2017 Honda CR-V AC / heater problems: cable for temp selector broke

Cable For Temp Selector Broke

2017 Honda CR-V

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: It's rare when a newer vehicle has defect trends, & the 2017 Honda CR-V has at least two — overfilled oil levels with a gas smell, & heat not working.

Both problems affecting the Honda CR-V's 1.5L "Earth Dreams" engine appear to be related to cold-climate regions.

CR-V owners report overfilled oil levels due to fuel in the oil, & sometimes a gas smell in the cabin. That problem appears to be related to fuel injection which Honda hopes to fix via a software update. Honda so far has only conducted a recall in China & a "product update" in Canada.

CR-V owners also report no heat even after warming up their CR-Vs for 30 minutes — not even enough to defrost the windshield. So far, there has been no fix from Honda for this issue.

10.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
50 miles
Total Complaints:
1 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace heater box (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2017 Honda CR-V AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #1

Jun 302017

CR-V LX 1.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Following is a letter I sent to Honda America - no response. As of this date (2/7/18) I have not heard from Honda America. I have contacted Honda Resolution center, filed a complaint, more frustrations. At this time, I am waiting for another problem to arise (maybe the TPMS always lit-up is the problem) so I can get a new car under the California lemon laws.

"I have owned Honda cars since 1998 (or 1999). My first Honda was an Accord that is still running with over 240,000 miles. I purchased a new Honda Fit in 2010. I drove that as my only car for the past 7 years. I had minimal problems with the car and loved the reliability and gas mileage. When it came time to buy a new car (my 2010 car had more than 130000 miles) I looked at two cars – the Toyota Prius and the Honda Fit. I decided to buy a new (2017) Fit. My daughter flew here from Colorado, I gave her my 2010 car and she and I drove my 2010 Fit to Colorado.

Preface – I may not clearly remember all of this negative experience. Please forgive the lack of names and details, I am sure Honda can verify the information below with the service and telephone records.

I bought the 2017 Fit on June 30. I test-drove the new Fit when I took my 2010 for a passenger-side airbag recall a couple of months before. I liked the new features on the 2017 Fit. When I went to buy the new Fit, I did only a quick drive around the block, since it was rush hour. I went into the offices and completed the paperwork and got into the car and started on my drive home. When I was less than a mile from the dealer, I turned the temperature control knob down (to a warmer temperature) and heard a “clunk”, like a cable had broken. When I went to turn the knob back, the knob would not go down to the full cold position (it stops 3-4 bars from the coldest position). I was in a hurry that evening, so I drove the car home. At the time, I thought that the cable had broken and I would bring the car back the following Friday (July 7) for a quick, simple repair. I made an appointment on-line. That weekend (July 1 or 2), I took my new car to the park and spent 6 hours waxing and armor-alling it.

On Friday (7/7/17), I took my car to the dealer. The service manager called to tell me the car was repaired but when I got into the car to leave, I turned the knob and the knob was having the same problem. The service rep called over the shop manager and he checked the knob and said that they would need to order new parts. They said the parts would be in on Monday (or later), they don’t usually have parts for new cars. The dealership kept my car until Monday, and called to tell me my car was ready. I was on vacation that week, so I was able to go and get my car. They drove my car from the lot and it was filthy – with bird droppings down the passenger side. I told them that the car being dirty was not acceptable, that it was a new car with less than 200 miles and they should clean it. They said they didn’t have the facilities to wash it, I told them I would take it to the new car area and they could wash it. I got into the car turned the knob and the knob was having the same problem. I called the manager over and he said they would install a new part, leave it with them and they would have the car washed and return it to me the following day.

The following day (7/11/17), I picked up the car and realized the knob was still not operating correctly, but took the car. The knob was still not going to the full ‘cold’ position. That week, I was on vacation so I did not drive my car that often, as stated before, I drove my 2010 Fit to Colorado. When I returned to work and my commute, the knob had a new problem, it took excess force to turn the knob from warm to cold. I made an appointment and took my car to the dealer on 7/21/17. This time, I called the shop the day before to be certain the parts would be available and they said yes. I thought I would wait for the car. After I arrived at the shop, they told me the job would take all day – that they had to take the dash apart. I was thoroughly disappointed and the service people arranged for me to have a rental car. Later, the service rep called to tell me they were unable to fix the knob and they had contacted Honda engineering to determine if there was a way to fix the problem. The service rep told me that I should pick up my car, be gentle with the knob and they would let me know when I could bring the car back for repair.

I called Honda corporate office on 7/21/17. I spoke with Toya and I got a case number 06164139. I told her all of the above and she asked what I wanted Honda to do. I told her that I wanted a new car – I am a

mechanical engineer and that cars are made to be assembled, not disassembled, that if the dash was taken out, the parts would never go back together properly, that the service person may put it together so it wouldn’t squeak and rub today, but it would only be a matter of time before it did squeak and rub.

On Monday (7/24), I spoke with Jonathan and Marlenee (spelling?) x117755. I told Marlenee the story above and she asked what I want from Honda. I told her that I was sure in her notes that it said I wanted a new car, but at this point, I just want my car fixed. Marlenee told me that there are seldom problems with the Honda Fit and I told her it’s because it is a very basic car, that when you add whistles and bells to a car, there are more chances for problems. I told Marlenee about a YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vQf9i9KtQI) that indicates owners of Fits and HRV’s are having the same issue with the temperature knob. I told Marlenee that the service rep told me I needed to pick up the car and ‘be gentle with the knob, that it is not fixed and will easily break’. I explained to Marlenee that I work in north county and was unsure if I could get back to the dealership by 6, that I have been planning all of this repair stuff to be on Fridays because I have Fridays off, other days it is difficult to get to the shop since I normally get home between 6 and 7 AND the dealership is another 15-30 minutes past my home. She said that she would talk to the service rep and get back to me – I have not heard from her at all (as of 7/30/17).

On 7/24 I chatted on line with Gubagoo.com = Kris Johnson. Please check that transcript where he told me that it would probably not be a problem to keep the rental and that he would have a manager call me.

On Tuesday (7/25), I checked my phone and had a text from the service rep that I needed to get the rental car back to Honda by 6 pm, that Honda would no longer pay for the rental after 6 pm. I left a couple of frantic calls for Marlenee and still have not heard from her. I left work early to get to the dealer by 6 pm. I tried calling the service manager but he had left for the day. Instead, I talked with the sales manager (JR). I told him all of the story above ending with ‘I’ll tell you what, after I pick up my car, I will bring it over to you and you can show me how to be ‘gentle with the knob’. He was sympathetic and probably one of the best people I have talked with throughout this ordeal. His response was ‘after you pick up your car, I’ll have one of the salesmen take your car and fill the tank and then we can look at the knob’. I told him how grateful I was and that his offer made a big difference.

On 7/28/17 I again left a message for Marlenee (11:45am) and have not had a call from her. Also on 7/28/17 (11:56am), I spoke with the Service Manager (Jason) and he explained that there will be no repairs ‘in the near future’ the plastic flexes and the teeth get broken off so I need to be gentle with the knob. I asked him if he had checked the 2018 models to see if there is a difference in the parts and that he could then use a 2018 part to fix my 2017 car. He said he would check and get back to me.

For the week of 7/24 thru 7/27 I noticed a squeak coming from the passenger front side. I thought it was probably something in the glove box and frankly was afraid it was something further wrong with the car. On 7/30/17, I removed everything from the glove box and drove the car. Honestly, it sounded like I was riding in a covered wagon. The squeak was worse with nothing in the glove box. On 7/30/17, I wanted to charge my phone and realized the HDMI port was not re-installed when the car was reassembled during the last repair attempt – there is only a hole where the port should be.

At this point, the temperature knob still does not go down to the full cold position (it stops 3-4 bars from the coldest position) and I am living with ‘be gentle with the knob’, to avoid breaking off the teeth. In addition, the HDMI port is not functioning (there is a hole where it should be) and there is a squeak in the dash area. I realize that the steering wheel was removed and am concerned that if the ‘mechanic’ who removed the steering wheel is the same person who forgot to reattach the HDMI port this car could be a danger to drive – what else did he/she forget to reattach?

As stated above, I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering and the majority of my career has been in the Quality profession (I am a Lean Six-Sigma Black Belt). As a quality professional, I am thoroughly disappointed with this entire experience. Based on my past experience with Honda, I initially felt comfortable with my purchase and was sure that Honda would stand behind their product. Instead it feels like I am being told that I have to live with defects and that I must "settle" with a defective product.

This entire process has been a huge inconvenience and disappointment. If I am not offered a solution my only recourse is to investigate the lemon laws for the state of California. I feel confident that you will resolve this issue so I can regain my confidence in Honda. I look forward to hearing from you before August 8."

- Glenda A., San Diego, US

Not what you are looking for?