2009 Toyota Matrix engine problems: excessive oil consumption

Excessive Oil Consumption

2009 Toyota Matrix (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Toyota dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Toyota Matrix is the mechanical twin of the Pontiac Vibe.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
98,000 miles
Total Complaints:
31 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (20 reports)
  2. install new piston rings (5 reports)
  3. replace engine (3 reports)
  4. replace piston rings (3 reports)
2009 Toyota Matrix engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Matrix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Matrix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Feb 012018

Matrix XRS 2.4L 4 In Linel

  • Manual transmission
  • 99,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION MAY BE AN ENGINE KILLER. I'm monitoring and adding oil every as needed, about every 1,000 miles.

- Thomas L., New York City, NY, US

problem #30

Jan 122017

Matrix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,316 miles

I started noticing a knocking in my engine. I reported it to the Toyota service Department on 9-9-14. I was told by the Toyota service department( the one that has done ALL of my scheduled maintenance) " No abnormal sounds heard at this time." In hind sight maybe they didn't hear the noise because she was low on oil and only listened for the noise after the oil change. I was never told that I should check my oil for leakage in between my scheduled maintenance! I checked my oil one day at random after I heard knocking again and she was very low on oil.

I took her to Toyota and told them she was consuming oil. They suggested a fuel induction service for which they did on 1-12-17, which didn't fix the problem. On 9-12-17 at her next appointment I reported again the oil usage.Outcome; " Performed inspection, found slight oil seepage at engine oil pan. PCV system is working. Engine must be burning oil. Pistons and rings would need to be replaced." Big surprise there. I was so naive but I did take her to different Toyota service place for a second opinion. And yes you guessed it another engine oil cleaner service. And suggested piston and rings replaced.

It was a mechanic friend that we took her to that kindly did some searching and found that Toyota had issued a TSB on August 11, 2011[1](# fn:1) to dealerships which says: " some 2006-2011 model year vehicles equipped with the 2AZ-FE engine may exhibit engine oil consumption. The piston assembly has been changed to minimize oil consumption." And that Po3o# (cylinder # misfire detected) DTC may also be set as a result of oil consumption" Obviously there was there is a design error of the pistons.

- loletta, Sequim, US

problem #29

Feb 212018

Matrix XRS 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

My brother turned me on to this site. I had contacted him because my car was sounding like a train. It recently had the air bags replaced so I assumed that the two were related. That was not the case. I learned of the leak because I had the tires replaced and requested an oil change. They explained that the car had NO OIL in it and therefore they could not do the service. However they were kind enough to put in 5 quarts so that I could get home. Note that I change my oil on the scheduled time, etc. so I was thinking that the folks that did the replacement for the air bags had done something wrong.

Fast forward to getting the oil change after almost a week later. They changed the oil, and I assumed everything was alright. [In the meantime, I came to this site and saw that my problem was not limited to just my car] My brother told me to keep checking the oil levels, etc. In less than 3 weeks, the oil was gone again, and I needed to add more. He told me to add the Lucas oil treatment which stopped the noise and the burning oil smell. However it is still burning oil like crazy. I plan to go to a mechanic to have them take a look, but I am a female senior citizen who's afraid of getting ripped off.

Update from Apr 23, 2018: Just dropped off my car at the dealers to replace the engine at NO CHARGE. Less than two weeks ago I took my car in for the "oil consumption test" and it failed. The dealers told me that they will be replacing the engine and they provided me with a 3 day rental for the time that it takes to complete the repair.

I forgot to add in my first posting that when the oil was gone, I never got an light on my dashboard stating that the oil was low, etc. Also I didn't have any oil leaks on my garage floor. I did report this to the service person when I dropped the car off today. Plus I asked that they replace the spark plugs and drain the transmission fluid while they have it there.

Toyota is aware of this problem because unless this dealership / place is really nice and honest they didn't make a fuss about it. Also I did some searches on the web and short of a recall they know it's a problem.

With that being said, one of the links I found had a memo that went out to the dealers about the problem and the procedures for handling the problem, which included refunds for those who had the repair done by another mechanic with the proper documentation.

All I can say is that this old senior is HAPPY!

- mad at matrix, Stone Mtn, US

problem #28

Oct 102015

Matrix XR 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had the engine oil consumption test done and the car failed badly! I asked to have my engine fixed and was two years trying to get an answer out of them, only to be informed by the service worker to keep driving the car and adding oil to it because if I had done the warranteed program they might find more things to be replaced in the engine and that could cost me a lot of money. Next thing I know the engine has a knock in it. Take it to the dealer again and he tells me the motor is gone. Now it’s going to cost me even more again!!!! Now they have turned their backs on me and won’t do anything for me at all!! Disgusted!!! That’ll be the last Toyota in my driveway!!!!!

- bbursey, Gambo, NL, Canada

problem #27

Jan 012014

Matrix XR

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,206 miles

Excessive oil consumption (2L per 1000km at this point, worsening with time). Was part of a (non) recall (Toyota called it a "Warranty Enhancement Service" (WES) rather than a recall). I went in for the test at Toyota Richmond Hill where they did an oil change + applied a tamper-proof seal and then sent me off to drive around for 2000km before bringing the car in to determine if it had consumed enough oil to qualify for the WES. I was told to bring my car in around 1700km and it was determined that it had consumed a lot of oil, but not enough to qualify for the WES. This is enraging on many levels because it is OBVIOUSLY OVER CONSUMING OIL and I've recently finished paying for this car and I now own it and what a waste! I contacted Toyota International. They offered for me to bring my car to a different dealership to have it tested a second time. I was too annoyed to do it. I have regrets. I am now at the point where I'm "topping up" my oil every 1000 km by about 2L, sometimes more.

- Martha S., Richmond Hill, ON, Canada

problem #26

Aug 272015

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 96,393 miles

My 2009 Toyota Matrix oil consumption problem became noticable after 6 yrs at 96,393 miles (August 2015). Oil consumption test (T-SB-0158-14 Rev2 December 12, 2014) performed by dealer; Informed by dealership that test determined consumption not excessive. Vehicle returned w/no further action.

The vehicle has since passed 2 additional tests; Vehicle currently has 117,410 miles on it; Vehicle is currently consistently using an additional 2 qts oil between changes (5000 mi).

Toyota issued T-SB-0158-14 stating that NORMAL oil consumption allowance is with-in 1 qt per 1200 mi. I found that the owners manual states: Max 1.1 qt/600 mi is considered acceptable. So, per Toyota's logic, an engine that requires an additional 4 - 8 qts of oil between changes (5,000 mi) would be normal. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE ! Unless something major breaks between now and 150,000 miles or May 2019, I guess I'm stuck with what I would classify as a "Lemon".

I have bought 3 new Toyota's in my life. Never had a problem like this with the first two. I will never buy another new Toyota simply because of the way the company has responsed to this issue (trying to rationalize excessive oil consumption), and what I found printed in the owners manual (shame on me for not reading the OM before purchase).

- David S., Kent, US

problem #25

Apr 122017

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Never would the day come when I would say Toyota made a lousy junk product like my 2.4 engine.The car uses 1.5 quarts of oil every 1200 miles. It's not worth changing the oil filter anymore just keep adding oil. Another pain is Stoltz Toyota did a test and said it used less than a pint but would not let me near the dip stick when pulled out. Toyota's plan is to make sure enough of these lemons are off the road and then play nice by repairing the few ones under 150,000 or buy back the couple left on the road.

- no toys, Altoona, US

problem #24

Sep 132017

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 145,000 miles

Car has begun burning through oil. Between, oil changes, I now have to check the oil far more regularly. The car is also making a rattling or clicking noise when idling. The issues have been difficult to diagnose and have been an issue for over a year, steadily getting worse.

- Joshua P., Berea, KY, US

problem #23

Jun 142017

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

Never thought Toyota would make a car engine poorly designed the way my 2.4 motor is. I started using one quart every 1100 miles. Putting all this oil in is making my hard earned money disappear. Toyota should recall all Matrix cars held accountable for their actions of incompetence.

- Dan A., Rossiter, US

problem #22

Apr 012017

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 78,000 miles

Original owner of 2009 Toyota Matrix S manual transmission. At 78,000 miles after a 600 mile round trip (still 2,000 miles away from religious every 5,000 mile oil change) my oil light came on, checked and I barely had any oil in the pan. I had to add two quarts, Immediately took it to the dealer. They were aware of the TSB and performed the oil consumption test. Unfortunately no interstate driving... Guess what, yes there was abnormal oil consumption but not enough for them to fix it... Solution.. I'm planning another 1200 mile trip and hopefully that will do it.. also making sure they use 0W 20 oil not the 5W 20. I'll keep y'all posted.

- Jonathan L., Newnan, GA, US

problem #21

Jul 122016

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My fixes for the oil consumption problem are new plugs, new PCV valve, and new spark plugs. Positive crankcase ventilation sucks the oil vapors out the top of the valve section and lets them burn elsewhere, stopping smoke.

I am still burning oil and it is probably the ring problem that has been discussed. I'm going to replace the valve cover gasket myself and stop the excrement of oil into my spark plug chambers. There is only one that is leaking as I discovered when doing the plugs.

So I have done all the little things to see if that helps with consumption. Really would like to keep the car so I'm worried about the cylinder situation. Only have 99,000 miles so far.

Update from Mar 13, 2018: checked oil consumption for 500 miles. It was 1 quart low. this is way beyond the warranty specs. 105,000 miles only. I'm taking to dealer for investigation tomorrow.

- Glenn M., Houston, TX, US

problem #20

Feb 012010

Matrix S 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Think this recall is bull sh*t . How many of you really had 1 qt gone in 1200 miles and then told its normal for oil really just disappears... Guess that's what makes Toyota so good!!! LOL

- Kendall P., Waianae, US

problem #19

Apr 112017

Matrix 2az

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

went thru 2 1/2 quarts of oil beteen oil changes. went through the 1st oil consumption test last year and the said there was no problems. did the second test and they say were not using enough oil to warent repairs. toyota knows there is a problem with this engin and have come up with a repair action, but they wont impliment it. why should i ever buy a toyota again.

- Mike W., Puyallup, US

problem #18

Mar 012015

Matrix 4S 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,880 miles

MARCH OF 2015 MY OIL LIGHT CAME ON FOR THE FIRST TIME, MILEAGE 11905. TOOK MY MATRIX 4S 2009 TO TEAM TOYOTA MERRILLVILLE, IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS TOLD ITS AN OIL LEAK. THEY REPLACED MY VALVE COVER GASKET AND SAID THAT SHOULD FIX IT.

NOT A MONTH LATER MY OIL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN SO I ADDED OIL AND CONTINUED TO ADD OIL UNTIL I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TOYOTA STATING THAT THERE'S AN OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM WITH MY CAR. TOYOTA MADE SURE THEY DIDN'T CALL IT A RECALL! THEY INDICATED THAT YOU SHOULD TAKE IT TO TOYOTA SERVICE DEPT SO THEY CAN PERFORM THE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST BEFORE THE WARRANTY EXPIRES WHICH IS UP TO 150000 MILES.

WELL YOU KNOW IT MY CAR PASSED BOTH TEST SO I DON'T QUALIFY FOR THE REPAIR. HOW CONVENIENT IS THAT!! TOYOTA DOESN'T WANT TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR VEHICLES THEY POORLY MANUFACTURED!!!! YES, NOW MY CAR IS OVER THE WARRANTY MILEAGE. NUMEROUS CALLS TO TOYOTA CORPORATE AND GIVING THEM MY OPINION ON HOW THEY'RE TRYING TO SWEEP THIS UNDER THE RUG!!

WELL I GOT NEWS FOR YOU TOYOTA!! I'M GOING TO BE ON OUR LOCAL NEWS AND HOPEFULLY MAKE IT NATIONAL SO YOU WILL BE FOUND OUT HOW YOUR TRYING TO SWEEP THIS UNDER THE RUG!!! THE SAD PART ABOUT THIS IS THAT WE BUY NOTHING BUT TOYOTA'S MY SONS, DAUGHTERS, SISTER AND WE OWN 3 TOYOTA'S, OURSELVES. 2 FOUR RUNNERS, AND A MATRIX.

TOYOTA YOU FAILED US WITH YOUR 2009 MATRIX AND IF YOU CAN"T MAKE IT RIGHT I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER TOYOTA AGAIN!!! YES, I'M RANTING AND RAGING BUT ITS MY RIGHT! YOU GUYS ARE AWARE OF ALL THE SAME OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEMS BUT YOU DON'T WANT TO SPEND THE MONEY TO CALL IT A RECALL INSTEAD YOU'RE USING YOUR WARRANTY TO COVER YOUR ??? I HOPE I DON'T HAVE TO SEE YOU IN COURT BECAUSE THIS IS AN OPEN AND SHUT CASE!!!!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

- saralynn, East Chicago, IN, US

problem #17

Feb 012016

Matrix 2.5L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

I noticed right before my oil change about a year ago that my oil light would flash when making sudden stops. I checked my oil to find it was two quarts low. That was at about 4500 miles. I change my oil as recommended at 5000 miles. Usually before the service light comes on. At about the same time that this was happening, I noticed that on hard acceleration I would see smoke coming from the back of my car. I can't emphasize enough how diligent I am about changing the oil. I go as far as choosing a synthetic oil that doesn't require 5000 mile intervals between oil changes, but still change oil when light comes on.

- danielsan1, Abingdon, MD, US

problem #16

Nov 042016

Matrix S V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I scheduled the oil consumption test with a local dealer. The first time I was told on the 2nd visit that I had an oil leak and it was affecting the test. This after I had sat for 2.5 hours at each visit. I was told they couldn't do anything until I got the leak fixed. I was very upset, questioning why they couldn't tell me that on my 1st visit! I went to my mechanic who was unable to locate any oil leaks. He replaced a valve but said this would not affect my oil consumption.

I again returned to the dealership and they noted 3 areas they saw oil leaking. The only one my mechanic could verify was a stripped stop bolt on the oil pan. He assured me that there was NO WAY this would result in a loss of > 1 quart of oil every 1k miles. He thinks the dealership is yanking NY chain and referred me to a different dealer after replacing the bolt and steam cleaning the engine to ensure he wasn missing anything. I made an appointment for next week, explaining my dealings up to this point. I'll keep you posted.

- Kathleen C., Somerville, MA, US

problem #15

Feb 062015

Matrix S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,711 miles

My car has 142,000 miles and burns out engine oil when it hits about 3,000 miles after oil change has completed each time so I have been adding two bottles of oil over a year to maintain safe oil level. When I brought in my car to Toyota Carlsbad in March 2015, where maintaining my car since I purchased, they performed oil consumption test. They said my vehicle was "ok at this time". It seems getting worse since that I noticed this condition. I told service person at the dealer ship last time when I went there for oil change service and he said they can perform another oil consumption test again. Well, I don't have time to go there twice again!

- Aya N., Cardiff, CA, US

problem #14

Jul 252016

Matrix XR 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 167,014 miles

toyota has supposedly tested my oil usage and says that 1 liter iper 1000 km is 'normal'. BULLSHIT! i continually have to add oil between normal oil changes and will be making a concerted effort to complain to toyota canada nd my dealer at every opportunity. meanwhile, i have just purchased a new mazda. that's it after twenty years of driving toyotas!!!!!!!!

- wlipton, Longueuil, QC, Canada

problem #13

Mar 042016

Matrix ES 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

I visited a dealership and the oil consumption procedure was done. Took the care back to the dealership and they gave no explanation and return the car to me. I was told that the matter will be addressed when I return for my next service.

- alexander45, Philadelphia, PA, US

problem #12

Mar 012016

Matrix S 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles

I was about to take my car to my trusted local mechanic, when my engine oil light came on well before I was due for my 3,000 mile engine oil change. A letter came in the mail from Toyota telling me they were aware of the possibility of excessive engine oil consumption in my 2009 Toyota Matrix. What serendipity! I failed the oil consumption test, and my Toyota is currently at the dealership for 3 days to fix the problem with new pistons, and they are providing a free rental car. I feel fortunate that I didn't end up spending my own money on the problem, and the timing of Toyota's letter couldn't have been more perfect. My car has been extremely reliable so far, and I hope it continues that way for quite awhile. I will provide follow-up information in the future after driving for awhile after the repairs.

- courtdl, Lake Zurich, IL, US

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?