Print this page

7.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$210
Average Mileage:
32,950 miles
Total Complaints:
33 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. replaced battery (8 reports)
  3. replace battery and alternator (2 reports)
  4. replaced bcm module (body control module) (2 reports)
  5. replaced battery & reprogrammed body control module (1 reports)
  6. replaced ubec module (1 reports)
2007 Chevrolet Silverado electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Silverado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Oct 052015

Silverado

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dead battery 5 times per year since new. Dealer cannot fix. Nobody can help. Do not buy a Chevy Silverado, burns oil. All this started at about 10,000 miles.

- Jeremy E., Alexandria, MN, USA

problem #32

Dec 052013

Silverado LTS 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I have had this problem with my 2009 Silverado since I purchased it used with about 36000 miles on it. The battery won't have enough power to start the truck. Original battery was replaced last year but the problem persists.

What I have figured out is it seems that the CD changer is powering up with the ignition off and keeps cycling like it is changing discs even with none in it.The problem seems to be more prevalent in cold weather. I've talked to two service managers at two different dealerships that either have never heard of such a thing, or, want to change the whole radio out with no guarantee that it would solve the problem.

Anybody come up against a similar problem that has a solution? It's interesting that I had a 2008 that I was experiencing the same problem with before I traded it in on the present vehicle.

- Russell S., Boulder, WY, USA

problem #31

Jul 222012

Silverado LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

This happened in 2010 also. I noticed that the factory CD player was shuffling through the CD's, I took it in and had the original battery checked and was told one of the cells was dead so I purchased a new Duralast Gold in Mar. 2011 and the problem was resolved until today the CD Player was shuffling with no CD's in it so I turned the vehicle off, locked it, and tried to use the remote 20 minutes later to unlock it. No deal used the key to unlock,no dome light or juice at all, raised the hood to check cables and belts and five minutes later the horn starts going off so I used the remote to kill the horn then started the vehicle and sped home. I've seen a few complaints of this happening on here, probably should have listed this back in 2010 as I'm beginning to believe this is not isolated incidents so I'll be taking it back in to have them look at it again.

Update from Aug 3, 2012: Have the extended warranty that expires in Sept 2012...Chevy Dealer said bad radio...its covered with 100.00 deductable..Ok fix it...picked it up and on the way home all the door locks started locking & unlocking..losing power..gages are flipping all over the place...turned around back to the dealer....a day later..was told it was weak voltage from fuel pump and some cable was bad. Installed Module Kit 03107-CT & Fuse 08965-BOPCKT & Cable 02342-CT total was 365.00 on extended warranty...drove home fine...turned the ignition over once the next morning & nothing..turned it again it started..went and had he battery checked was told bad battery its under warranty so it was replaced...no problems yet..its only been a few days though....hope this whole scenario is the fix and something is not staying awake draining the Battery.

Update from Sep 10, 2012: CD's started shuffling again on the 27th & 28th of August, dropped it off on the 29th of August at the Dealer and they still have it...went to say Hi on the 7th of Sept. and it was out back all by itself...probably more to come.

Chevrolet Wake Up!!

- mikal, Syracuse, UT, USA

problem #30

Aug 032009

Silverado 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

on 12/31/2011 battery dead again for the second times in four years I am going to sell the truck and buying a FORD

- Faris N., Phoneix, AZ, USA

problem #29

Apr 152011

Silverado LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

kept jumpstarting this battery, even if you listened to the radio for 5 minutes... chevy put's a 600cc AC delco in this series of truck. even though the truck comes seriously loaded... I pulled the low CC. battery, and installed a 900cc Interstate, and no more problems... I did have the DELCO tested at dealer,and partsource... with no falt found... so I tok it to work to load test it myself, and upon shaking the DELCO under load it dropped to dead... thus a faulty plate grounding out!!!! evrybody, loose the low /quality battery and put in a higher colcranker of your choice and become happy!!!!!!!

- ervdog, Cambridge, Ontario, canada

problem #28

Dec 292011

Silverado

  • 33,000 miles

OK its several years later after replacing the bcm and I get in the truck this morning and it was dead. We'll see how long I can go before this happens again.

- thomcat2222, 1311 Green Rich Drive, LA, USA

problem #27

Nov 092011

Silverado LT 6.6L Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Still not fixed. It did it again today 11/27/11 Also 4000 miles bad battery and GM dealer said it was not covered under my 100,000 mile warranty at that time only had the truck 11 months.

- power1one, Alexandria Bay, NY, USA

problem #26

Oct 012007

Silverado

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

First time the battery was dead was four months after the new 2007 Silverado was purchased. The dealer replaced the battery. The second time a year and half later the battery was dead. The truck had to be pulled in and the dealer replaced the battery again. The third time March 11 2011, the battery went dead the truck had to be pulled in to the dealer AGAIN and I had to pay 175.00 for the tow and the battery. The dealer claimed the battery was not covered under the warranty. NOW THE FOURTH TIME, Sept 2011, THE BATTERY HAS GONE DEAD AGAIN AND I PUT IT ON A FIVE HOUR CHARGE AND IT HAS BEEN OK FOR TWO WEEKS. Waiting for it to happen again.

US Veteran. First new car. Bought new American Made Chevy and paid cash with retirement money.

- Richard F., SpringCity, TN, USA

problem #25

Nov 012010

Silverado LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

Battery has gone dead 5 times now , battery and charging system checked all good. I have noticed with everything off I have found my CD 6 disc player shuffeling thru the discs on its own, so have unloaded it shut it off when exiting my truck and hope that will solve this problem

- Bruce G., Plaistow, NH, USA

problem #24

Dec 302010

Silverado LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,122 miles

In just over two years I had a reoccurance of the failed battery problem. I had to have the vehicle jumpstarted using a motor club service to get home after sitting in the cold parking lot for about 1.5 hours.

Dealer says battery dead but not covered under warranty since it was a warranty replacement. I refused to buy another crappy GM battery if they don't last longer than that and so purchased one at Sears instead for $174.

The alternator was replaced by the dealer under my $200 deductible extended warranty.

I complained to GM and got a one year certificate for oil changes. I am not happy with that but it beats nothing. I am concerned it will occur again and po'd that I had to buy a battery and cough up the extended warranty deduction for a reoccurring problem.

Now I am nervous about going anywhere lest I get stranded again!

- aggiebill, Denton, TX, USA

problem #23

Sep 202008

Silverado LTZ 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,399 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to get a jump start on my truck 3 times to get home prior to it dying in my driveway. I complained to the dealership and they said to call them the next time and dont jump the truck so it can be tested with the failed condition. So, when it wouldnt start in my driveway I called and they picked it up. Diagnosis, the battery was dead and replace the battery, everything else tested okay.

- aggiebill, Denton, TX, USA

problem #22

Dec 232008

Silverado LE 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

the battery has been replaced two times .I have had to jump start it twice since.It burns oil one quart every 1000 mi front tires are bald at 36000 miles and the trim is falling off the door

- wightca, San Jose, CA, USA

problem #21

Nov 012010

Silverado LT 5.3L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

I had the dead battery problem for a few months in my 2007 Silverado and had been searching for an answer. Was left stranded a few times and I purchased a portable jump starter that was a good temporary fix. A trip to Firestone to check the charging system after one episode revealed no problems. Finally reached the max frustration point and ran across this GM-Trucks forum. I saw that Body Control Reprogram 07033 might be possible solution so took vehicle in. Was just out of 36-month basic warranty but shop replaced battery with dead cell and reprogrammed module at no charge as I had paperwork showing that I had looked into problem before warranty expired. All has been good for 2 weeks now. I have been receiving monthly Onstar reports since 2007, and there was no mention of a recall. I pointed this out to the shop and that may have softened them also, as they were ready to charge $. Seems like Onstar report system would be the best place to receive recall info but perhaps has some holes.

- pcharles, Waianae, HI, USA

problem #20

Jan 242011

Silverado LT 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

For 3 years now, I've had my 2007 Silverado's battery dead.I mean completely DEAD! My battery tester shows .3 volts. Won't even unlock the doors. This last time I took the battery to Auto Zone, who charged the battery to 100%. The next morning, 7 hours later, I tested the battery with my Schumacher tester and it was at 56%. I charged it up and drove it to the Dealer who said once again "NTF". This has happened 8-10 times. Each time my country dealer says NTF. No trouble found.I've been a loyal GM owner for 30 years, but no more. I've had enough. Ford, here I come.

- skiuaw, Kemp, TX, USA

problem #19

Jan 192011

Silverado LT 4.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,108 miles

For the 4th time in the last 6 months I've had a dead battery in the morning trying to get to work (yes late again). I can jump the battery and it starts just fine all gauges are ok. Battery has checked out ok. Naturally the dealership has never ran into this problem. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

- donmontgomery, Wadesville, IN, USA

problem #18

Oct 152008

Silverado HD Duramax 6.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

Had it to the dealer 5 times and they cant find the problem and are trying to blame my radar detector because it is wired direct, but this is my fourth vehicle I've owned (also wired direct) since i purchased the radar detector and never had this problem, even if it sat for days. I went ahead and pulled the radar detector out and it made no difference at all, It might start first thing in the morning, I let it run and shut it off and thirty minutes later its dead. You can drive it for two hours then the battery light will come on for no reason. If Chevy doesn't fix this i will never purchase another GM product.

- wamwam@10, Rawlins, WY, USA

problem #17

Oct 202009

Silverado 6.0L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

For a while the battery would always go dead. Since I was busy with work, I had to install my wife's solar panel just to have the truck turn over. This worked for about 2 months, when in the morning I came out and nothing.... Vehicle was towed to the dealer and the battery was promptly replaced in 8 hours while I waited at the dealership watching TV.

Although this problem was resolved, the oil consumption in the vehicle is still a problem.

Update from Jan 31, 2011: The vechicle now has 40K and the battery is only a year old. Same problem as before, car goes dead. After jump starting the battery, drove the truck down to the dealership for a replacement. However, now my warranty is over and the battery can not be replaced even though the AC Delco battery is warrantied for 30 months or 6 years. Reason: I did not purchase this battery, it was replaced under warranty.

Seams a lot of other truck owners are having the same problem with their trucks, check it out on http://chevroletforum.com and search for AC Battery.

Really frustrated with the lack of customer service, the run arounds and plain and simple poor quality car Chevy has produced... Stay way and purchase a Tundra....

Update from Mar 29, 2011: At 40K the battery that was just replaced in less then 15 months go dead again. Since work is not as busy as it could be, I went to the dealership again to have the battery replaced under it's own warranty (35 months or something like that) since the car is out of warranty now. However, I was told by the dealership that this battery does not have a warranty since it was replaced under warranty. This makes no sense to me and with the oil comsumption that I have been having that is considered "normal", you have to ask yourself before purchasing a GM product is it worth the money? Buy a Honda/Toyota....

Went to Advance Auto Parts and purchased their battery for something like $150.

- fijioehler, Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #16

May 102010

Silverado LTZ V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

I've had to call Roadside Assistance five times now to jump start my '07 Chevy Silverado. Each time I've gone out in the morning....no power. I've taken it to the dealer repeatedly but they keep telling me they cannot find the problem....where the draw on the battery is coming from. This last time they had it for six days waiting for it to go dead, but it did not. The time before they had it for two days, I brought it home and two days later it was dead again, called Roadside Assistance, they jumped it, two days later it was dead again. I'm faced with living with this, because the dealer keeps telling me they can't find the problem and will not replace the BCM unless they can find the problem.

Update from Aug 2, 2010: The problem turned out to be the PCB relay for the third brake light located internally in the UBEC module. The dealer replaced the UBEC module. If I hadn't noticed the third brake light staying on.....after turning off the ignition and watching to make sure the interior lights went out....the problem would have continued because the dealer could not get a read on where the drain was coming from. Thank goodness it was still under warranty, because I saw the UBEC module and it looks like a big computer circuit board!

- Laura G., Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #15

Sep 292009

Silverado 1500 LS 4.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,853 miles

2007 Silverado , battery going dead. Have had to dealer twice and now will be the third time. Dealer says bad battery, I had them replaced 2 times already. Got up this morning and battery dead again. Looks like this is common problem with these vehicles, Had anyone gotten problem resolved yet?

- bday, Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #14

Sep 222009

Silverado LTZ 5.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

The battery has gone flat 5 times. I re-charged the battery four times, but once it had to be towed to the dealer. The dealer currently has the truck trying to diagnose the problem. They have never been able to locate the problem. Today, I will be turning in the rental car they gave me (yesterday) and picking up the truck. Then, I plan to drive it across town to the Toyota dealer and trade if for a Tundra. This is the most unreliable vehicle I've ever owned.

- beaverfood, Carmel, ME, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?