ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,849 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Impala electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #219

Jan 082016

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Security passlock not allowing car to start. Fuel regulator faulty not getting fuel to start car. Once I get vehicle started I can cut car off and try to restart, car will not start. Issue needs to be resloved.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #218

Jan 252014

Impala

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 25 mph, the battery light illuminated. The contact drove to a stop light and the vehicle shut down completely. The vehicle restarted after approximately 20 minutes. The contact replaced the battery, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed and replaced the catalytic converter, but the failure recurred and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed and the air conditioning fans were replaced, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but offered no assistance. The check engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #217

May 282015

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start on several occasions. The contact mentioned that the ignition switch took a long period to turn in order to start the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 185,000. Updated 04/14/16 updated 05/10/18

- Greenfield, MA, USA

problem #216

Aug 202015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start while parked. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch and the park lock cylinders needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #215

Aug 032015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to ignition key recall notice. The consumer also stated the intake gaskets leaked anti-freeze.

- Woodland, ME, USA

problem #214

Nov 032014

Impala

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The contact stated that on several occasions the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Sand Springs, OK, USA

problem #213

Aug 202013

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer seeks reimbursement for lock cylinder assembly recall repairs. Updated 09/14/15 updated 10/25/2017

- Eau Claire, WI, USA

problem #212

Aug 312013

Impala

  • 108,000 miles
Vehicle has failed to start on numerous occasions. Key would turn, but nothing happened even though the lights and accessories were on. After a few minutes, the vehicle would start normally. Dealer attempted to fix by replacing the battery twice, but did not correct the problem. In December 2013, the ignition switch cylinder was replace. The problem has not recurred, but now the tire pressure warning can not be shut off. No further dealer action has corrected the problem.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #211

Jun 012012

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
You can be driving at any speed and all of the sudden your turn signals stop working. They will work well for hours then when you go to make a turn they either will not turn on or turn on for a couple seconds and then turn off. If you lightly tap the emergency flash button they will start working again but if you tap the emergency flash button to hard your emergency flash lights turn on. It really concerns me when I try to make a left hand turn on the highway in the fast lane and they stop working. I feel this is worse then the key problem GM has had because they work on and off at any given time without warning. I have spoke with a number of people with the same problem with the turn signals and they have advised me that it will run anywhere from three to four hundred to have repaired.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #210

May 042015

Impala

  • 207,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the ignition key failed to turn in the ignition switch. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch and cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 207,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #209

May 082015

Impala

  • 82,324 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to have the key lock cylinder replaced for the second time I took it in about a month ago and GM done the recall which was to put a plastic plug in the keys but did not replace the lock and at the time I told them I needed a new lock. I have not taken my car out of the area because of warning lights coming on and not starting problems. I have replaced the battery many times and GM replaced sensors a few times. GM knows they have a problem but have not been held accountable for the repairs.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #208

May 082015

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the ignition failed to turn to the on position and the steering wheel did not lock while the vehicle was turned off. The failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Balivia, NC, USA

problem #207

Apr 152013

Impala 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Car will only start randomly. Engine will not turn. All lights on dash will go out when turning the ignition. Starter has been replaced and electrical shop advised to go to dealer. Took to dealer for ignition recall which did not fix the problem. Dealer advised this issue is not covered by recall. Security light turns on.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #206

Mar 102015

Impala

  • miles
My daughter was driving the car and it stalled, so she pulled over to try and restart it but it wouldn't start. We had it towed to a shop and they thought it was the crank shaft censor. We drove for 3 days and the security light came on again and the car wouldn't start. So we had to have it towed home. I've read several complaints about this same problem with this make and model. I find it hard to believe that GM haven't had a recall on this part. This is very frustrating and something needs to be done about it. This part has to be defected.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #205

Jun 112014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 19,900 miles
My vehicle has a faulty electrical start up system and fuel pump system the battery on this vehicle was replaced and the starter was replaced as well and the vehicle still is experiencing the same problems. I took the vehicle to be serviced at a mechanic shop and the vehicle worked perfectly fine for the mechanic at the time and they were unable to make any repairs because the vehicle didn't perform the issue in front of the mechanic. The issue has been going on since June of 2014 and it randomly wont start at all and then its starts hours and hours later. I have spent hundreds of dollars replacing parts on this car that deal with starting issues and still this car is experiencing the same difficulties. I have been stranded numerous places with this vehicle refusing to start. I am aware that this vehicle has a recall out for key ignition electrical switch and fuel pump pressure all of which fit the problems my vehicle is experiencing the recall that is available to my vehicle doesn't include either one of these and I personally feel it should include these because multiple mechanics who have inspected the car have confirmed these are the issues this car is experiencing I don't have hundreds of dollars to keep installing and making repairs on this car only to have it keep breaking down I am in need of assistance to figure out if I can get this vehicle under the other recalls as well please and thank you.

- Daytona Beach , FL, USA

problem #204

Feb 022015

Impala

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice issues. The consumer stated because GM did not address the issue in a timely manner, the work on his vehicle had to be performed prior to the recall announcement. Recall # 14V40000

- Haslett, MI, USA

problem #203

Jun 012005

Impala

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 35 mph, the key dislodged from the ignition without cause and the vehicle continued to operate. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but there was no known diagnosis. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) and the keys were replaced. The contact stated that the replacement keys were difficult to operate. The vehicle was returned to the dealer, but the contact was not able to provide the details of the diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fayetville, NC, USA

problem #202

Jan 142015

Impala

  • 34,600 miles
The car ignition suddenly shut off and the power steering and brakes failed on a steep grade. (the ignition recall had previously been performed on the vehicle, and the key fob had been reworked so it shouldn't have been a ignition issue). The transmission was shifted into neutral and the car restarted (while still coasting down the hill) to regain control, this was repeated numerous times until a safe place to pull off was reached. This grade was extremely steep, the road had switchbacks, cliffs, and no guardrail, it was a miracle no one was injured or killed. This same vehicle had just had a duplicate problem and was repaired at the dealership in July, less that 1000 miles prior to this current event. The dealer in July replaced the mas sensor and the battery as they said the mas was corroded and needed to be replaced. This current event was caused by the map sensor and the main computer according to the dealer.

- Kihei, HI, USA

problem #201

Dec 012014

Impala

  • 184,471 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 184,471.

- Milledgeville, GA, USA

problem #200

Jan 012015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer states car was totaled in an accident and no longer owns the car. Requests no more recall notices.

- Sheboygan, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?