ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013-2014 Honda Accord is showing signs of an electrical problem with the starter failing soon after the 36K mile warranty expires. It's compounded by reports that the OEM battery doesn't have sufficient amps to start the V6 reliably after a year or two.

For now we are rating this problem with the "Beware" seal because it's occurring so soon after the 36K mile warranty expires. The upshot is when your Accord won't start, that's never good, but especially bad when it's just a few years old.

Also once again, owners are complaining that the 2014 Honda Accord seats are uncomfortable. Uncomfortable seats has been a significant complaint with the Accord since the 2008 model year.

8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
7,850 miles
Total Complaints:
38 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. honda should recall these seats (9 reports)
  3. seats need more padding and headrest redesign (4 reports)
  4. adjustable head restraints or bring back old headrests (3 reports)
  5. install adjustable head restraints (3 reports)
  6. solution!! traded it in for a corolla... (2 reports)
2014 Honda Accord accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Nov 222017

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a certified 2014 Accord EX in mid-November of 2017 in a hurry to replace my 2003 Accord that had catastrophic engine problems because I would be doing a lot of driving over the holidays and couldn't be without a car. What a mistake! I've had Hondas since I learned to drive, 2 Accords and 1 Civic, and none have been as horribly uncomfortable as this car. I am young and healthy with no orthopedic issues - never had back problems of any kind... until I bought this car. It takes about 30 minutes before the pain kicks in, so test drive wasn't bad because it was only about 10 minutes. The first time I drove it up to see family for Thanksgiving, a 4-hour drive, I was in agony after the first hour and actually nauseated from the severity of the back, neck and shoulder pain by the time I arrived. I dreaded getting back into the car to drive home, and endured two similar trips over Christmas time. It was extremely stressful. I've adjusted the seat every way possible, as well as tried many different ergonomic solutions like lumbar pillows, etc. Nothing helps - these are just horrible, torturous seats that need to be acknowledged by Honda and replaced. My last Accord (2003) had no such problems with the seat - they were fine for long trips. I've had this 2014 Accord for about 2 and 1/2 months, and I hate having to drive anywhere in it. I'm a frugal person who doesn't have a lot of cash and typically keeps my cars for at least 10 years. Not so with this one. I've decided to just suck it up and take the financial hit and get rid of it as soon as possible. I'll tighten my belt in other areas of life to re-save the money I'll lose. Not sure at this point what to replace it with, but looking at a lot of non-Honda options. Could be a Toyota is the solution.

- cverne, West Hollywood, US

problem #37

Jul 282017

Accord LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

click to see larger images

uncomfortable seats

This problem causes pain because it forces my head forward and down. I cannot drive the car without adding back pillows, etc.

Honda says that if they have enough complaints, they will recall and repair. Call 800-999-1009 and choose option #7.

- Renee S., Cos Cob, US

problem #36

Jul 202017

Accord LX 2.4L 4 cyl

  • CVT transmission
  • 25,300 miles

I just purchased this 2014 Honda Accord LX from a local dealer. I read the complaints about the seats being uncomfortable but I did not realize to the extent that the complaints went. The seats cause leg numbness and back pain no matter how they are adjusted. It is a safety hazard because I have almost wrecked the car trying the find a comfortable position. I am regretting my purchase of an otherwise great car.

- Matthew B., Tickfaw, LA, US

problem #35

Dec 082015

Accord EX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

OMG, I've always been complaining about seats, especially driver seat and today I found this website and it's a major interior problem. Told everybody who asked what you don't like about your Honda - seats. Compared to my brother's 2013 Toyota Corolla 2013, which has a way better seat that holds a driver in place when making a fast or sharp turn.

- Nicholas P., Mountain View, CA, US

problem #34

Oct 012016

Accord EX I4

  • CVT transmission
  • 71,000 miles

What an uncomfortable car to drive. I am a college athlete, and ever since I bought the car I starting having back pain. A healthy adult shouldn't be experiencing back pain. This problem occurred for the several months that I owned the car. I eventually traded it in for parts due to a transmission failure (stay away from Honda CVTs). Now that I own a different vehicle, I have no more back pain.

- running4ever, Sandy, UT, USA

problem #33

Mar 012017

Accord ESL V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

I've owned Toyota's for 35 years and decided to change it up by buying a Honda. The seat is terribly uncomfortable. Awful! The car is wonderful, but I cringe each time I drive it. have only had the car for two weeks, and it's not good. Please provide some sort of assistance. It's like sitting on a misshapen, too long, metal box.

- Michele B., Greenville, SC, US

problem #32

Apr 272014

Accord V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have this Accord since Feb 2014, but I really do not drive it much, so far only about 15,000 miles on it. I had back problems and had to visit chiropractor & Physiotherapist for it, after I got this new car. I tried to fix other things and did not suspect it was due to this horribly uncomfortable seats.

But in year 2015 then I realized whenever I drive for longer trip, my back pain got worst. After that I started searching online if others had same issue, after seeing so many others like me. I was 100% sure it is due to car seats only. I contacted Honda dealer about this but did not get positive response.

HONDA MUST RECALL THIS SEATS!!

- mpatel, Jersey City, NJ, US

problem #31

Mar 042016

Accord lx

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,400 miles

Same issues that everyone else mentioned. I've owned this car for a little over a month and purchased it pre-certified from a dealership. It looks sharp and I'm hoping it has the reliability Honda is known for. The initial few weeks of ownership were great, but now, after any drive longer than a half hour, I am experiencing lower back pain, soreness in my neck, and numbness in my right leg. I thought I was the only person with this problem until I researched this problem on the internet and found out that I was one of many with the same issue.

The head rest pushes my head too far forward and the lack of back and lumbar support causes my back to bow inward. I've tried a lumbar pillow and that did nothing but cause me to slide around the seat whenever I made turns. I am going to call the dealership today to see if there is a fix. In the meantime, I'm trying yet another lumbar pillow support, so I'll see how that works. I've owned many cars, from a Toyota Corona, VW Beetles, a Hyundai Sonata, a Geo Prizm, and a Mazda Protege 5 wagon. None of those other cars had any seat comfort issues at all. I hope Honda has a fix for this problem

Update from May 18, 2016: I found a solution to the uncomfortable seat problem: I traded it in for a Toyota Corolla. Since my first post, I've spent hundreds of dollars on seat and lumbar cushions, and hundreds of dollars having an upholstery shop to add foam and supports to the seat, all with no success. Lots of problems with the design, especially with the tilt of the base itself - it's slopes way too high from the front and way too low to the back. A few thousand miles later since my last review and I may have developed a minor case of piriformis syndrome, thanks Honda.

I also went back to the dealership and opened a case with Honda Corporation. Both their responses? We won't do a damn thing about it so you're stuck. They also suggested I trade the car in (at a loss). So I took their advice and traded it in to a Toyota dealership. I am never getting another Honda again.

- a.h., Watsonville, CA, USA

problem #30

Sep 012015

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • CVT transmission
  • 10,000 miles

I love everything about this car except the front seats, They are very uncomfortable on any trips over a couple hours. The 30 minute test drive didn't make me realize the seats are as bad as they are. They are not as well padded as they should be and the lumbar support isn't good at all.

- Gregory P., Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #29

Aug 042015

Accord Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

The 2014 Honda Accord Sport has horrible head restraints. They aren't "rests;" they are restraints. Combine that with non-existent padding and seats that wear entirely too quickly ( I purchased my car in June 2014 and already have flattened seats as of Aug 2015), and you have an incredibly uncomfortable car. At first I thought, these head restraints are made to keep us safe. The more I drove my car, the more I hated them. The head restraint places my head so that my chin is close to my chest, and my upper neck area between my shoulder blades is forcefully hunched forward.

The non-existent seat padding and easily-worn seats make for a sharp edge behind my thigh and an awkward position for my knee regardless how I position my seat. When I drive my hour-long commute to and from work, I have sharp pain behind my knee from the position of my knee, thigh, hip, spine, and neck.

I am actually looking forward to selling my car back to the dealership as soon as my payoff reduces further to make it worthwhile.

I have also noticed Honda spared no expense (haha) on the interior. At first glance, it looks like bells and whistles; however, some of the carpet isn't even finished to the dashboard on the passenger and driver's sides, and whomever thought it was a fantastic idea to bombard the interior with chrome is a moron. Nothing like being blinded driving down the road. Had I driven this car longer and not at night, I would not have purchased it, and I LOVE my Accords!

- shelbyga, Acworth, GA, USA

problem #28

Apr 012014

Accord EX 4.cyl

  • CVT transmission
  • 3,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving over 20 minutes you will discover no cushion padding. It is like you are sitting on a milk crate. This car is not good for long travel. You will end up having thigh, hip, leg, and back pain. I drive 90 miles a day Honda should do a recall to put more padding

- tonybarash, Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #27

Nov 012014

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

My lease came due on my 2012 Honda Accord back in September and I did not have any back pain. After doing a test drive on a 2014 Honda Accord, it felt fine and I entered into a lease with Honda for three years. After about a month, my back pain became noticeably worse over time driving this vehicle. In December the pain was unbearable and I ended up seeking chiropractic treatment, which has gone on for two months now. Despite the treatment, which at best has mitigated the problem somewhat, I still have to go out of town on business every two weeks and it takes 2-3 days to recover. I have tried sitting on wedge cushions, I have tried putting a pillow behind my back for extra support, I have added seat covers for support, I have used those lumbar back pillows, and no matter what I do, nothing has helped improve the comfort of these seats and nothing has really helped my back.

These seats are terrible and entering into this lease is probably one of the worst decisions I have ever made. Honda needs to recall them and seriously work on making their seats more back friendly. I am 29 years old, and currently my back is worse than my father who has about 35 years on me. If you are thinking about buying a Honda Accord, and you are worried about the health of your back, you should look elsewhere. I have been a Honda customer since 2009 and this is my third car with them--it may very well be my last. Somewhere between the 2009 and 2014 Model things went south.

- alexinytown, Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 302014

Accord Sport 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 50 miles

I cannot take my car on trips longer than an hour without my lower back, upper back, and neck feeling like they want to fall off. The seats are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Honda has traded acute injury (whiplash) for chronic injuries (back and neck).

I have complained to Honda, I have complained to the dealer, no one writes me back, no one cares . . . Love my car, but HATE the seats. would not recommend this car or buy another one as long as they have these seats.

- Daniel T., Broomfield, CO, US

problem #25

Jun 112014

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

We purchased this vehicle new, because we had a 1998 Honda Civic and never had a bit of problem with it for all the years and miles we put on it.

So, were not afraid to purchase another Honda product. WRONG!!!!

We are older now, seniors if I might add and getting in and out of the car is bad enough, but having to deal with sitting in the car for any length of time is torture. I do mean TORTURE!! I hate this card so bad that I don't even want to get in to go to the store.

Not only are the seats positioned wrong, not enough padding, too low to the floor, but the headrest gives you a neck ache.

After searching for a solution, I'm finding that we are not the only ones that are complaining. It's caused me so much more back pain, sciatica, butt and now hips, just in the 6,000 miles.

When the salesman called after the 1st week, I asked him if we could trade, and he said, oh no, you have to wait a year...I said "bull**!!"

So, consequently, we have gone to 2 dealerships to try to unload this beast and no one wants to deal, as they don't even want to give us near book price.

What the hell are we to do?? I get pied just thinking of that car, and causing problems with my hubby, as he's tired of listening to me.

I wish the thing would blow up, with us not in it of course, to get rid of it!!

I plead Honda, to do something. I've been searching the web to see if there are seat replacements. I carry 5 pillow and cushions to try to make it comfortable enough to just go to the store. It is ridiculous.

Btw, yes we did try it out for about 2 minutes!! That will never happen again..

Please tell us what to do!!

- Patricia B., Elmira,, NY, USA

problem #24

Sep 222014

Accord Sport 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 500 miles

Great car overall but still needs improvements........

- Abdalaziz S., Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #23

Oct 272014

Accord Sport 4 cyl

  • CVT transmission
  • 300 miles

Head rests are not adjustable. Honda or the safety people must think we are unable to take care of ourselves and adjust them properly. Or, this would add too much cost.. Similar situation in my 2006 Tundra. Salesman showed us how to turn them around backwards. Much more comfortable but I'm not sure this is safe. Head can travel back several inches before contact with headrest and the rear of the headrest is rounded with a slight protrusion at the bottom that hits my neck.. Better than forcing my head down to an unsafe driving position or reclining the seat so much the belts won't function properly. I'm 6'4" and my wife is 5'9". Same problems with both users.

- wisconsin, Redgranite, WI, USA

problem #22

Jan 172014

Accord EX 2.5L 16 valve

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

Purchased a new 2014 Honda Accord Ex from the dealership. After a couple of weeks, I’ve experienced moderate to severe pain in my neck, upper back area and shoulders. I've felt discomfort even on my daily work commute of 15 minutes one way. The pain is more severe after driving for 40 min. I see my chiropractor more often now.

I noticed the headrest is curved forward at an extreme angle, pushing my head forward, putting stress on my neck. My upper back and shoulders feels strained - regardless of the height of the headrest. The headrest was the cause of my pain. I am 4’11 and sit up straight. I’ve tried multiple seat adjustment and bought neck supports, expensive non-refundable back supports from Relax-the-Back, (spent around $600) but nothing has helped. I resorted to putting my headrest backwards to provide relief. I’ve mentioned this to a salesperson and the Parts dept. at the dealership. Both of them said Honda does not have any replacement and the headrest was designed to comply with federal regulations. Prior to this, I drove a ‘99 Honda Accord Ex and this issue never occurred. I’ve tried putting the headrest from my ‘99 Accord into the 2014 but it won’t fit due to different center-to-center post measurements. Even the backseat headrests from the 2014 will not fit in the driver’s seat.

I had pictures taken of me sitting in my ’99 Accord and the 2014 Accord. In the ’99 Accord, my neck, upper back and shoulder rest comfortably against the seat and headrest. In the 2014, there is a gap between my neck, upper back and shoulder from the seat with the upper portion of my head pushed forward from the headrest. Please investigate so Honda can take action to provide a replacement or make it a recall issue. This needs to be corrected for health, comfort and Safety’s sake!

Update from Mar 20, 2015: The car seat itself is a problem not just the head restraint. Now I am getting lower back and hip pain. The seat has a dip in the middle. I've put a towel on the seat to alleviate the situation.

- cng22, Seattle, WA, USA

problem #21

Sep 222014

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles

The front driver's seat alone is not padded nearly enough to ensure a comfortable ride. One night, I couldn't fall asleep until the wee hours of the morning because my legs ached so much from the long drive that day. Thinking it was a medical issue, I made an appointment with my doctor's office and when the nurse practitioner and I compared notes, she had had some of the same issues with her 2013 Honda Accord EX. It's a good thing that I kept the portable cushion from my old car because that makes my commute bearable.

- honmb, Milton, MA, USA

problem #20

Sep 202014

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles

I bought my 2014 Honda Accord LX brand new. I had done due diligence and believed I'd selected the best mid-range, mid-size car but after a week it became clear that the factory installed head restraints Honda now uses were fast becoming an issue, especially on my daily hour-long commute to work. The head restraints force my neck forward to such an awkward degree that after a few minutes, I find myself constantly adjusting my neck so that it doesn't stiffen. I miss the neck rests which supported my neck and were more comfortable. I can't imagine keeping my new Honda for fourteen years as I'd done with my old 2000 Accord if Honda doesn't come up with a fix for this issue.

- honmb, Milton, MA, USA

problem #19

Sep 262014

Accord LE 2.4L V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 1,000 miles

The drivers seat is so uncomfortable its unsafe to drive. I bought the car 2 weeks ago and almost got into a couple of accidents on the highway while I was trying to re-adjust the pillow behind my back. Honda needs to fix the problem.

- Daniel D., Saugus, MA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?