership. Service at dealership finds spark plugs fouled AGAIN. Also finds car to be two quarts low on oil (AGAIN)...eventhough oil changed in 3/2013 at 78,976 miles. Begin oil consumption test at my request - not because Honda advised me on such.

- lktowens, Rome, GA, US

problem #1

Oct 292012

Odyssey EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,446 miles

We have a 09 Oddysey. My dad was driving my van and notice there was a noise to the engine. He check the oil and was down about 3 quart of oil. He then changed the oil so that it wouldn't damage the van since it was very low on oil. Once he changed the oil, it stopped making the noise. He then went to the nearest Honda dealership on "Norm Reeves Honda" on 10/29/12 and checked oil, then asked to come back after 1000 miles. After 1000 miles, brought it back and said oil burning on van is normal. He then asked to come back after another 1000. We brought back van there 3 times. He said burning 1 quart of oil is normal and because the van was made in US and not Japan that is normal. The service person name was Valentin Frauso. I then had my dad help me take van to the dealership we bought the car. They found software update for concern and also found some oil seeping from oil filter (aftermark/non honda) They started oil consumption test. Ask to come back after 1000 again. Now waiting for miles to hit 1000 again to go back to dealership. The service advisor for this dealdership was a lot more courtesous and willing to help. Dealership currently taking it to is Goudy Honda and service advisor is Egan Kwan. After doing some search online for oil consumption, I found this site. I'm having 2nd thoughts now of buying another Honda Odyssey. We were planning on buying another van this year and give this van to my dad, but now thinking of maybe purchasing a Toyota Sienna now. Our family have always owned Hondas. Honda civic '85, Honda civic 200, Honda Accord, and Honda Oddysey. Never had any problems until now. I've been reading online after this incident and been reading about Honda now having cheaper and more unreliable parts in car now. I hope that is now true. I really like Honda vehicles. I better do some search on oil consumption on other vans.

- Sau C., West Covina, CA, US

Not what you are looking for?