CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$220
Average Mileage:
35,750 miles
Total Complaints:
19 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replaced pads and rotors (8 reports)
  2. have rotors turned (6 reports)
  3. not sure (3 reports)
  4. Toyota offered to machine the rotors (2 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments

problem #19

Nov 232012

Camry XLE 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 51,783 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

These things must be made of re-cycled beer cans. My 1996 Saturn rotors were replaced at 168000 miles simply because rust finally got them. I should have dumped the Camry and kept the Saturn.

- Jim R., Greenfield, IN, US

problem #18

Aug 012010

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I replaced the rotors and pads twice with stock rotors and ceramic pads. It lasted awhile but the rotors would warp and start shaking before the pads ever wore out. I just replaced the pads, calipers and rotors again. This time I ordered premium rotors with slots and dimples to dissipate the heat. They have a lifetime warranty for warping but time will tell if this solves the problem.

- Chris F., Vancouver, WA, US

problem #17

Aug 012010

Camry XLE 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

Toyota has twice turned the rotors and changed brake pads at no cost to me (even outside of the warranty period) and it has resolved the problem for a short time. I only recently learned that the 2007 Toyotas have warped rotors. Why do they think turning these faulty rotors will fix the problem?! When braking from higher speeds upwards of 50+ MPH, the steering wheel shimmies and I can feel it it in the brake as well. It's annoying and probably not safe.

In 2010, Big Two Toyota in Chandler, AZ took care of the problem for me at no charge only because I name dropped my husband's name to my service manager letting him know that my husband was friends with his boss and I wanted him to call me. He never called but he authorized the repairs at no cost. I thought I was told they were replacing the rotors but I recently called Big Two with the same complaint. The service manager pulled up my records and stated that they only turned the rotors. Great! So, now I'm back to square one! Replace the rotors and let us all get on with our lives please!!!!!!!

- spunkyone, Chandler, AZ, US

problem #16

Jun 192011

Camry LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had the problem with the brakes, was told i had 80 % of the brakes left so they turned and told me it was ok & a few days later same problem. I was told a price to replace the brakes big $ so i said later. Drove the car then went to another dealer in my area and they worked on and helped the problem . Today I have the brakes starting the same problem again,when I go to apply the brakes the front of the car shakes. This all started when I had new tires put on at Sam's Club ?

Another problem is with the cruise control when going down hill I pick up 10-15 mph , I was told they would send a letter to Toyota , that was the end of that . MY LAST TOYOTA

- Bernard W., Bullhead City, AZ, US

problem #15

Jun 022010

Camry 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

ok, aside from the oil consumption issue (fun) I have this brake warp issue too! Damn Camry is a real piece of S _! don't you all agree! The brakes on my 2007 Camry are terrible. The symptoms are a vibration and shaking of the steering wheel when applying brakes, especially at highway speeds. The problem is premature warping of the rotors. what else ! 7/11/12 going in for more brake repairs.YIPEE

- stacymcgill, Lomita, CA, US

problem #14

Apr 232010

Camry SE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

The brakes on my 2007 Camry are terrible. The symptoms are a vibration and shaking of the steering wheel when applying brakes, especially at highway speeds. The problem is premature warping of the rotors. I have had the rotors turned twice, and then the third time it happened I had all four rotors completely replaced. Yes, it now has a little ove 100k miles on it, but my other 2 Camrys and 1 Corolla never had this problem. Even after replacing the rotors less than 2 years ago, now they are warped again. The funny thing is the pads never seem to wear out. Not sure what the cause of the problem is. I'm guessing that they are making the rotors too thin? Braking is not being applied evenly? I wish Toyota or someone could come up with a fix for the cause, because I love how the car handles and the gas mileage is great. Although I have been a Toyota fan for many years I am considering switching to another brand on my next purchase

- Mark B., Orlando, FL, US

problem #13

Nov 012008

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

THE DEALER AFTER NOT WANTING TO DO ANYTHING TURNED THE ROTORS..THAT LASTED ABOUT 10,000 MILES AND THEY WERE WARP AGAIN...I AM GOING TO BUY NEW ROTORS AND INSTALL MY SELF..I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA..I HAVE TALKED TO ALOT OF CAMRY OWNERS AND THEY ALL SAY THE SAME THING ROTORS WARPED BETWEEN 20 AND 30 THOUSAND MILES..I PURCHASED A NEW Corolla IN 1999..THIS CAR HAS 245,000 MILES AND NEVER HAD A WARPED ROTOR...IN FACT THIS IS THE BEST CAR I EVER HAD...I WILL NEVER BUT ANOTHER TOYOTA, THEY HAVE LET PROFIT GET IN THE WAY OF MAKING A GOOD PRODUCT.. I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE NOT TO PURCHASE TOYOTA PRODUCT...SOMETIMES YOU CANNOT FIX STUPID SORTA LIKE ATT.

- stan32080, Saint Augustine, FL, US

problem #12

Nov 022009

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,876 miles

The brakes on my 2007 Toyota Camry LE 4Cyl have proved to be quite unreliable Up to this point I have machined and replaced the pads twice and am preparing to do it once again at 39876 miles on the odometer. I visited the Power Toyota dealership in Irvine, Ca on 11/02/09. After getting into an argument with a service advisor at Power Toyota of Irvine whom disregarded the cause of the problem as "driving habits," I proceeded to have it out with the service director.

After a long discussion, armed with proof of the precious two repairs he assured me that he did indeed see a pattern and that he would be happy to replace the rotors and pads for a discounted price. He also informed me that he would be looking into the condition of the proportioning valve which apparently regulates the brake pressure between the front and the back of the vehicle. Although I was only partially satisfied with the resolution I am hoping that this would be the last time I would have to go though this horrid experience.....

- kiriyama88, Glendora, CA, US

problem #11

Nov 242008

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,812 miles

Around November of 2008 the dreaded issue that I had experienced six months prior had returned. The same annoying shimmy coming through the steering wheel as well as the front end of my vehicle when I would apply the brakes. The experience was most noticeable upon the exiting of a freeway or highway. Although the experienced was not quite noticeable at slower speeds it was rather disconcerting at speeds above 60mph. Whenever I would apply the brakes I would have to maintain control by firmly grasping the steering wheel, fighting the left and right vibration through the entire braking experience. The first issue occurred only six months and less than 10000 miles prior. Although the problem was remedied with machining of rotors and the replacement of pads THIS IS RIDICULOUS. What is going on Toyota?

- kiriyama88, Glendora, CA, US

problem #10

Mar 082008

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,183 miles

Back in March of 2008 I started noticing this rather annoying vibration coming from the front end of the vehicle while applying the brakes at freeway speeds. I also noticed the steering wheel would shimmy fairly violently during the vibration. Upon taking my Camry to Power Toyota of Irvine, they were able to machine the rotors and replace the pads on all four corners and informed me of the the runout (.004-.006 in). I was certain the problem had been remedied.....boy was I wrong.

- kiriyama88, Glendora, CA, US

problem #9

Apr 142010

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,541 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 04/14/10 with 47541 miles on the odometer I was welcomed with the dreaded front end vibrations during braking on my 2007 Toyota Camry LE. This had been the FOURTH time in the three years of ownership of this vehicle and I am at my wits end. The same vibration during braking accompanied with the violent shimmying in the steering wheel had reappeared.

Up to this point I have had the rotors machined twice (at 15183 miles and 24812 miles) and had the rotors completely replaced with new pads at 39876 miles. All of this occurring during a three year period. I was furious for no other vehicle had caused such a drastic change in my driving habits. Let me explain....due the prior experiences I have modified my work schedule so drastically that I would find myself driving to work 2 hours prior to my shift to avoid traffic and avoid having to use the brakes in general. Along with begging for overtime so that I would not have to hit rush hour traffic and RISK HAVING TO USE MY BRAKES.

At this point I was all out of words, quite exhausted with having to go through the same frustration and the same conversation, I knew that I was losing the battle. At 47541 miles the Service Manager at Power Toyota of Irvine declined my request and blatantly blamed me for the rotor problems. Upon storming out I got into contact with Toyota Customer Care in Torrance, CA and they respectfully told me that they would be able to do NOTHING about my situation. Therefore I had no choice but to take the vehicle to a local mechanic and have the rotors machined on 04/14/10.

- kiriyama88, Glendora, CA, US

problem #8

Jan 292011

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

Now, at the beginning of 2011 I have started to notice the braking issue that I have been experience for the passed four years. The same violent vibrations coming from the front end of the 2007 Toyota Camry. Accompanied with the shimmying steering wheel and pulsations felt throughout the pedal and front end of the vehicle.

I have gotten into contact with the customer service of Toyota armed with all the prior paper work. The rotors have warped on this car a grand total of FIVE TIMES!!!! First at 15183 miles in March 2008, second at 24812 miles in November 2008, third at 39876 miles in November 2009, fourth at 47541 miles on April of 2010, and not at 58000 miles.

THIS IS RIDICULOUS, TOYOTA HAS LOST A LIFE LONG CUSTOMER! I will no longer endorse the brand or inconvenience my life with such poor design and customer service. I have kept all of my service records and am willing to prove this to any one. My driving style has changed so drastically that I am AFRAID TO USE THE BRAKE PEDAL. I have kept meticulous attention towards the Torque of the lug nuts along with modify the time schedule to avoid traffic. There is nothing more that I can do.

- kiriyama88, Glendora, CA, US

problem #7

Feb 012008

Camry LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

I bought my 2007 Toyota Camry new, and I was surprised and caught off guard that Toyota can't get the brakes right. It's unnerving to drive knowing that you can't rely on the brakes system. Going uphill and downhill causes the steering wheel to pulsate uncontrollably, and reduces my ability to steer and reduce speed. The constant pulsation and lack of brake stickiness is a constant reminder of the danger I'm in when driving my car. I don't feel safe. On top of that, the brake does not reduce the car speed comfortably without causing major vibration throughout the vehicle when trying to come to a complete stop. My whole driving experience is being diminished by a simple, but yet necessary component of the vehicle, that present technological innovation can't fix, and conveniently ironic for a brand known for reliability. I can't accept that Toyota can't fix this problem unequivocally. And we all know rotors last for 50k to 100k at least, but maybe Toyota doesn't know that? That's not reassuring.

- nzone, Sacramento, CA, US

problem #6

Jul 012010

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

I have 2007 camry LE ,only had 21000 miles on this car. Since last month I feel heavy padel pulsation whenever I step on the brake while I driving over 60mph . And I know that is rotor problem for sure .But my basic warranty just over 4 week ago. so I call Toyota customer experience center hot line. They refuse me for any warranty coverage. They claimed that is wear and tear items.not cover. I was very unsatisfy the answer.I understand brake pads should be wear and tear items but rotors should be cover alot longer than the that...I am very disappionted with Toyota products.I think some body should Totota to do a better job than that

- raylnew york, Brooklyn, NY, US

problem #5

Apr 202008

Camry SE 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

I bought the 2007 Toyota camry, new. Twelve months later the front end of the car would shake violently when I aplied the brakes at speeds over 60 mph. So I got the front end checked out and was surprised to find out the rotors were warped and the front end was way out of line. Now it's January 2010 and the same thing is happening again. I bought a Toyota because consumer reports advised it. This problem is serious. Come on people, we have been manufactoring cars for 200 years why can't Toyota makes brakes that work?

- Akhee B., East Stroudsburg, PA, US

problem #4

Dec 012009

Camry XLE 3.2L, V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,100 miles

Since I have an extended warranty I thought this might be covered but they said brakes are not included. Brake pad problems I might agree, but having to turn the rotors? No way. I was very upset about this and still am.

The brakes do not work as they did when fhe car was first purchased. They now operate as ordinary brakes.

- Marge K., Etters, PA, US

problem #3

Aug 202009

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,175 miles

I cannot believe @55,000km rotors are warped, and dealer refusing me to replace under warranty.

- bvarma, Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada

problem #2

May 152009

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

When exiting the freeway or when my car went over 40mph and I had to slow down, the front end would shake like it was about to fall apart. I don't understand why the rotors can warp that bad with only 30,000 miles on them. And from what I've researched, it's happening to more than just my car and Toyota is doing nothing to remedy the problem in newer models.

- j.e, Houston, TX, US

problem #1

Jun 302009

Camry SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,606 miles

Had to replace the rotors and pads on a 2007 Camry with only 40,000kilometers(25k miles). Took it to dealership in Walkerton ON, they diagnosed and replaced both the rotors and pads under warranty about an hour and a half after i brought it there. Its kind of hard to believe that this would have to be done to a 2 year old car, but atleast it was all covered. Can't complain at all about the service I received, Great dealership, great people and an otherwise great car.

- larryon, Walkerton, ON, Canada

Not what you are looking for?