2014 Nissan Pathfinder transmission problems: transmission slips and hesitates

Transmission Slips And Hesitates

2014 Nissan Pathfinder (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Nissan dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 has a small, but significant number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the Pathfinder's transmission shakes violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
20,500 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (14 reports)
  2. replace cvt transmission (5 reports)
  3. replace transmission (2 reports)
  4. fix problems with cvt transmissions (1 reports)
  5. update computer module (1 reports)
2014 Nissan Pathfinder transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

May 252019

Pathfinder V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 111,850 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I tried my best to get it repaired at the nearest dealer in my town, but they are still not admitting that it is covered under the manufacturer defects. They are only offing to reprogramming the current transmission.

- smarhooon, Qatief, Saudi Arabia

problem #22

Sep 152018

Pathfinder SV V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

I purchased the car in November of 2017 and it's only September 2018, less than a year and I am not able to drive it. The problem started off with little hesitation in low 10-15mph, then it didn't do it for a couple days and started it doing it again. It got the point where the car would not go over 20 miles per hour to not moving at all, Was stranded and had to have the car towed to my home at 10:00 pm at night. It seems like this model has been having major transmission issues and they still have them on the market and selling them instead of fixing the issue. Lucky I wasn't on the highway when the transmission stopped working!!!

- Justin W., Norwalk, US

problem #21

Sep 082015

Pathfinder 3.5L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 12,427 miles

we bought this car in dec 2014 brand new from Go Nissan south Edmonton. Regularly maintained at the dealer shop.New transmission at 20,000 km (plus minus), still had the shudder went back and forth to the shop numerous times.Finally, it was fixed in 2017 still under warranty, we were told it was an electronic problem with the CVT. We no longer have the warranty now there is an oil seal leaked on the transfer case. The truck has 110,000 km on it( 70k miles roughly). They want $1800 to fix it. Really unreliable vehicle.Passenger side airbag would not work they have fixed it 3 times already still the same issue. Tired of going back and forth to the dealer. I would not buy another Nissan

- ninder, Beaumont, AB, Canada

problem #20

Feb 112017

Pathfinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This SUV is the worst ever, it shudders, jerks, hesitates to move after stopping, tilts when turning a corner its a complete nightmare, normally I look up information before I purchase a car but I am a previous owner of Nissan Maxima which gave me no problems whatsoever, but this vehicle I bought used at 32,000 miles on Jan 7, 2017 on February 11, 2017 the problems started, now it feels like an old school beat up truck or Cadillac, it so embarrassing to turn the corner or stop because it feels like its going to tip over or stop and it bounces, awful choice to ever buy a Nissan Pathfinder it's making my life a living HELL, constant migraine headaches because Nissan says it's normal for the Nissan Pathfinder to operate like this after doing a wheel alignment.

I thought California had a Lemon law that protects us from buying vehicles as such, but it seems I am getting no help.

- Linda J., Merced, US

problem #19

Jan 012015

Pathfinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

feel like the vehicle is going to fall apart, radiator leak, power steering pump gone bad and transmission. Need a whole new car

- nathanielbolton, Hattiesburg, US

problem #18

Aug 072014

Pathfinder SV 3.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 1,000 miles

WE HAD PURCHASED A 2011 NISSAN PATHFINDER USED IN 2012 OR 2013. ABSOLUTLY LOVED IT HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT. MY HUSBAND WANTED TO PURCHASE ME A NEWER MODAL SO WE TRADED THE 2011 IN FOR THE 2014 PATHFINDER. AT FIRST IT SEEMED FIND ABOUT 2 TO 3 WEEKS OF DRIVING IT NOTICED A SMOOTH LUGGING WHEN GOING AT A SLOWER SPEED. I CALLED THE NISSAN DEALER AND TALKED TO ONE OF THE MACANICS I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION AND IT WAS SUPOSED TO LUG LIKE THAT AND IT WAS A FUEL SAVER TRANSMISSION. WELL IT HAS CONSTANTLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE CALLED 3 TIMES TAKEN IT IN 2 TIMES AND WAS TOLD THE SCAN SHOWED NOTHING WRONG, THE MACANIC THAT DROVE IT SAID HE DIDN'T FEEL IT! I I WROTE A LETTER TO NISSAN AND I HAVE NEVER RECIEVED A RESPONSE FROM THEM. I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT THIS MONDAY TO TAKE IT IN AGAIN AND I HAD BETTER GET SOMETHING DONE. MY HUSBAND IT TERMINALLY ILL AND IS BEING PLACED ON A LUNG TRANSPLANT LIST IN JANUARY WE NEED A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE TRAVELING 51/2 HOURS AWAY FROM HOME! I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER NISSAN NOR WILL I RECOMEND THEM TO ANYONE!

- Clarence D., Summersville, US

problem #17

Jul 042016

Pathfinder LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

the car leaps and shudders when you accelerate. Taking off from a light makes it shudder, passing a car on the highway makes it shudder.

- Patricia M., Arlington, TX, US

problem #16

Jan 012015

Pathfinder SL 3.5L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 3,500 miles

At low speed, when you accelerate, the vehicle "shudders." It shakes and then as you speed up it normalizes.

Reminds me of the day of the stick shift, like when you left it in fourth gear by accident, and let the clutch out at 10 MPH. We used to call it "lugging" the trans.

The dealer reprogrammed it, but still hasn't helped. I like the vehicle very much, except for the transmission. The trans performance is unacceptable. I have an appointment Monday to bring it in to the dealer. I asked the service guy today on the phone if they were aware of any such problems with the CVT on Pathfinders and he said no, which I think is BS. He did say Nissan has extended the trans warranty to 5 years/50,000 miles. I don't care, I want it fixed.

- Marshall S., Port Charlotte, FL, US

problem #15

Oct 212016

Pathfinder ES

  • Manual transmission
  • 23,000 miles

Bought the car January 31, 2015; brand new. I'm now being told that the transmission needs to be replaced yet again. The last one was good for only 2 months. The problem this time is much worse -- very loud noise, sounds like a whining sound; stalls, stutters and doesn't accelerate when you come to a complete stop. Per Tennessee's lemon law, Nissan needs to either replace the car or buy me out. I spent 45 minutes on the phone with a person who asked me the same questions, over and over again. I answered each question, such as name, address, email, a minimum of 4 times. There was no record that the dealer had sent everything to Nissan for a decision, 24 hours after the car was towed in. The service representative at Nissan was unable to access the information from 2 months ago. After I read her the lemon act, she said she would escalate it to regional, but that it would be a minimum of 24 hours before they contact me.

How many times do you report the same problem and nothing changes, but gets worse. At least the original transmission lasted more than a year. If I only get 2 months out of each transmission and they keep it an average of a month, I may as well camp out at the dealer.

- phillije, Antioch, TN, US

problem #14

Jul 182016

Pathfinder ES

  • Manual transmission
  • 21,000 miles

It took 4 tries to diagnose the problem. When they finally figured out the problem, it took 4 weeks to fix. There was no communication from the dealer that wasn't initiated by me. When it got so bad I couldn't drive it, without fear that it would die when I accelerated, I called the dealer. I couldn't get an appointment to bring it in for a week.

- phillije, Antioch, TN, US

problem #13

Aug 012016

Pathfinder

  • CVT transmission
  • 37,282 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this vehicle back in November 2013 and after almost 2 years I noticed jerking at low speed 20:40 km/hr. Unfortunately, I was out of the country for some time and I just went to the service center here in Qatar before the expiry of the warranty (warranty is gonna be expired 10/11/2016). The service center here told me that they are in the process of replacing the cvt transmission under the warranty. meanwhile, I tried to extend the warranty but they told me you have exceeded 33 months from the date you buy the vehicle. The situation now: - Awaiting to receive the car after replacing the cvt transmission. - The warranty will be expired within 1 month and no chance to extend it! Any Advice folk pls?!!!!

- Wessam G., Doha, Qatar

problem #12

Jul 012015

Pathfinder ES 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

Transmission was replaced with a new transmission due to recall. Dealer told we there was a warranty, failed nto mention it was a 12,000 mile warranty on a transmission. New transmission was working fine for about a month until the dealership changed my codes on new transmission causing it to have same problems wit hesitation and skipping just as first one did. I had specifically requested them not to do this. I requested the to look at this over and over again, they claimed to not see any problems until I conveniently went over my warranty. This was the first I heard of my warranty only being 12,000 miles.It has been months and moths I have made complaints asked assistance from Nissan customer care, n hep at all.

- yatesc, North Las Vegas, NV, US

problem #11

May 252016

Pathfinder Platinum V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,522 miles

While driving slow in heavy traffic. Usually around 20 MPH, the car starts to run sluggish and seems like its going to cut out or stall. It starts jerking like it's going to cut off. Just called Temecula Nissan and made an appt for Friday March 27th 2016

- nissanpath14, Lake Elsinore, CA, US

problem #10

Apr 252016

Pathfinder SL 4WD 3.5L V6 Cvt

  • CVT transmission
  • 14,913 miles

click to see larger images

transmission slips and hesitates

I bought the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder last Sept 11, 2014 as brand new and it costs a fortune for us because this is our first SUV. We usually buy a small car. We were so happy for the first few months and then I heard a noise just last winter and reported the problem to the dealership which is Nissan of Windsor.

At first, I think it was during the repair of another complaint (leaking sunroof or the roof rubber lining came off), that they said they were unable to duplicate the noise when they tested the car, so I let it go but it happened again. Sometimes the noise is loud and sometimes its not too loud but the noise is always there during a cold start and as a accelerated the noise is getting louder and the jerking starts at a very low speed as it approaches 40 to 50 km/hr speed.

As I am writing this, the car is with Nissan of Windsor for repair or observation. they didn't give me a loaner car but a shuttle service going home although I asked for a loaner since the car has to be left there with a possibility of overnight stay. I am very disappointed with this car and I promised myself that if this is not fixed, this is going to be my last Nissan car.

This problem happens to me every time from a cold start. I also agree to one complaint that Nissan should buy back this car from its customers. The consumers are spending a hard earned money to have a reliable car, but this disappoints us.

Update from May 31, 2016: I left this vehicle for transmission replacement at the dealership on May 11, 2016. Picked it up the following day with the brand new transmission. I was so happy driving it the way i used to enjoy driving it. i noticed too that the fuel consumption improved too from 14.3 L/100 km average (original transmission) to 13.7L/100km (new transmission). The driveability is much better - no more slipping and jerking. As of May 30th this same month 2016, I noticed oil/grease stains in my driveway where the Pathfinder is parked. Touched the stain and the bottom of the Pathfinder and my fingers were soaked with oily substance. I called the dealership again and complained about this. I brought it to the dealership the following day and the report says that they need to order transmission cooler or coolant. What is going on?! Brand new transmission and in a span of less than a month this thing happened again! The delaership asked me to wait for their call on Thursday (June 2nd) to bring my Pathfinder back to them if the parts arrived. They asked me not to drive it until they fixed it. I hope Nissan is aware of these complaints as they give so much inconveniece to their customers. I am just relieved right now that this is still under warranty. What if it is not?

Update from Jul 7, 2016: I left the vehicle to the dealership on the morning of June 6th, 2015 and got a call later that day that they have to have it stay overnight. It's a good thing that the guy in the reception gave me a loaner car. Got the vehicle the next day, June 7th. As of today, no more leaks have been obeserved. It drives much better and fuel consumption is averaging at 13.3 L/100 km which is much better that the previous. So far, I have been satisfied with the fix / repair.

- Jose E., Windsor, ON, Canada

problem #9

Nov 102014

Pathfinder SV 3.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Waiting a long time to afford a vehicle of this type. After six months, noticed transmission sputtering and jerky. Brought it to dealer and they indicated it needed new tranny. Had it installed in Nov of 2014 . Had to bring it back three times in four weeks to replace faulty tranny seals . In shop for a period of three weeks total.

Again in spring of 2015 the problem returned. The dealer could not find problem this time and told me to drive it till it got worst. Arranged with them to have a diagnostic test on tranny. This indicated faulty tranny. Again in Nov 2015 had tranny replaced. At this time the problem hasn't reoccurred but expect it to in future. They keep replacing it with refurbished trannies. Same sh*t, different day.

All of 2015 I discussed compensation with service manager at dealer and was told by him Nissan Canada were going to extend my warranty for additional three yrs or 60,000kms. After this last replacement I contacted Nissan Canada directly and was told that no extension was granted nor that they were going to do so. They would only agree to original warranty of 5 yrs or 100,000 kms. Contacted service manager at dealer only to find out he was replaced by new service manager and no extension was to be given. As you can imaging how mad I am. Unfortunately I am stuck with this piece of sh*t for next couple of years until the warranty is close to expiring . At that time I will unload this vehicle and you can rest assure it won't be a Nissan.

My only mistake is not doing proper research on this widespread problem so as to avoid buying a lemon.

- Mike M., Luskville, QC, Canada

problem #8

Oct 032014

Pathfinder 3500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles

This is a sporadic problem that comes up inconsistently and has since I leased the car 9/30/14. This is my 4th Pathfinder in a row and have traded every 3 years. This is the very worse of all of them. I am not happy with the dealer who sold me or the car itself. If the slipping gets worse i will take it back to the dealer. It seems to be happening at a more frequent interval and more intense. Started out faintly and becoming more of an issue.

- tominfra, Exton, US

problem #7

Jun 012015

Pathfinder ES

  • CVT transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Kind of scary - going at 65 to 70 mph on the freeway and the car felt like it "lost" power - it never completely shut off but I hit the gas and it kept going..

- Mindy S., Tupelo, MS, US

problem #6

Sep 042014

Pathfinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

Took my Nissan in for the first oil change and I told them the car would hesitate on a hill and not pull out. It was like I wasn't going to move. I would keep giving it gas and finally would pull out and sometimes it will shake. They told me they didn't find anything.

- Annette W., Cleveland, TN, US

problem #5

Apr 032015

Pathfinder SL 3.5L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 6,021 miles

Transmission slipped, jerked and shuttered the vehicle side to side significantly at about 10-15MPH while leaving a gas station.

- Ken K., Appleton, WI, US

problem #4

Feb 262014

Pathfinder ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

The 2013- 2014 Nissan Pathfinders were manufactured with a CVT transmission that was supposed to offer smooth shifting for a cleaner ride. The transmission design is faulty and our brand new Pathfinder needed a transmission replacement at 800 miles. This vehicle is very nice and had all the bells and whistles, however this transmission problem is a severe safety issue, and all of these vehicle should be recalled to replace the faulty units.

- Russel A., Wilkes Barre, PA, US

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?