2010 Honda Accord brakes problems: premature brake wear

Premature Brake Wear

2010 Honda Accord (Page 1 of 6)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2010 Honda Accord some several significant flaws: excessive oil consumption, premature brake wear, & uncomfortable seats.

In October 2013, Honda settled a class action for excessive oil consumption which extends their V6 powertrain warranty out to 8 years & no mileage limit. However, is the inconvenience & risk of dealing with Honda on this problem worth it? We don't think so.

Premature brake wear has been a consistent problem for this Accord generation. Once again Honda settled a class action lawsuit over brake wear, but most 2010 Accords are NOT covered.

Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Unwary buyers report the seat pain is mainly only noticeable after 15-20 minutes. The common theme we hear is "never noticed this during the test drive."

7.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$270
Average Mileage:
32,000 miles
Total Complaints:
104 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. front brakes almost new, back brakes need to be replaced (37 reports)
  2. the only solution is replacing the pads at your own expense (17 reports)
  3. not sure (16 reports)
  4. replace pads (10 reports)
  5. replace pads and rotors (9 reports)
  6. front bakes almost new, back brakes need to be replaced (7 reports)
2010 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #104

Oct 312015

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the car used with 89,000 in 08/15, needed rear brakes in October, mechanic said fronts were fine. They were like new.

- Francis S., Omaha, US

problem #103

May 072019

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,900 miles

Bought the car in 8/15, then 10/15 had to have rear brakes done at 90,000 miles, fronts were like new. I now have 120,900 miles, rear brakes and rotors worn out, but front brakes like new? Will find out from dealer when front brakes were done for first owner. Very, Very concerned that the brakes are not functioning correctly, my college son drives this car. seeing many complaints online.

- Francis S., Omaha, US

problem #102

Jul 062017

Accord LX 177hp 2.4L Dohc 16 valve

  • Manual transmission
  • 145,777 miles

The brake pads and rotors have had to be replaced every year for the last three years. July 2015 at 112,849 miles, again June 2016 at 128,151 miles and just today again July 2017 at 145,777 miles.

The brakes used to last 30K to 40K miles now I am getting 15K to 17K miles. Very premature wearing of the brakes. Every time I have to have them replaced it runs me $200 - $300.

- Roberta M., Port Jervis, US

problem #101

Jun 242015

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I knew it was odd when the first time I had to replace the rear pads at under 25000 miles... just this weekend, I discover that the rear left sensor is already going off. Upon searching on the web, I discover this site and some settlement of class action lawsuits with Honda. I believe my car is part of this group...

- Justin T., Alhambra, CA, US

problem #100

Sep 092014

Accord EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,318 miles

Car was bought 2 years old, brakes started to make a scratching noise in 2014 and got progressively worse. We brought it to the Honda dealer where we bought the car, they sucked us in and made us pay over $1,000 for new brakes, rotors, calipers etc. April 2016 the car was started one morning, immediately the noise I heard in 2014 I heard again but much worse. The noise happened when the car was idling. We brought the car to a local mechanic, this mechanic told me I needed new brakes, rotors, calipers etc. The same problem that I had in 2014. The dealer knew about these Honda's having a brake issue, wondering why my dealer did not mention this. This was a known problem to Honda. They sold me a Lemon. This shouldn't have happened

- adevlin, Tyngsboro, MA, US

problem #99

Mar 182015

Accord LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,037 miles

On 3/18/15 I took our 2010 Honda Accord with 28,037 miles to Suburban Honda in Farmington Hills,Mi for a oil change,The service manager notified me that the driver side rear pads have worn out to the point of wearing out the rotor beyond turning to repair,and I need a new caliper that as we know must be replaced in pairs.

His price for repairs was $1027.60 + Tax =$1089.26

I took the vehicle to my neighborhood auto repair facility and had all new pads,rotors and calipers replaced for $650.04

This costly expense at this low Mileage of a brand new vehicle is completely unacceptable,how many other trusting customers bought this vehicle and had the same or similar rear brake fail as well.

At the least Honda should reimburse us for all of the repairs.

- Sean H., Novi, MI, US

problem #98

Dec 302011

Accord LX-P 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Original rear brake pads wore very unevenly and one of the pads was down to the wear indicator at about 47K miles. I replaced the rear pads with organic pads. I ended up replacing pads again at about 100K miles, after hearing wear indicator rub again. I installed ceramic pads this last time and hope the ceramics will last longer. I was sure to lube the pad clips with hi-temp grease to hopefully help the pad smoothly slide when braking. Rear rotors not in bad shape and have not machined them yet.

- John R., Fayetteville, NC, US

problem #97

Jul 062015

Accord EXL 4c

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,254 miles

So, my car is out of warranty, yet under 31K miles and the sounds that just started coming from my brakes stop people in their tracks! I first noticed it when I came to a stop light and happened to have my window down a bit. I thought the car next to me (which looked like a 1980's model beater) was making the noise. Then it happened at the next light, and the next. I stopped and looked but there is no rock stuck in there or any visible wear on the rotors. Yet it sounds like 10,000 hawks diving on prey at every tap of the brake pedal now on my car. Dreading taking it into the shop as I am sure it will be the typical "Oh, you need pads. rotors, U-joints, tie-rods, front and rear suspension and a new engine in that puppy!" Thousands of dollars later I will have my car back with pads that wear out within another 25K?

Should I just trade it in?

- Paul B., Seattle, WA, US

problem #96

Jan 282013

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,752 miles

Upon a routine inspection of all four set of brake pads, the rear pad were worn to a level requiring replacement. Very suspicious as historically front pads are changed at 35-50K miles and rear pads last at least twice as long. I changed the pads using Duralast Gold pads from Autozone, with which I had been very satisfied when utilized on my other vehicles.

I still have the OEM pads that were replaced.

Got more suspicious as time went on, as the vehicle now has 81K miles on it and the front pads still have at least 1/8 - 3/16 inch usable pad left! This is not right! A vehicle should get ~70% of its stopping power from the front brakes.

- hogzilla, Denver, NC, US

problem #95

Mar 202015

Accord LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,100 miles

At 24,100 miles, it's way too soon to have to replace rear brake pads and machine rear rotors. I never jam on my brakes or brake hard.

In my view, Honda's sterling image is starting to get tarnished. I have other complaints about Honda defects and lack of accessories that should be considered "standard". I would give another car manufacturer a try before buying again from Honda.

- mech engr 007, Lansdale, PA, US

problem #94

Feb 202015

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At this point, I'm done with Honda. I've bought 7 new Honda's over the last 25 years. This one is the last. It's a 2010 Honda Accord LX 4cyl Manual Transmission.

In 4 years, I've had to have the brake pads replaced once, and the entire brake system (calipers, rotors, pads) replaced once - and it drinks a quart of oil every thousand miles or so (reported separately).

(what a P.O.S.)

I'm afraid to drive the car, even with all new brakes in the rear -- because every time I pull into the garage (even after ONLY a 15 minute drive), the left rear wheel is too hot to touch (the rim, not the brake). The brake will sizzle a drop of water right off.

Frustrated with Honda and Schlossman's Honda in Wisconsin.

- Mark G., Franklin, WI, US

problem #93

Apr 042015

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,661 miles

There was a very strong grinding sound from the passenger rear when braking. My wife brought it home complaining about the noise. I drove it out of the garage and right back in again due to the significance of the noise. Upon inspection that set of rear pads had worn unevenly through the pad and had ground on the rotor.

I replaced AGAIN both sets of rear pads. Used the same Duralast Gold pads I had used to replace the OEM pads only two years and 45K miles earlier. They had lasted 10K miles longer than the OEM pads.

I did not change the rotor as my suspicions from the earlier change had been confirmed and with an extended warranty I wanted Hendrick Honda of Charlotte (Yes, that Hendrick of NASCAR fame) to do the work and pay for it.

The service manager stated that the EBD and brakes design since 1998 had changed the wear rates from 2::1 in favor of longer lasting rear pads to 2::1 in favor of longer lasting front pads. I owned a 2001 Accord which I drove for over 175K miles and its brakes behaved as I had expected...debunking the BS from the service manager.

I called two other local dealers (Honda of Concord and Priority Honda) to ask the same general question about expected brake wear. Both service advisors mentioned the EBD design having brought the wear rate more even than 2::1, but one said front pads last only about "20-30%" longer and the other said "worse case now is 50::50".

I have become aware of the class action lawsuit against Honda on this matter, but my VIN indicates I should not have the problem.

I'm going after Hendrick - further up the chain if needed - to make them pay for my two sets of rear replacement pads and the new right rear rotor now needed.

Of interest, I still have yet to replace the front OEM pads, EVEN AFTER 81K MILES. Honda has a very dangerous design flaw as the tiny rear pads are not designed to carry the preponderance of braking load from the rear, lighter weight end of the vehicle.

- hogzilla, Denver, NC, US

problem #92

Dec 292014

Accord LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,234 miles

This is the second time that I had the brakes repaired to pass the PA Inspection. The first time was just the rear pads with 37,668 miles and cost $181. This time, both calibers were leaking and the pad and rotors needed to be replaced at a cost of $754.

This is the 5th Honda that I've owned and these repairs have probably exceeded the previous 4 all together

- Jason J., Beaver, PA, US

problem #91

Oct 172014

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

6k ago replace pads and re-surface rotors with discount cost about 250,and pass 3 month I had to bring my car back to DCH Academy honda dealer in Old Bridge and they're telling me I once again have to replace the brakes, rotors and left caliper. Is that a safe car? How can you drive your kids in it if car brake will last a few months of driving? I'm not planning to buy another Honda.

- svetlana, Old Bridge, NJ, US

problem #90

Jul 012013

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Front brakes were ok, back brakes needed replaced at roughly 50k. Had a squeal coming from brakes.

- Brian B., Allen, TX, US

problem #89

Nov 042014

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,399 miles

I did not realize there was a problem. Went in to get oil change. I get online and see there is a class action lawsuit where Honda pays $150 for the repair of low performing brake pads! No mention to me as I paid the bill. Makes me furious. I was taken advantage of because I am 82 years old and female!

- Peggy H., Knoxville, TN, US

problem #88

Jul 152014

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

Rear brakes went out very early. Mind you, the REAR brakes on a front-wheel-drive car. Both pads and rotors replaced.

- docrey, Wildomar, CA, US

problem #87

Oct 132014

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

I bought a used 2010 Honda Accord from a dealership. It is a lease return vehicle so the mileage was fairly low. A very nice little car. When I put new tires on it I inspected the brakes while the wheels were off. I found that the rear brake pads were worn much more than the front. As a mechanic with training in brakes, that just didn't seem normal. After a quick net search I found out that Honda had issued a recall on 2008-2009 Accords as well as some 2010s. A week or so ago my rear brakes started squealing. Indicating that the pads need to be replaced. I went to a local dealer and they were well aware of the recall, what the complaint was, and what the solution is. They ran my V.I.N. and told me my car did not fall under the recall. That's all well and good, but here I am with the exact same problem on the exact same model...rear brakes worn out at 35,000 miles. The dealership didn't seem to care about my problem as long as it wasn't on their recall list. I can put new pads on myself but I don't know if they will last any longer than the originals without knowing why they failed in the first place.

- texastoast61, Houston, TX, US

problem #86

Aug 182014

Accord EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,500 miles

The original rear Brakes wore out at 22,500 miles I replaced them with the top of the line Wearever Platinum Premium Ceramic Brake Pads . The replacements brake needed to be replaced now after 28,000.

The original front brakes lasted almost twice as long as both sets - 47,000.

Don't the front brakes do most of the stopping?

Update from Aug 19, 2014: Fortunately I know how to change brakes on a car so I can keep the cost down to parts around $100 (brakes $50 and Rotors $50)

- Steve C., Pittsburgh, PA, US

problem #85

Jul 152014

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,110 miles

I think I was over charged and didn't have the presence of mind to react.

- Michael D., Rawlings, MD, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?