6.0

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
9,000 miles
Total Complaints:
7 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (2 reports)
  2. replace electronic throttle body (2 reports)
  3. corrected pinched wires, connector repositioned (1 reports)
  4. electronic throttle body (1 reports)
  5. replace purge valve (1 reports)
2016 Ford Explorer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Ford Explorer Owner Comments

problem #7

Oct 032016

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

wrench light, engine light and airbag light came on all at once. Lost immediate power. Luckily able to get off the highway in the evening to avoid a potential wreck. Car would not move, called AAA had car towed to dealer. Have not heard about a fix yet. It appears this has happened to many others. Shame on Ford - they need a recall before someone gets killed.

- Michael M., Washington, IA, US

problem #6

Aug 062016

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,250 miles

You know what they say about Ford, well I didn't, at least not until today. FORD found on road dead. How can one argue that point. I have a 2016 Ford XLT with 10,250 miles. After my 2nd oil change and tire rotation at Sayville Ford in Suffolk County Long Island I was driving just minding my business when all of a sudden the wrench and the check engine light came on. All I could do was coast then once the momentum stop I was able to go about 3 mph. Thanks FORD.

After a call to the Ford help people they say they can send a tow truck but the wait is about 90 mins. So I waited on the side of the road, turned off the engine then turned it back on. It struggled to turn on but when it did the wrench was gone. The check engine light was on but I was able to drive it home. So I made an appointment for the tow truck to come pick it up on Monday August 8th and take it to Hassett Ford in Wantagh. After reading similar stories on this and other forums I am guessing if there isn't a recall. There probably should be before someone dies in a motor vehicle accidents due to this issue which they're saying might be the throttle body. Ford if your listening please do the right thing.

Harold

guads100k@aol.com

Update from Aug 8, 2016: My vehicle was towed to Hassett Ford in Wantagh , where I saw that the place was packed. No room in the lot for vehicles. I was checked in and i explained that i was driving and then i got the check engine and the wrench. I also said i wanted to wait for a diagnosis and could they provide a loaner if it was going to be more than 1 day. Well they told me i cant wait and it could take a day or two but they would drop me off at home. I said that was unacceptable , please let me speak with the manager. I spoke with Bob Pace, manager on duty. very cold, didnt care to hear me out and said "see all these tickets, what gives you special treatment, we will call you in a day or two. What a freakin looser. Could care less about customer service. I immediately got on the phone and called Ford corporate and after a a back and forth I told them I want to go somewhere else can you call Sayville ford which was 15 miles away. They did and i took my car off that line and drove with my check engine light the 15 miles to Sayville ford. I was just there for an oil change. They immediately took me in and within 1 hour I was done. New electronic throttle body unit and a car wash, Talk about excellent customer service. So i highly recommend Sayville ford on sunrise highway in Suffolk county and Hassett ford of wantagh kiss my **s. Bob Pace the manager is a looser.

- Harold G., massapequa, NY, US

problem #5

Jul 092016

Explorer XLT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,400 miles

I leased my 2016 Ford Explorer XLT in August on 2015. On Saturday, July 9, 2016, with only around 8,400 miles on the vehicle, it shimmied, stopped, had no acceleration/power, and the wrench light came on while I was on a busy street in my city. (50 MPH speed limit). I "limped" home and called a tow truck to have it towed to my local Ford dealership. I was told by the service technician based on the "symptoms" I told him that it was the Electronic throttle body and that they've have A LOT of 2016 Explorers come in with the same exact problem and that Ford is aware of the problem. Really? Ford is aware of the problem but refuses to issue a recall!!! Guess it's all about the almighty dollar to them.

I thank God this happened to me on a Saturday afternoon and not during the week when I'm on busy Los Angeles freeways! Someone is going to be seriously hurt or killed (If it hasn't happened already) because of this throttle body issue. Luckily the dealership already had the part in stock and hopefully fixed the issue/ THEN- on August 4, 2016, I go to start the Explorer to head to work when it hesitated to start. All screens and dash were black, then I get a "blind spot fault" warning and "cross traffic fault" warning. So, I turned the engine off and then on again and it appeared all systems were go. ALSO, my USB and power ports have been without power for about the last 3 weeks.

I'm literally scared to drive this thing. Every time I get in it, I wonder if it's going to break down on me again (and where) and what the problem will be now. I WILL NEVER, LEASE OR PURCHASE A FORD PRODUCT AGAIN. Honest to God. Never again. Ford is putting EVERY person driving/riding in the 2016 Explorers lives at risk and they don't give a flying f*&k about you or me.

Update from Sep 27, 2016: UPDATE 09/23/16- The Explorer is now at my local Ford dealership to repair bad sensors on the transmission! So, they're going to have it for a week and have to take the bottom half of the transmission off to replace the sensors. Seriously, THIS IS THE WORST VEHICLE EVER!!!! I will NEVER lease or purchase a Ford again. For the amount I pay on this thing every month it should be working with absolutely NO problems. Does Ford even quality control their vehicles?! First the electronic throttle body failed and now sensors on the transmission failed. I HAVE A LEMON ON MY HANDS and I've only had it for 13 months!!!!!

- stuck with a p.o.s, Santa Clarita, CA, US

problem #4

Jul 022016

Explorer Platinum 2.3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle is a 2016 Ford Explorer Platinum, Check Engine light came on today Sunday July 3, 2016 and dealers all appear to be closed on Sunday and Monday July 4, from the number of complaints and mileage this is going to be a throttle body failure and a long wait for a replacement part that may be a reoccurring problem. With the number of recorded complaints as well as potential loss of power safety issues this should be a mandatory safety recall.

Update from Jul 6, 2016: Knock sensor wires pinched, connector repositioned and insulation added.

Codes cleared from ECU.

- Robert S., Lexington, SC, US

problem #3

May 292016

Explorer Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

I was in Memorial Day busy holiday traffic when I lost all power. The gas pedal was like it went dead, no fuel and was in traffic on a hill that I barely made it up. Traffic was backed up and I couldnt get to a safe place to even get it off the road. When I did get if off the road and turned the vehicle off and restarted, it acted like it was running fine. Then it did the same thing two more times and I was able to finally get it to a gas station and called Ford roadside assistance and it had to be towed. I waited two hours on the tow truck. This should not be happening with a brand new vehicle. Reading on here, it is obviously a problem with Ford. Not leaving a good taste in my mouth that they are aware of a problem that is stranding their motorists in dangerous situations.

- Renee M., Hamilton, OH, US

problem #2

May 142016

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,100 miles

I was driving on I-26 last night going to meet my son when, I felt a slight jerk and then the wrench light appeared and the Check engine light also came up. I was lucky that I had my cruise control set to 69 mph because I could no longer accelerate once the this happened. I was close to my exit so I just coasted off the interstate and was lucky enough to catch a green light and turned and made it to a side road. I have had this vehicle since Nov. 2015 and this is the 2nd issue that I have experienced. (First one is cosmetic issue with the dash bubbling). I immediately ran and "vehicle health report" and it shows 2 issues:

1) ENGINE, TRANSMISSION, & EMISSIONS (urgent service required) 2) RESTRAINTS & DRIVER ASSISTANCE

Not what I want to see with a vehicle that is 6 months old

I really like this new Explorer, but I cannot say that I am a satisfied owner at this point. The really bad part is that this happened on a Saturday night and the dealership will not open until Mon. and now have to make arrangements to get there and hopefully they provide me with a loaner. Road side assistance was helpful.

Update from May 16, 2016: So...I get to the Ford dealership this morning and I am told that it is a throttle body issue. 2- 4 weeks for part that is on back order. Talking to one of the service guys, he proceeds to tell me that this is the 5th or 6th one in the last week or two that has come in with this issue. Not what I was wanting to hear, especially with a new 2016 vehicle.
Now I am stuck with a little fiesta as a loaner.

- sbaillync, Hendersonville, NC, US

problem #1

Mar 172016

Explorer Sport Eco Boost

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

This is Some BullShit that after 8 months the engine light came on. You don't expect to have any problems with a Brand New Car for a few years. smdh. My next car will probably be a Foreign One.

- i.w., Bronx, NY, US

Not what you are looking for?