2011 Kia Sorento accessories - exterior problems: doors won't open from outside

Doors Won't Open From Outside

2011 Kia Sorento (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Kia dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Kia really changed the design of the Sorento in the 2011 model year. Instead of a truck-like body-on-frame more capable of offroad adventures, the newest Sorento is a unibody construction and is much more crossover than sport utility. The changes brought a whole slew of problems, including a frustrating problem where the door that won’t open. Is it too late to go back?

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$410
Average Mileage:
94,350 miles
Total Complaints:
35 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (27 reports)
  2. replace door handle (5 reports)
  3. replace door latches (3 reports)
2011 Kia Sorento accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

May 232019

Sorento EX AWD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,780 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So my drivers door wont open from the outside!! I have a call into my local Kia dealership but I have to wait for them to return my call. I've tried calling Kia consumer assistance but that just sends you right to roadside assistance! Pain in my ass. I have to climb in my passenger side to open the door from the inside & hope it doesn't blow closed until I get out & around to that door. This seems to be a very common problem so I don't understand WHY there's no recall on this. Yes its a safety issue but its also just a flat out pain in my ass. I'm in the market for a new vehicle but if Kia doesn't want to do anything about this I definitely won't be buying a new KIA.

- Alyssa D., Reading, PA, US

problem #34

Apr 192019

Sorento LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 230,000 miles

THIS IS THE MOST UNSAFE PROBLEM I HAVE EXPERIENCE. MY GRAND CHILDREN WAS IN THE BACK SEAT OF MY CAR. THE 5 YEAR OLD ON ONE SIDE THE 1 YEAR OLD ON THE OTHER SIDE. I HAD THE SAFETY LOCKS ON FOR BOTH CHILDREN WHEN I GOT THE FIRST ON OUT THE CAR THE OLDER ONE I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE SMALLER ONE OUT BECAUSE THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. I HAD TO GO THE OTHER SIDE TO GET HIM OUT. THIS MADE ME SCARED IF I HAD AN EMERGENCY THIS COULD HAVE BEEN BAD.

I CALLED THE KIA PLACE AND THEY STATED THAT IT WAS NOT A RECALL ON THE LOCKS AND ITS POSSIBLE THAT I ALL THE LOCKS WILL DO IT. I AM SCARED TO PUT MY GRANDCHILDREN IN THE BACK SEAT AFRAID THAT IT WON'T UNLOCK. I GUESS SOMEONE HAVE TO GET HURT BEFORE KIA WILL RECALL THIS. THIS IS SO SAD TO ME. IF THIS IS HOW THEY THINK OF THEIR CUSTOMERS I WOULD NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO PURCHASE ANYMORE OF THERE VEHICLES. UNTIL THEY DO RIGHT BY THEIR CUSTOMERS.

- Joyce M., Cartersville, US

problem #33

Jan 012014

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

It started with the driver side door not opening from the outside. Car was no longer under warranty and the dealer told me that to fix it it will cost almost $300.00 between parts and labor. So I started climbing in from the passenger side to open the driver door from the inside and then go around to get in. Then the passenger door also stopped opening from the outside too. Then the cost to fix it will be $600.00. So, I started opening the driver door from the back seat (driver side) a few months later it also stopped opening from the outside. This means that I only have one working door, the passenger side back door. When that one stops working I'll need to climb from the cargo door.

- nelliebelle, Dorado, Puerto Rico

problem #32

Dec 292018

Sorento SX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Absolutely ridiculous to have to pay this amount of money just to be able to open the door. It is apparently a common problem being reported and Kia should listen and offer to fix the problem that is obviously poor craftsmanship of a product or it wouldn't be a common issue with this vehicle.

- Julie W., Edgewood, MD, US

problem #31

Oct 242018

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A year ago, My driver side door wouldn't open from the outside. It was still under warranty so it was fixed for free. Now my passenger side back door won't open from the outside. As if that is not enough, the child lock is on that door so now it does not open at all. I find this very frustrating and wish there was a recall. This seems to be happening an awful lot.

- Jessica S., Bethlehem, PA, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #30

Dec 202018

Sorento Sport 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

OK... So my wife calls me after having just finished a job interview (12/20/18) and she tells me that she had to crawl thru the passenger door to open the driver's side door and wedge a clothing lint roller into the door so she could get into the car because the door wouldn't open from the outside. Later, that evening, sure enough the door was broken and could not be opened from outside. The next day (12/21/18), I'm leaving on a trip to a family Christmas weekend when my son attempts to open his driver's side passenger door. The latch was stuck and the door did open but wouldn't close.

At this point, I was about ready to pull the car into the road and burn it right there!

I fiddled around with the latch and got the door to close. Then, the door handle didn't work at all inside or outside on that door but it was closed and not going to open accidentally or on purpose. So, we went thru the weekend with my wife having to reach over and open the driver's side door and my son sitting on the rear passenger side of the car. Later, the door began working again after remote locking and unlocking the doors but the driver's side door is still screwed.

We come back from our trip, so Monday morning (Christmas Eve), I call the dealership to make an appointment to have the crappy car repaired. I was told that I'd have to wait THREE WEEKS until January 15th to have the car diagnosed. I told the gentleman that I couldn't drive a car with doors that don't open or even worse, could possibly open while driving the car.m I was told that I had to wait until January 15th no matter the issue, but I could come in and get a oil change right now. Obviously, oil changes are far more important than major repairs or safety issues. At that point, I blew my cool. The guy even told me even if my car were broken down on the side of the road, it wouldn't be until January 15th to get it diagnosed.

I've had so many run ins with this dealership that I will NEVER buy another Kia for as long as I live. I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and waiting to see if they bother to respond. Until then, I'll have to crawl thru the passenger side to drive my car until I can get it fixed.

This Kia Sorento has had a lot of issues with it. Too many to even complain about but it's paid for and gets me from point A to point B. This car has logged about three months time sitting at the dealership repair shop since buying the car new in 2011.

- Wayne C., Bartlett, US

problem #29

Jun 012018

Sorento SX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Damn passenger door will not open from outside. Not covered (What's this about?) what about the 100000 mile warranty they promise?

- Rick M., Pacheco, CA, US

problem #28

Mar 012018

Sorento LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

In March of 2018, my driver side front door started not opening from the outside. While it was a pain in the ass to crawl in from the other side to push it open then walk around, I had to bear with it because I could not afford to fix it. However, after researching the internet, I found this is a HUGE problem, several complaints. Apparently all of the complaints worked, I called my local KIA dealership in June of 2018, and they found that the front driver door is now covered under an extended warranty. He also looked up the VIN and found other recalls that they took care of with no problem. I am including this complaint just so frustrated folks like myself, as well as KIA, know that this is a very common and ongoing issue.

- Christin F., Swartz Creek, MI, US

problem #27

Sep 132017

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles

I called Kia about a year ago for the driver side door not opening- they told me there was not a recall, so I took it in to have it fixed at $250. Well I'm now having the same problem with the passenger side door as well as the back driver side door. I called again to explain what was going on and they told me to bring my vehicle in only for the front doors- not the back doors. There should be a recall somewhere on this issue- three out of four doors is having this problem which tell me something is obviously wrong with the doors.

- cloude9, Mesquite, US

problem #26

Oct 312015

Sorento EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,800 miles

At 70, 800 miles, my Kia Sorento drivers side door handle no longer would open from the outside. I had to crawl from the passengers side over to the driver's seat until I could afford the fix. Now, in 2018 Kia is offering refunds for this exact issue. I did send in my $251.00 invoice from Belle Tire and their explanation of the fix, and Kia is telling us our issue "isn't refundable," even though it is the EXACT ISSUE everyone has complained about and received refunds on. So upsetting on Kia's part. Their customer service with this issue is exactly why I'm looking into purchasing a Honda for my next vehicle!

- Heather R., Howell, MI, US

problem #25

Mar 122018

Sorento LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ON 03/12/2018, DRIVER DOOR NO LONGER OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE. HAVE TO EITHER CLIMB IN THROUGH THE PASSENGER SIDE OR OPEN THE DRIVER DOOR FROM THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. I CALLED KIA AT 800-333-4542 AND GAVE THEM MY VIN NUMBER. THEY VERIFIED IT HAS A 'DOOR LATCH WARRANTY EXTENSION' AND WILL BE FIXED BY ANY KIA DEALER FREE OF CHARGE. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT SCHEDULED TO HAVE IT DONE 03/16/2018. HOPEFULLY IT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM!

- Elsa S., Burke, US

problem #24

Oct 022017

Sorento LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I took it to a Kia dealership and they quoted me $750 to fix it. My husband and I then looked online at the sea of complaints with the same issue. Called Kia and they said there wasn't a recall at the moment. We don't have the funds to fix it! I'm very disappointed and will not be purchasing a Kia the next time around!

- Brittany S., North Ridgeville, OH, US

problem #23

Aug 302017

Sorento LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

My driver door will not open from the outside. I have to go through my passenger side and either climb over the center console (which is difficult to say the least) or try to stretch far enough to reach the handle and push the driver door open hard enough that it doesn't swing back and close before I can get out and get back around to the driver side. Neither of these options are easy for my as I am only 4'11" tall and have issues with my hip. This is literally a PAIN! I see many others are having the same problem with their doors and it seems KIA is well aware of the issue. So why haven't they done a recall? I just don't have the money it costs to get it fixed at a repair shop. I don't think I will be purchasing another KIA in the future.

- Tina M., Battle Creek, US

problem #22

Mar 072017

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 166,457 miles

My 2011 Kia Sorento had a door latch problem. The front passenger side door won't open from outside last year 2016 and it was fixed through my warranty. But now after a year, the driver door and the rear left door both won't open from outside with in a month different. My warranty already expired. Kia said they won't fix it. But it seems like they design to have this kind of problem. I can't recommend Kia to anyone unless they fix this issue. I did a research and noticed many people have the same issue on 2011 KIA SORENTO. This is absolutely unacceptable. I used to like Kia and brag about it but not anymore. Totally frustrated!!

- mik3me12, Alexandria, US

problem #21

Jun 032017

Sorento V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

Our front drivers side door latch stopped working from the outside. Now, anywhere my wife or I want to go, somewhere in the car, someone has to climb in through the passenger side to open the door from the inside. I've read on this site that it's due to a defective part that Kia has refused to recall. I've actually found law firms online who are gathering information on this issue for a possible class action lawsuit.

Update from Jun 14, 2017: I called Kia Consumer Assistance - 800-333-4KIA(4542). They said Kia will cover the repair cost.

- Brian L., Curtis Bay, MD, US

problem #20

Dec 102016

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

drivers side passenger door will not open from the inside

...THATS THREE STRIKES KIA... I'M DONE WITH YOU PEOPLE !!!...

- Virginia S., Nesconset, NY, US

problem #19

Dec 042016

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

in dec 2016 the driver's side passenger door stopped opening from the outside... now come on !!! that's 2 doors now !!!...

- Virginia S., Nesconset, NY, US

problem #18

May 212016

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

in May 2016 the driver's door cannot be opened from the outside... in Dec 2016 driver's side passenger door stopped opening from the outside and cannot be opened from the inside either... what the hell is going on Kia ???!!!...this is unacceptable !!!...

- Virginia S., Nesconset, NY, US

problem #17

Aug 152016

Sorento V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,702 miles

I've always loved my Kia Sorrento and used to tell my family and friends what a great vehicle it is. But over the summer the drivers side door stopped opening from the outside. I couldn't understand what was happening and finally got a quote to get it fixed for $700 CAD. I haven't gotten it repaired yet, just keep the window down or stretch across from the back seat door. A couple of days ago the same thing happened to the back door on my passenger side - it won't open from the outside!! My friends are making fun of me, asking if being able to open the doors is a 'feature' on the Sorrento,!!

I think this is a real safety issue, but haven't been able to find a recall notice. Can anyone help?

- Laurel D., Calgary, AB, Canada

problem #16

Sep 082016

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

2011 KIA SORENTO, DRIVER SIDE, OUTSIDE DOOR HANDLE WILL NOT OPEN DOOR. I TOOK IT APART SINCE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY. IT'S THE ACTUATOR. SO FRUSTRATING THAT HAVE TO ENTER THE CAR FROM THE PASSENGER DOOR. BUT, AM ABLE TO OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR FROM THE INSIDE. I NOTICED A LOT OF COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM. KIA, PLEASE DON'T WAIT UNTIL A UNFORTUNATE CATASTROPHE HAPPENS. KIA MUST RECOGNIZE AND OWN UP TO

THIS PROBLEM.

- Kellie M., Cheney, KS, US

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?