2012 Ford Escape AC / heater problems: ac not working

Ac Not Working

2012 Ford Escape (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Ford Escape has an acceptable complaint history so far, with leaking rear window problems showing up as the main concern so far. NHTSA complaint data shows an early pattern of problems with stalling while driving.

Another concern is the 2012 Escape rolled onto its roof during an NHTSA side impact test so it only received a marginal side impact rating ... not good.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,220
Average Mileage:
58,900 miles
Total Complaints:
27 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (12 reports)
  2. replace A/C components, system recharge (12 reports)
  3. add freon (1 reports)
  4. connect A/C machine, install freon and check system for leak (1 reports)
  5. replace accumulator and resistor (1 reports)
2012 Ford Escape AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

May 072019

Escape LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,325 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I HAVE TWIN FORD ESCAPES 2012 FOR MY WIFE AND I AND BOTH AC'S DIED /STARTED BLOWING HOT AIR LAST WEEK (DIFFERENT DAYS APART).. WE ALWAYS WERE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE AC BEFORE. ALWAYS RECHARGING, WORKS FINE A FEW DAYS, THEN BAD AGAIN. PLUS BOTH CARS ONLY AC TEMPERATURE KNOB WORKS ON 3 AND 4 LEVEL. THEY ROLL DICE AT THE MECHANIC AND COSTS WILL BE AROUND $1600. OBVIOUSLY NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FOR THIS.

- Frankel B., Groveland, US

problem #26

Aug 242018

Escape XLT 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

click to see larger images

ac not working ac not working

I bought this car brand new in 2012. This is the 3rd time I have have the entire A/C system rebuilt in this car. This time the condenser exploded and sent parts into my engine block. Ford basically said too bad. I had the whole system rebuilt in 05/16/2014 at 19,990 mi and again in 03/19/2015 at 26,147 mi. Absolutely asinine that Ford refuses to acknowledge this is a significant problem. The 1st time was covered under warranty, the second time they covered a portion this time they covered nothing! This will absolutely be my last Ford!

- allys1321al, Worcester, US

problem #25

Apr 232018

Escape 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

I have had my Ford Escape to the repair shop 7 or 8 times now for the AC. It has cost $300 dollars and is not working again. The system only blows hot air. It is charged because that is the first thing the shop did was recharge the system. When it quit the next time they checked for leaks and finding none went further with diagnosis. Got it working again. Gave it back and guess what... it quit again. Back to the shop we go and more diagnosis and money and once again after flushing out the low side they get it working again and give it back. Now it works for several days and yep, it was 95 yesterday and it quit again.

This is stupid as the car only has 53,000 miles and it and you can not possibly be comfortable in it. When it is 95 with high humidity I expect the AC to work on a fairly new vehicle. Looking to replace this one and for the first time in along time I will not be looking at a Ford. This is my third Escape and I am done.

This should be a recall or the customer should be warned that this problem can and probably will occur. I believe it is probably the receiver drier that has failed and the cost of having that fixed if it is through the whole system is very expensive. Just not acceptable.

Come on Ford, get your act together and stand behind what you make.

- Denise H., Muskegon, MI, US

problem #24

Jun 152018

Escape XLT 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought this in Feb of 2018. Suddenly in hot June the ac unit dies on me. ONLY 27,000 miles on it! So I'm told by Ford mechanic they are famous for going dead...oh how super. Recharging it won't help you. It ALL needs replaced, filter..resistor, accumulator. I've got an extended warranty but not everything is covered.

- tiger5230, Cattaraugus, NY, US

problem #23

Apr 122018

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Just bought the car. Air was working fine, then it just went out. We added freon, it got cold for 15 minutes and it went out again.

- Shytell H., Matteson, US

problem #22

Jun 032017

Escape XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

To begin with we changed out the compressor, relay, and sensor. We left garage, this was late fall this year 2018, got in the car and guess what? AC not working, blowing hot air. Called garage, they can't understand it. So we searched it on internet to see other people are having this problem. Called Ford and guess what? They state there hasn't been enough reported to investigate the issue. REALLY? I see a lot of people on here over years stating the same issue. So my question to FORD is how much more money are we to sink into a AC unit for it to work or even be right again? This is crazy! If there is a problem and a problem with a lot of them and other garages are saying it is unusual, don't you think you would fix it or at least call it a recall? I will NEVER NEVER buy any FORD again.

- ahull, South Royalton, US

problem #21

Aug 172016

Escape XLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A/C died, could not find the problem, recharge not effective and it would come on/off at random times. Took it in 3 separate times in the year, it was charged, no mechanical issues found, no leaks, finally replaced a hose and again recharged it and it held ever since.

- Renee T., Belleville, US

problem #20

Jul 012013

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I bought my 2012 Escape used in Feb 2013, by the summer I had it to the dealer with the A/C problem. They had it for a few days, said it was fixed and I went on my way. Now, this was in the fall and I did not need the A/C until the following year. It happened again, but I did not take the car back that year. In 2015 I took it back again with the same issue, and then again in 2016, and 112 times in 2017. Finally a service manager said, "why does this keep coming back". Great question! No answer from anyone. I tried to get in touch with Ford directly, but they basically told me TOO BAD! I don't know what to do at this point. My dealer want $900.00 to fix a problem they can't fix! Does that make sense. I just want someone to let me know if it is fixable or not. Should it be recalled because of this? Thanks for letting me vent.

- mimijan, Bristol, US

problem #19

Jul 052017

Escape XLT 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Air conditioning only slightly cools. Took to Air Conditioning mechaic in New Palestine he added a little freon - problem still exists.

- kwoods_kwkw, Greenfield, US

problem #18

Aug 202017

Escape 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

About 6 weeks ago had to have resistor for AC replaced, air worked great after this, then for no reason got in car on Sun 8/20/2017 and no air, blowing on all settings of fan but only blowing hot air. Have appt to get it checked out so unsure what it is but only about 50000 miles should not be having problems! Hoping Ford eventually admits there is a problem and reimburses all of us.

- Susan D., Windsor, US

problem #17

Jun 062017

Escape Limited 3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,995 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I for one did not either time ASK the mechanic to install anything. I asked if he could check out my car and tell me why the air was not working. He suggested that by adding Freon and checking it on the AC machine, it should take care of the problem. The air was not working a few days before when I stopped in and he was busy so I said I would bring it back. It was cool outside the day I brought it back so of course it was fine before he checked it out. There is a damn problem if it only works when it is cool outside!

Update from Jun 11, 2017: It is now 5 days later and the 1st time I need the AC, it works for 1/4 of a mile then quits! I now have 23081.2 miles on my car! Bull Crap!

Update from Jun 11, 2017: I added the second comment about 5 days later because I was putting in the tenth of a mile of my mileage and could not do a third complaint. I have figured it out and added the third one now.

- Susan D., Oxford, MI, US

problem #16

May 182017

Escape LT 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,115 miles

2012 Ford Escape LT, bought off lease in late 2014 with 27,500 miles. Nice vehicle, no real problems for 2+ years. THEN my wife said A/C is blowing HOT? My mechanic, good guy told me bad news, compressor junk. He bought a kit with a lot of new parts, works great again, C'mon though, 5 year old ride, approx. 65,000 miles seems premature. Ok, this website is great!

- Jeff S., Oconomowoc, WI, US

problem #15

Jun 202016

Escape Limited 3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,173 miles

It was very annoying because the car had such low mileage.

- Susan D., Oxford, MI, US

problem #14

Jun 112017

Escape Limited 3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,081 miles

This is more than the third time that the air conditioner isn't working. The annoying thing is, I just took it in for the same problem 5 days ago and they said it should be good. Is it time for the Lemon Law or does it just not matter and the little guy has to get burnt?

- Susan D., Oxford, MI, US

problem #13

May 012016

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,999 miles

AC started blowing hot air. Fan will not cut off. At 50,000 miles. Bullshit. Mechanic says he's seen it 30-35 times but Ford won't recall.

- Kenneth L., Tinley Park, IL, US

problem #12

Jun 012016

Escape LS 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Air conditioner blowing hot air. Had the condenser replaced, for $586.00., worked for a while. started blowing hot air again, took it back., they said it was building pressure., They did something and it worked for a couple weeks. have had it back to shop 3 times. Now the say this is a problem with Ford escapes.I live in Florida its 85 degrees and the thing is not working again.

- cfichera, Estero, FL, US

problem #11

Sep 142016

Escape EXL 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

Had problem with the A/C from the first week I bought it . The A/C would cool for a while and all of a sudden start blowing heat. I took it to the service manager to let him see the problem. He took it in the next morning and it cooled for a while , about a week. I took it back again and they charged me 184.00 dollars, it was working . however it started all over again about 3 weeks later. I drove the car to the new service manager and she wanted to charge me again. Any suggestions ?

- aande64010, Richmond, VA, US

problem #10

Jul 012016

Escape LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,785 miles

Dear Ford I understand that now beside having recalls that you pay to fix the issue, you now have "service bulletins" that tells us you know there is an issue but your not going to pay to fix the issue???? What the hell is that? The service bulletin tells us that water is going to leak into the ac unit and it is going to fail but your not willing to stand up and say hey we screwed up and will fix it? Hey ford way to pass the buck

- melissain, Huntington, IN, US

problem #9

May 202015

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

AC started blowing hot air. They recharge it and it works for 15 minutes and stops and starts running high pressure. After a $250 fix for 15 minutes, now they say it's clogged and 1300 bucks to fix. At 50,000 miles. Bullshit. Mechanic says he's seen it 30-35 times but Ford won't recall.

- Tim N., Lucas, OH, US

problem #8

May 242016

Escape XLT 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,100 miles

In January 2016 the fan on my 2012 Ford Escape stopped working with only 27,000 miles on it, took it to the dealership. Of course the warranty is expired. they replaced the Resistor and it worked fine after that.

Yesterday, the air conditioning stopped working. I now have 29,100 miles on it. Blows hot air, not cold at all! Had a friend check the Freon level and it is running extremely high. Taking it to dealership today

- heft4545, Monroe, MI, US

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?