CarComplaints.com Notes: Although it has a stellar record in terms of vehicle problems, initially the 4th generation (2003 - 2009) 4Runner didn't earn our top "Seal of Awesome" rating because it received poor crash test ratings for rear impacts. However it's proven to have one of the lowest driver death rates out of all vehicles (not just SUVs), so we've bumped it back up to our top award.

6.6

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
83,150 miles
Total Complaints:
31 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. replace dashboard (10 reports)
  3. toyota will recall and replace dashes on 2003-2005 4runner (2 reports)
2004 Toyota 4Runner accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Jan 012018

4Runner SR5 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello Toyota,

I would like to pursue the Toyota Warranty Enhancement for cracked/sticky/melted dashboards. My vehicle is a 2004 Toyota 4 Runner. SR5 V6. The dash is cracking along with minor sticky surface as indicated in the Warranty Enhancement ZE6. Please respond with detailed instructions on how to begin to initiate a repair / replace under this Warranty Enhancement.

Thank you.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TOYOTA'S RESPONSE

Dear Mr. X:

Thank you for contacting Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.

We appreciate the opportunity to address your concern regarding your 2004 4Runner SR5.

Your vehicle is beyond the time frame and parameters of the Warranty Enhancement Program ZE6 Extension of Warranty Coverage for Cracked and/or Sticky/Melting Dashboards (Instrument Panels) as a Result of Heat or Humidity. Once the vehicle is outside of the timeframe or parameters of the Warranty Enhancement Program, the cost of repairs becomes the owner’s responsibility.

Your email has been documented at our National Headquarters under file # xxxxxxxxx. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Teayra R. Toyota Customer Experience Center

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mr. X,

You have been provided with Toyota's position. You may seek options outside of Toyota at this time.

Your email has been documented at our National Headquarters under file # XXXXXXX . If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely,

Teayra R. Toyota Customer Experience Center

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

March 16, 2018

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.

Dear Toyota,

I recently inquired about Toyota extended warranty ZE6 through customer relations. ( Toyota Dash Problem Melting Cracking Warranty Extension LSC ZE6 ). Apparently the window has closed on this extended warranty. Unfortunately my vehicles dash board failure was not in sync with Toyota’s time line ZE6. My dashboard is cracking and Toyota Motor refuses to repair / replace or even look at it. This dash board is a failure from poor engineering.

I am very disappointed in the way TOYOTA is responding to this issue. I have contacted customer relations multiple times and in short Toyota‘s position…. oh well ..too bad , were not going to help you out. We don’t have too so were not going to ! Your dash should have failed and cracked and melted before the extended warranty expired.

It would be nice if Toyota cared about their most important asset “ THE CUSTOMER” and stood behind their product to FIX or REPAIR a DEFECT in TOYOTA ENGINEERING.

Let this letter severe as notice this Toyota dashboard defect is still an issue for customers.

2004 Toyota 4 Runner SR5

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have received NO help from Toyota , they have not responded back to my letter above. My dash is still cracking and I have to look at it every day. If Toyota won't fix it and NHTSA won't make them maybe they can suggest a good pair of Polarized sunglasses to provide superior glare protection against Toyota's melting cracking dashboard.

- Jason W., Enfield, ct, US

problem #30

Nov 012014

4Runner Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

We received a recall notice in the fall of 2015. It is now March, and they haven't fixed it or even give us a date for the fix.

- johnklingler, Acworth, GA, US

problem #29

Jul 052016

4Runner SR5 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

Very common problem for early 4th gen 4Runners. Supposedly covered under recall but I sold the car before testing that theory.

- fastzombies, Austin, US

problem #28

Jan 152015

4Runner SR5 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota sent me a letter in January 2015 saying they would replace cracked dashboard at to cost to me. The projected replacement in May 2015. It is now August 2016 and I can't even get an estimated date for repair. Sounds like Toyota made promises to do repairs to avoid a law suit. They could have built an entire new factory by this time.

- Bob M., Florence, SC, US

problem #27

Jun 052012

4Runner SR5 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

IT HAS BEEN 7 MONTHS SINCE I BROUGHT MY 4 RUNNER IN TO GET THE DASHBOARD REPLACED

ALWAYS GET THE SAME ANSWER " NOT IN YET " IF THEY ARE NOT GOING TO LIVE UP TO THEIR WORD TO FIX IT , THEN WHY SEND A LETTER OUT THAT THEY WILL MAKE GOOD . AFTER ALL MY MONEY WAS GOOD AS THERE WAS NO FAULT WITH IT. AS THE SAYING GOES THE HELL WITH YOU ! WE GOT YOUR MONEY!!

- Lou L., Palm Coast, US

problem #26

Aug 012014

4Runner Sport Edition V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

I was told today by my auto mechanic that he thinks Toyota has 1 recall for the cracked dash on my vehicle. I found this site and discovered that many others have the same issue and that Toyota is doing nothing to fix them at no cost, which would be the right thing to do. I will take my vehicle into the Toyota Dealership and try to get them to fix it at no cost to me (I will carefully document the entire exchange) If they fix it, great, if they do not, I will contact Corporate and discuss with them. If I still receive no help, I will try to determine if there is an existing class action suit, and if there is not a current class action- I will consul with an attorney to determine if a lawsuit is the best action to take? If so, then this site looks to me as a great place to find others interested in a lawsuit.

In summary--- I plan to methodically--- step by step---- resolve this issue.

- scottybl, Pearland, TX, US

problem #25

Jan 012012

4Runner SR5/Sport 4WD 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Apparently this is a common problem - got my recall notice in the mail. Have not taken the vehicle in yet as I didn't know the crack on my passenger side dash was included, but based on pictures I have seen from other posts on this site, I am going to take in and see. Definitely annoying this happened. Car is always garaged, never abused so very frustrating. Read that Lexus is also doing repairs/replacement - not sure if I can have a Lexus dealer do the repair on my Toyota - gotta find that answer out yet.

- Brian P., Middleton, WI, US

problem #24

Aug 082013

4Runner Limited V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

DASHBOARD IS CRACKING ALL OVER. CALLED TOYOTA, TOLD ME DUE TO WEAR AND TEAR AND NOT COVERED. TOLD THEM IT WAS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. REFUSED TO COVER THE COST OF FIXING IT. SOMEONE PLEASE START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. RANT ABOUT THE BAD CUSTOMER CARE FROM TOYOTA. THE COMPANY IS MORE INTERESTED IN MAKING PROFITS THAN PROTECTING ITS REPUTATION.

- Noel A., Weston, FL, US

problem #23

Jul 012014

4Runner Limited 437L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

Crack on dashboard appeared out of nowhere, car has been garaged all the time (at work & home). Noticed it when it's about 4 inches, now it's 11 inches long. From other owners experience, the gap will probably open up and look worse. My other car (Accord) is even older and dash is fine, plus I apply more Armor All to this 4Runner's dashboard.

After reading online comments, it sounds like the manufacturer used inferior materials. I'm partial to Japanese cars, just because of my experience with them, but, this is my last Toyota vehicle... Mechanically I have no problem with the vehicle.

- Ivan M., Glendale, CA, US

problem #22

Apr 172011

4Runner Sport Edition 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard

My 2004 Toyota 4Runner has a lot of Cracks on the Dash board extending from left to right. Small ones, big ones, I am afraid of the big Crack across the passages side because of the Air-bag. I did call Toyota in California, went through the whole process, case number but NO HELP AT ALL.

Also had ABS problems, all lights on, no brakes, peddle is hard, Truck will not stop! Call Toyota again, will NOT help, someone needs to die before they do something!! I had to spend $1500.00 to get this fixed at the dealer, Brand new ABS Pump Assy.

Thanks Toyota for all your help, I am now getting a good Lawyer !!

Regards Daniel Dharrie

Update from Feb 9, 2015: Hi everyone, Good news, Got a letter from Toyota today they will extend warranty to replace and repair Cracked Dash Board, and or sticky/melting Dashboard (Instrument panel) as a result of heat, 2003-2005 4Runner, 2005-2010 Avalon, 2007-2011 Camry, 2004-2010 Sienna, 2004-2008 Solara Vehicles.

Thank you Toyota !!

- Daniel D., Miami, FL, US

problem #21

Dec 102013

4Runner SR5 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota will not issue a fix or recall for this problem. It is also a problem in their Lexus line as well

Update from Jan 27, 2015: Toyota has issued a recall for 2003-2005 4Runners cracked dashes. Thank you Toyota.

- William M., Savannah, GA, US

problem #20

Aug 282014

4Runner Sport V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,394 miles

Very Annoying, seeing it as I enter my SUV, and seeing it as I drive.

- Ingrid S., Lawrenceville, GA, US

problem #19

Sep 012010

4Runner Limited 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Dash cracked at air bag location on passenger side in 2010, then last year it started cracking in front of driver above instrument cluster.

- David G., San Antonio, TX, Texas, US

problem #18

Apr 102014

4Runner LX 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,025 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard cracked dashboard cracked dashboard

I think Toyota should fix this problem. Because this look real bad and not good business, Toyota, need to fix the problem.

- Linda M., Loxley, AL, US

problem #17

May 232010

4Runner Limited 4.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,591 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard cracked dashboard cracked dashboard cracked dashboard

After seeing a large number of complaints from fellow owners of early 4th Gen Toyota 4Runners ('03-'05), it seems to me as though this issue is more than a mere coincidence. At the very least, I would like to see Toyota acknowledge this problem in these vehicles. I couldn't be happier with my Toyota from a mechanical standpoint, but it bothers me that with as much attention to detail that goes into building these vehicles, something like this can't be rectified in relatively short order. I bought my 4Runner because it was "built to last". I have babied this vehicle and kept it in a garage for nearly all of the time I've owned it. I think the right thing to do is to acknowledge the problem and offer a reasonable solution.

- Ryan V., Littleton, CO, US

problem #16

May 102006

4Runner

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

click to see larger images

cracked dashboard cracked dashboard

Dash has cracked - want to know if Toyota will recall to fix the problem? Toyota Dealer of no use.

- J C., Indialatic, FL, US

problem #15

Aug 012012

4Runner Limited 4.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

We purchased this vehicle in May of 2004, only owner and has low miles, garage kept and the dash has cracks all over it, a very ugly sight, I take pride in my vehicles and take good care of them, this is a Limited Edition and paid good money for this SUV. Took it to Courtesy Toyota in Brandon Fl. and was told that the SUV looked new but the end result was that Toyota would not help me due to the age of the vehicle. Needless to say this is the first and last Toyota I will purchase. I'm in the market for a new vehicle and I'm going back to a American made vehicle. I am VERY DISSAPPOINTED in Toyota due to the fact that they know about this problem and will not do anything to help.

- Derrell A., Valrico, FL, US

problem #14

Oct 012012

4Runner SR5 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,045 miles

I contacted Toyota and they apologized but never went any further than that. This is unsatisfactory. I have a 1992 Honda Accord that I have owned since 1993. It sits in the sun everyday in Gainesville Florida. It looks like new. My 4runner dash looks like sh*t. I am embarrassed when people ride in my car. Other than the dash the car is in excellent condition. A friend of mine purchase a Kia Suv not too long ago. She had a 2003 4runner and all of a sudden she bought the Kia. I asked her why she bought a new vehicle. She said that the 4runner was falling apart. I said it shouldn't if you take care of it. She told me that the dash was cracking and she thought it was a sign to get rid of the 4runner before it costs too much to keep.

I told her that it was a common issue and that mine was cracking also. Now she regrets getting rid of it.

I know that Lexus SUV's are having the same issue.

One owner took his in and the dealer (Stealership) said that they would put a new one in and they would partially pay for it. Now that is the high end dealership. I haven't heard of a regular Toyota dealership doing it.

It comes down to no service after the sale. No backing their product. Piss poor management. It all about the buck and we mean nothing to them. I am done with Toyota after the 4runner dies. Admit that you are wrong and fix the problem. It will never happen.

- Nigel L., Gainesville, FL, US

problem #13

Apr 132006

4Runner SR5 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,709 miles

Make Toyota pay for replacement, that is if we make more noise to have their attention on this problem.

- Fernando B., Charleston, SC, US

problem #12

Oct 092012

4Runner

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,460 miles

Would like Toyota to fix or replace, so far they have ignored the request as it appears I am not the only one.

- Louie L., Palm Coast, FL, US

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?