CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Honda Accord suffers from transmission failure. It's not a huge widesperad problem like in prior years, but definitely still something to consider.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,039 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Accord body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 062019

Accord

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. While the vehicle was parked in the driveway, the contact discovered that the gear shifter button had fractured and separated from the gear shifter knob. Upon inspection, the contact noticed broken plastic fragments coming out of the knob where the button had detached. The contact indicated that after the failure the vehicle would only operate in the neutral and drive positions, and the key could not be removed from the ignition switch. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The dealer was not notified. The manufacturer was notified and provided case number: 09857723. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Park Forest, IL, USA

problem #26

Feb 202019

Accord

  • 230,000 miles
Takata recall. I took my Honda to lester raines Honda in wv for the air bag recall and they said they fixed it. Two days ago my daughter hydroplaned on a two lane highway art 10 near hearts wv let off the gas, tried to brake but lost all control and hit a guard rail head on and the air bags did not deploy. The car is totaled and currently at robbies wrecker service tow yard at branchland

- South Charleston, WV, USA

problem #25

Jun 012016

Accord

  • 30,000 miles
Clear coat peeling off/paint cracking and looks like a creeping cancer on the hood, roof and trunk in particular on my burgundy colored vehicle and I see similar models with the exact same problem all over my town. The painting process used was obviously defective.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #24

Feb 202017

Accord

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" I was coming to a stop for a traffic light and did not brake in time to stop my vehicle before I tapped into the rear bumper of an SUV. I was going very slow /probably under 10mph. My drivers side airbag deployed and I got cuts on my arm and a chemical burn as well. My drivers side seatbelt is not working now (locked.) I have slight damage on the right front passenger side bumper. I became aware of the takata airbag recall after this happened. This occurred on 2/20/2017 in the daytime/ clear, sunny skies.

- Lantana, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 012016

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
The paint is peeling on both the roof and the trunk, and it is getting worse as time passes.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012016

Accord

  • miles
My car has large gray spot around the window frame and roof top where the paint has faded.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #21

Apr 012012

Accord

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Paint has deteriorated all over the vehicle. There are ┐bald spots┐ where the metal is exposed. We have seen many other Honda in this area with the same problem. Honda has not responded to our request for information and/or assistance.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #20

Mar 022015

Accord

  • 125,000 miles
Bought the car new, the clear coat started to flake off in March 2015. Notice may Honda cars about the same age have the same problem.

- Leawood, KS, USA

problem #19

May 102015

Accord

  • 157 miles
Got into a crash. Left front driver side damage. Not drivable.. airbags did not go off..

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 012014

Accord

  • 175,000 miles
I purchased my Honda Accord ex with 7 miles on it, and noticed over a year, possibly longer, that the paint was peeling. When I asked the dealership about it they stated it was because of epa laws making the paints less effective. I also spent the extra money to have the car simonized to ensure the paint which was a waste of money.

- New Wilmington, PA, USA

problem #17

Dec 212014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 115,683 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time that this vehicle causes an accident due to involuntary acceleration defect. I was coming to a complete stop to park the car when all of a sudden it accelerated on its own and sped into a building. First it hit an iron bench pushing it into the wall. The car missed hitting a young mother and her four little kids by mere seconds. My insurance company sent one of their own adjusters to inspect the damages, and determined that the car should be repaired. In the meantime the people at the body shop where the car was towed to kept telling me that the car was not safe to be put on the road again. I pleaded with my insurer to have it totaled as I was too afraid to drive it again after two accidents, and my conscience did not allow me to sell the car after the repairs putting somebody else in same kind of danger. I also called Honda, but their reply was that Honda was not going to do anything about it. Honda folks were even annoyed that I called them saying that my insurer was the one to contact them through the proper channels. Finally my insurance agreed to total the car. However, I saw that the car was sold to an auction dealer listing it as "salvage title/rebuildable." The car is for sale again stating that it will cost $4,872 to fix it. My insurance company increased my premiums considerably considering me the party at fault. I ask NHTSA to act quickly to stop this unsafe and unfair practice.....updated 08/20/15 updated 9/30/2015

- Valrico, , FL, USA

problem #16

Jun 112006

Accord

  • 9,119 miles
As I was coming to a complete stop, parking, the car sped up involuntarily. I kept pressing on the brakes, but it did not make any difference until the car was stopped by hitting a building. I was told that the dealer inspected the brakes while the car was at the body shop, and did not find anything wrong with them. The car was repaired, and I continued driving it. The involuntary acceleration occurred several times again, but I did not think anything of it because I was not coming to a complete stop, and it adjusted its speed again. Until...I had another accident eight years later due to none other than involuntary acceleration. See a separate complaint.

- Valrico, , FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 102015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. While driving 50 mph, the contact's shoe became lodged between the sidewall panel, which caused the panel screw to become loose. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 04/23/15 updated 9/22/2017

- Delmar, NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
My wife was traveling on the highway when she lost control and the car did a 180. She came to rest against a cement barrier and the drivers side curtain airbag was deployed but did not inflate. I contacted american Honda care and wilde Honda in madison wi. 4 times and they refused to inspect the car or acknowledge any damages or fault.

- Monona , WI, USA

problem #13

Jan 232013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
Paint and clear coat chipping away putting toxic paint in the air.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 302014

Accord

  • miles
I was driving home, I fell asleep at the wheel approaching a stop light. I hit the corner of the vehicle in front of me and my front left and kinda in the middle (hood area) was smashed in almost to my windshield. None of my airbags deployed & I hit my face on the steeling wheel causing my teeth to go through my bottom lip & broke my nose. Insurance claimed it as a total loss.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #11

Sep 012014

Accord

  • 10,100 miles
Paint started peeling in the roof. Car color is black, so the peeling looks visible.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Paint on the driver side door has significant peeling and is losing its clear coat around the peeling.

- Temple Terrace, FL, USA

problem #9

Nov 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The clear coat started falling off my 05 Honda Accord at around 105000 miles (around November of 2012). Honda refused to repaint the vehicle blaming the issue on the owner's poor care. However, it is clear the problem is not with the owner, but rather with the paint Honda uses. This is evidenced by the class action lawsuit in which Honda extended the paint warranty for seven years on their Odyssey for darker colors including "midnight pearl." It happens that this is the same color which is currently "melting" off my 05 Accord. Honda should not be making owners pay thousands of dollars to repaint their vehicles after owning them for only a few years before experiencing problems.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 122013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
Accelerator jammed in cement garage causing car to hit the wall of the garage at very high speed and severely damaging the front of the car (essentially totaling the car).

- Merion, PA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?