Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: Top complaints for the 2006 Chevy Impala include how the transmission slips, clunks and fails. Or how the power steering knocks and squeals. In other words, this car is a noisy bucket of eventual failure points.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,669 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Impala steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #110

Sep 292019

Impala

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I got home from work at 7:15am this morning 9-29-2019 I was laying in bed watching a movie trying to go to sleep and when I finally doze off my son asked if he could go get a charger out of the car so he went out to the car and when he opened the door he said smoke hit him in his face he immediately ran back in the house yelling żmom your car is on fire so I ran down the stair and went outside and thats all you see is smoke my car was on fire I immediately called 911 they got the fire put out and the fireman and the police officer said my fire started from my steering wheel because after the fact the fire was put out the fireman said he noticed that the steering wheel was throwing sparks still so they said that's what caused my car to caught on fire I donżT know what IżM gonna do I have 4 kids and that was our transportation that's how my kids got to school and that's how I got to work IżM lost I donżT know what to do I need transportation IżM a single parent with 4 kids it will not let me mark everything but every in the car is burnt my cd player 13ż subwoofer speakers that was in the trunk my amp

- Brunswick, MO, USA

problem #109

Mar 242019

Impala

  • 90,000 miles
Car loses power steering when turning.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #108

Jul 252018

Impala

  • 148,507 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel seized when the vehicle attempted to turn a corner. The contact lost control of the vehicle and the vehicle flipped into a ditch. The air bags deployed and caused minor injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center where it was deemed a total loss. The dealer (Chevrolet of goldsboro, 3300 highway 70 bypass, East goldsboro, nc 27534, (919)-429-9909) was notified of the failure and informed the contact that there were no recalls related to the VIN. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 148,507.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #107

Apr 012018

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering pump has failed. Steering will not work when I brake.

- North Liberty, IA, USA

problem #106

Nov 162017

Impala

  • 250,000 miles
Winter of 2016 I lost power steering while I was driving 60mph. My wheel was almost like it was froze and took all I had to pull off the road. I was leaking power steering fluid I was told by a motorist who stoped to help. He said drive it to nearest mechanic. I did and was told it was the hose had burst. He fixed it. Then 4 mo later car was whinning and lost steering again. This time pump was bad and other hose was leaking. Fixed it. Now driving on a cold day and lost steering again!!! fluid all over ground and horrible whine again. I am a disabled 55 year old woman and its so nhard to steer car. Im very lucky I didnt crash. As well as being on a very strict income of ssi disability and unable to afford getting same thing fixed. Itsvery upsetting. I checked for mrecal and there isnt any for this. Please help with info on what I can do next. Thank you.

- Babbitt, MN, USA

problem #105

Aug 222017

Impala

  • 190,012 miles
Has been an ongoing problem for 4 years happening occasionally, now daily, and keeps getting worse. Power steering fails at low idle and sometimes gets stuck until I give it a little acceleration to get it turning. Happens while trying to park or turn at a low rate of speed, but now happening at a faster speed, while turning onto another street.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #104

Mar 162014

Impala

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear defroster wiring under front passenger door had smoked and small fire. Car was in motion on a city street. Was just pulling into my driveway so I pulled of fuse box cover to discover it. Wires melted. Had no fuse in there. Burned out quickly.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #103

Nov 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • 114,900 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously included in a recall for which the steering wheels steering lines were to be re-routed from the catalytic converter. The vehicle was repaired. While driving approximately 30 mph, smoke was coming from underneath the vehicle and the power steering failed without warning. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that the steering lines ruptured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact informed the manufacturer of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 114,900. Updated 01/10/2017 updated 7/5/18

- Quincy, MA, USA

problem #102

Feb 082016

Impala

  • 96,200 miles
My car won't shift from the park position, I had to lift up console cover and push release button in order to avoid paying for a tow. Found out it was the wired connector or module or possibly wires that move when you shift gears.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #101

Oct 182015

Impala

  • miles
1) car is hard to turn stationary & while turning, steering knuckles--2) power steering whining & just started losing fluid, --3) drivers seat stopped being able to adjust to different positions--4) oil leak on engine--5) paint on trunk & surrounding area is is flaking off.

- Bentley, LA, USA

problem #100

Sep 042015

Impala

  • 187,369 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 10 mph and making a turn, a knocking sound was heard from the steering wheel. The failure recurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 187,369.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #99

Jul 062015

Impala

  • 71,000 miles
Power steering failed. Upon starting vehicle one morning, had little to no steering power. Had power steering pump replaced, three times, first pump failed, second pump failed also.(mechanic source for parts bad). Hole in hose also. Problem has occurred again. Must now have rack and pinion replaced, power steering fluid leaking in that area.

- London, KY, USA

problem #98

Aug 202015

Impala

  • 258,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 40 mph, the steering failed and the vehicle veered off the interstate into the median. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was also towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that a bolt fell out the vehicle and needed to be replaced. In addition, the dealer stated that the air bags were affected. The vehicle was repaired; however, the air bags were not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 258,000.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #97

Feb 152015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was reversing from the driveway, the steering seized. The vehicle would not respond to the repeated attempts to steer. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the vehicle needed a re-manufactured power steering pump with reservoir and the cooler hose replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000....updated 06-11-15 the consumer was informed, it was highly unlikely he would receive reimbursement. Updated 07/20/15.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #96

Apr 192015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles
I was turning off of elberton road onto veribest road & I heard the front tire made a knocking sound about 3 times while turning & continued to drive after the car felt okay, then I felt as if the car dropped or the tire was coming off & the steering wheel locked up, traction control light started to blink & the brakes went out & we crash due to me not having control of the vehicle! me & my 3 kids were badly injured!

- Lexington, GA, USA

problem #95

Apr 192015

Impala

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The contact was driving approximately 30 mph in very light rain when the vehicle exhibited an abnormal clicking noise four times successively. The front end of the vehicle then seemed to drop to the ground causing the steering wheel to seize, the traction control warning light to flash and the brakes to become inoperable. The contact also stated that the air bag erroneously deployed and knocked her unconscious. The vehicle then traveled off the roadway, into a woody area and crashed into a tree. The contact was awoken by the screams of her small children, who were sitting in the rear of the vehicle. Two child passengers were injured and suffered lacerations to the face, contusions of the shoulders, face, head injuries and a concussion. The contact sustained a sprained neck, fractured spine, and a concussion, clotting in the skull, a chest wall contusion and lacerations to the legs. All three passengers required medical attention. The contact and all passengers were able to exit the vehicle without further injuries. A police report was filed of the incident, and the vehicle was towed from the scene. The contact was advised that the transmission and the motor had both fallen out of the vehicle prior to the crash and were still in the roadway. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of a recall on the ignition switch one week after the crash occurred (NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 - electrical). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 186,000.

- Lexington, GA, USA

problem #94

Feb 242015

Impala

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While making a turn at a low speed, the contact heard a noise emitting from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 09E005000 (steering) but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Stuart, VA, USA

problem #93

Apr 032015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 134,989 miles
This incident first occurred a few weeks ago while driving on the highway I got the engine power reduced message. My car didn't seem to run different and the engine light went off the very next day. Then about 1 week later it happened again but this time my car was acting funny when I needed to accelerate. I was trying to wait until paid day to take it to be checked but I couldn't wait. On Wednesday, April 1, 2015 whenever I stopped at a light or stop sign when it was time to go my car would not accelerate. I made it work ok, but on my break I needed to go take care of some important business and my car just stopped on me while I was making a right hand turn. It would not start up. I could not turn it or anything. My car stalled and I ended up on the wrong side of the road. I was able to push my car out of the way and I had to walk back to work. After work my car started with no problem and I drove it less than 1 mile to Firestone tire where they did a computer diagnosis and told me the accelerator control was bad. I asked them if they were sure that was the problem and not the throttle body and they said yes. While on my way home tonight Friday, 4/3/15 engine came on and engine power reduced message again. I am very upset and scared from what I have research and read about others this has happened to. This is very dangerous and I feel I should not have to be injured, killed or someone else for this to be fixed. Signed, [xxx] (very unhappy consumers) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #92

Jul 012014

Impala

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the power steering and brakes seized without warning. As a result of the failure, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed. The contact did not specify if any injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Huston, TX, USA

problem #91

Oct 162012

Impala

  • 83,571 miles
The power steering pump has been replaced 4 times in 5 or 6 years. There was a recall on the power steering cooler line which was repaired by replacing clamps and hose as per recall in 2011.on 10/12/12 the steering gear and the power steering pump were replaced. On 10/25/12 the power steering pump that was put on 10/12/12 was found to be leaking and was replaced. It was still under warranty. On 12/16/14 another power steering pump had to be put on as the previous one had failed. The pump that was replaced was not under warranty.

- Grandview, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?