2014 Honda CR-V wheels / hubs problems: faulty TPMS

Faulty TPMS

2014 Honda CR-V (Page 2 of 3)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 Honda CR-V has a trend of engine hesitation when accelerating.

Honda has tried to fix this delayed acceleration with a software update, but many owners report it didn't fix the problem.

This defect trend is not quite bad enough yet for us to slap on the "Beware of the Clunker" seal. But it's a concern & definitely something to keep in mind for a test drive.

6.5

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
$80
Average Mileage:
12,950 miles
Total Complaints:
50 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (36 reports)
  2. TSB #14-006 (7 reports)
  3. recalibration (3 reports)
  4. press tire light switch to shut off (2 reports)
  5. firmware update (1 reports)
  6. re-install software (1 reports)
2014 Honda CR-V wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Feb 112016

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tire pressure light in my Honda CR-V has continually comes on since December 2015 when the service techs at Honda of Bay County balanced and rotated my tires. The service tech at Honda of Bay County continually tells me that the tire pressure light comes on because one of the tires rolls faster than the other tires and causes the light to come on. The service tech also said that Honda wants car owners to check their own tire pressure and to reset the light themselves. Are Honda CR-v owners to ignore the tire pressure light because when it comes on. The service Techs at Honda of Bay County have offered no solutions to this issue other than to reset the light yourself. How are we to know if the tire pressure light comes on because there is a real problem with the tires or the tire pressure light just needs to be reset. This is a really safety issue and needs to be addressed by Honda.

- MAry W., Callaway, FL, US

problem #29

Dec 092014

CR-V EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

click to see larger images

faulty TPMS

After bought a new 2014 CR-V ,the tire pressure light is on just pass first month.I went to Honda service department .The stuff told me it's normal and reset it.

But the light is on after each 1 or 2 months, so i have to come to Honda service department again and again each 1 or 2 months.

Initially i was given all sorts of lines like, it's the temperature the tires are over/under inflated, it's normal.

Each time they just reset it and let me back.

I have been Honda dealership at least 8 times,the problem still happened.

Last time i went service department is two months ago, at this moment, the light is on from this week.

- Hongtao L., Gainesville, FL, US

problem #28

May 142014

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles

Told happens when tires are rotated---yes, but it will reset then illuminate again in approx. 800 miles. Dealer put nitrogen in tires. Didn't help. Inflated tires to 35 psi. Didn't help. Had to ask dealership about software upgrade. Reminded them the upgrade had be out since March of 2014. Software installed---not one bit of good --still illuminates.

- Jerald H., Columbia City, IN, US

problem #27

Jul 192015

CR-V LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

THIS IS THE 5TH TIME MY TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT GOES ON. THE PREVIOUS TIME I GOT A FLAT TIRE IN THE HIGHWAY AND HAD TO CALL A TOW COMPANY EVEN THOUGH I WAS ADVISED FROM GARDEN STATE HONDA DEALER THAT MY TIRES WERE FINE AND THE TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT GOES ON BECAUSE OF THE WEATHER. I ALSO HAD TO PURCHASE A BRAND NEW TIRE BECAUSE ACCORDING TO HONDA THE TIRE WAS DAMAGED DUE TO THE FACT I KEPT DRIVING WITH A FLAT TIRE......I ADVISED THEM I WAS IN THE HIGHWAY AND THAT THEY SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE BECAUSE IT WAS NOT TOO LONG AGO THAT THEY SAID THE CAR WAS FINE. I HAD BEEN DRIVING WITH MY TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT ON FOR WEEKS BECAUSE HONDA SAID THE CAR AND TIRES WERE FINE!!

EVERY TIME I LEAVE THE DEALER MY TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT TURNS ON. THE LAST TIME I WENT TO GARDEN STATE HONDA (WHICH WAS A MONTH AGO) I HAD TO RETURN THAT SAME DAY BECAUSE OF THE TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT. IT WAS BEEN ONE MONTH AND AGAIN...THE LIGHT TURNS ON. I CALLED GARDEN STATE HONDA AND WAS ADVISED THAT THEY MAY NOT SCHEDULE ME BUT I AM ABLE TO COME IN AS A 'WALK IN.' I DO NOT HAVE A PEACE OF MIND DRIVING THIS CAR WHEN THE TIRE LIGHT GOES.

I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE WITH ALL THE OTHER HONDA CARS EXCEPT THIS ONE. I AM DISAPPOINTED. DO NOT GET THIS CAR!

- kdelgado1, Weehawken, NJ, US

problem #26

Aug 262015

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,600 miles

I called Honda of Decatur, explaining that a few days ago the tire light came on. I explained I checked the pressure and it was fine. I explained my wife found this was a common complaint. The tech said it could be something causing a leak in the tire. I explained again, it had been on and I had tested the pressure 3 times in each tire after 3 days of driving it to and from work, and resetting it didn't work. I again stated it was a common complaint and some people stated a software or firmware update may help. He said to bring it in. I did. He again stated maybe the pressure was just low. I explained again I had tested it over three days after driving it to and from work, and that people mentioned an upgrade. He started getting abrupt saying he couldn't find mention of it on the Honda web page for the car. Here I sit waiting for my car to get fixed. Maybe.

Hoping the mechanics can find a software upgrade and hoping it will also fix the issue with the music coming on when I don't want it to.

Update from Aug 28, 2015: Dude came back in and said the code linked to a statement about a firmware update. Lol. They are doing that now.

- Chris G., Somerville, AL, US

problem #25

Aug 162014

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

The TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) light has come on three times in less than a year for no reason. Each time, the tire pressure was fine. I've read many other complaints about this same problem with Honda CRVs.

I've asked the service department at my dealer (Wilde Honda in Waukesha, WI) about it twice, and was told the first time by the service adviser that he didn't like those gauges because they go off all the time for no reason and to just reset it. The second time I reported it, the service adviser said sometimes it's temperature related. But just reset it yourself.

Basically, just ignore the gauge because it's not accurate. So what's the point of having a gauge for something as important as tire pressure if it's going to go off all the time willy-nilly? Might as well disable it because no one is ever going to trust its accuracy.

- mabelwi, BROOKFIELD, WI, US

problem #24

May 052014

CR-V EX-L Inline 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My TPMS light indicating low tire pressure keeps coming on for no reason at all. I have had it to the dealership 3 times recently. They have been unable to fix the problem.

- Jerry R., Murrieta, CA, US

problem #23

Feb 152015

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,548 miles

Got my car for a 3 year lease in July 2014. So far had the air tire pressure indicator go on 6 times since. Initially, I was told the pressure was low in one of the tires and "its the weather" that caused the problem. I finally went in in February to get the software update after looking online at other blogs just like this one. Exactly a week later, the sensory went on again and has been on until now 3/16. I went and bought myself my own tire pressure device so that I could be sure my tires were okay to drive since I am an occupational therapist and a doctoral student and need to drive a lot for school and work.

I am at the dealer once again today 3/16. Hoping the problem will be resolved.

Has anyone had this problem resolved for good? What do I do?

I have had the Honda CRV 2009 for 2 years and never had this problem before.

This is a new car that currently has less than 6000 miles on in. I don't think I should have to go through this hassle every few miles for the next 3 years.

THANKS in advance for any comments!

- otdoc, Los Angeles, CA, US

problem #22

Mar 102015

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

Wish this could be figured out, this is the 4th time this tire pressure light has come on. I'd like to be sure my tires are inflated properly and that I will not be having any problems with this car.

- llca, Concord, CA, US

problem #21

Jan 142015

CR-V LX 2.4L Awd

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

I have had the same issue with the TPMS light, I've had to hold the button down and reset it a couple times now. Hopefully it will stay off until I actually NEED it for what it was intended for!

- Jj J., Salt Lake City, UT, US

problem #20

Dec 312014

CR-V EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,562 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought a new 2014 CR-V. Researched on here and knew this could be an issue but was hoping it wouldn't be. While driving home the TPMS light came on. Stopped and checked tire pressure. All at the recommended 30 PSI. Resetting to see if this resolves it but I'm thinking I'll be going to the dealer for the firmware update.

- Heather C., Alexandria, VA, US

problem #19

May 212014

CR-V LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

The Tire Pressure Monitoring System was indicating problems with low pressure in tires. This was not accurate and it happened several times. The first attempt was to reset manually at home, but the problem persisted. Honda dealership re-installed updated firmware, and so far there has been only one faulty indication of low tire pressure. The manual reset button on the dash worked, and the problem has not appeared for two months.

- Henry S., Reisterstown, MD, US

problem #18

May 092014

CR-V EXL 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

2014 CRV tire gauge light keeps coming on. All the dealership does is reset the the button. I think this is an electrical problem.

- Cynthia S., Shrewsbury, MA, US

problem #17

Oct 012013

CR-V EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles

I had problems with my light coming on for months (approx. 10/13-5/14). Initially I was given all sorts of lines like, it's the temp, the tires are over/under inflated, it's normal. I started a post on the CRV owners website and found others were having the same issue. The dealer tried multiple fixes including mounting better tires. Problem still happened.

After months of emails and patronizing phone calls from the Honda corp rep they finally admitted "it's a known problem" and "they're working on it". In approx. April TSB #14-006 was tried on a few cars and it seemed to fix the problem. I had my car done and am going on 4 months without the light coming on. It used to come on at least 2-3 times a month, sometimes weekly (and usually within 1mile of a certain spot on the freeway). Unless you have a problem with your tire/s this appears to be the only fix. Many dealers will claim ignorance. You may have to get "tough". Tell them to look up TSB #14-006. If they still evade the issue log a complaint with Honda Motor corp. and, if possible, find another dealer.

Good Luck!

- pdxjanet, Portland, OR, US

problem #16

Sep 182014

CR-V EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Bought the car with 8860 miles, wish I knew who had it prior so I could see why they traded it in with such low miles. This tire pressure light is one of three issues. Rear wiper comes on with the front wiper, and while driving down the road with two hands on the wheel, sometimes the radio just turns on by itself.

- John G., Chicago, IL, US

problem #15

Apr 042014

CR-V LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,500 miles

I took my car into Honda Service Center April 2014 in Union, NJ because tire pressure light came on. I was told there were two nails in the front passenger tire. This fixed the problem until I was driving two days ago, here August 2014 and temp was in the 80's. Reason for mentioning temperature because some complaints I read here on the site indicated cold temps attributed to the problem. This is frustrating beyond belief.

Problems seem to never be resolved. Customers are used and abused.

- johnsona, maplewood, NJ, US

problem #14

Aug 242014

CR-V EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,773 miles

Bought 2014 Honda CRV ex used with only 1757 miles on it. On the way home from dealers at 1773 miles, tire pressure light came on. I knew what it was because I had read about it. Reset light, will keep track each time it happens.

- mariske, Petaluma, C, US

problem #13

Nov 042013

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

This idiot light keeps coming on telling me my tire pressure is low. I took it to the garage several time to complain. Never had a car do this. They first told me it was because of winter and the temperature in the air flucuates causing the light to go on and I can just hit the reset button or they could adjust the gauge itself for the tire pressure sensor. Since then it periodically comes on and is extremely annoying. I feel some day I will actually have a flat tire and not know it. Never had a car do this. Last time I took this to the garage they said they wouldn't charge me for fixing this time. There should never be a charge since this is an ongoing problem and should not be happening in the first place. I don't think this is exactly a Honda alone issue because I've ridden in other foreign vehicles and the tire pressure lights stay on constantly. I think it's a sensor issue that all car mfgs. are using now and it should be addressed. The dealer won't take it out of my car but they say its not a safety issue. If thats so, then why can't it be removed so I don't have t deal with it?

- follensbee, Lebanon, NH, US

problem #12

May 052014

CR-V LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,700 miles

TPMS Lite - Repeated TPMS lite illuminates after 300 miles. Took into dealership where I purchased the vehicle. I have taken the vehicle in FIVE times and still no resolve. The service department is finger pointing at Honda Tech support. I have had force balance of each tire, software update, replaced VSA module, reprogram steering angle sensor, reprogram computer, reprogram complete system data sent to Honda for further investigation. I have contacted Honda per service department and have a claim started. I'm troubled by the comment that the service department told me. Three of the four ABS sensors read nothing while the forth tire read 30 lbs during their diagnostic testing. All four tires read 34 lbs using a tire gauge. The service adviser does not believe that the ABS sensors are bad. Feels strongly that Honda needs to send another software update.

I purchased this CR-V from this new dealership. They claim to want to help yet nothing has been done for months. I'm very frustrated. I have filled out a Lemon Law form and contacted a legal firm. I'm trying to hold off with submitting these forms and handing this case over to legal. Honda is on a short fuse. This is my 5th Honda since 2005, I think I should be treated much better than I have. Honda loyalty is lip service.

Honda Corporate rehashed the same steps taken at the dealership. Understandable. I asked Corporate what is being done and was told that the dealership needed to send more info to Honda tech support. I told corporate that they have already done this step, what other information was omitted. Corporate could not tell me. I was asked to be patient.

Still waiting for my CR V to get repaired.

Update from Sep 21, 2014: As of today Honda states I need an additional software update. I'm now at 20K miles with still an intermittent TPMS light indication. I went through the Honda corporate office and was told that their hands were tied. Everyone I talked to said that their hands were tied. I surely would like talking to someone with untied hands.

Since then I had a message on my dash that my gas cap was not secure. I checked it and saw nothing wrong. I also got an engine light after passing a truck on a two lane farm road. The vehicle stalled out and I had to pull off the road. I had some fear that I would get rear-ended. Thank God this did not happen.

- Rick A., Forney, TX, US

problem #11

Dec 292013

CR-V EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53 miles

Tire pressure monitor light came on day after I took delivery. Checked tires; all fine. Turned off light. Has come on frequently ever since. Just found out my daughter has same problem on her 2014 CR-V. Definitely a "pain in the butt" since one never knows whether there actually is a problem or not.

- Marilyn C., MELBOURNE, FL - Florida, US

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?